I am going to have to go on a hiatus due to the number of viruses on DiaperSwappers. ABP, No Script, and my software are no longer protecting my computer, and I don’t have the extra money laying around to replace my computer. So, until diaperswappers is cleaned up, I will not be surfing DS for the drama.

I am willing to do reader submissions in the meantime. f you submit emails to me with screenshots and links, I can post them here, but for a while (until DS fixes things) I won’t be going back.

TDM is still around and may be posting.

Comments
  1. Myself says:

    I guess they must like you because I’m getting a screen that says:

    “DiaperSwappers is performing some maintenance and will be back online soon!”

  2. smartassmama says:

    I noticed that too. I wonder what’s in the works. . .

  3. ashley says:

    Maybe the buttload of threads about viruses and people being fed up with admins’ lack of doing something to stop them finally got to them o.0

  4. smartassmama says:

    One can hope.

  5. DSDM2 says:

    They did this before too. It was a few weeks at most before the viruses were back.

    I may stay off of DS for a while. It isn’t worth the risk. No website it.

  6. DSDM2 says:

    that should have read “is”

  7. smartassmama says:

    Agreed.

  8. The ORIGINAL Just Me says:

    Werd.

  9. DSDM2 says:

    Don’t worry ladies. I will still be here, and still be commenting and posting things πŸ˜€ I just won’t go to DS looking for it πŸ˜‰

  10. Madre says:

    I feel you homie

  11. DSDM2 says:

    Now he wants us to visit another site that will be full of shit before long:

    vBulletin Message

    DiaperSwappers is performing some maintenance and will be back online soon! In the meantime, you can visit CraftForum.com to chat until DiaperSwappers.com is back online.

  12. smartassmama says:

    Oh yeah. Let me head right over there.

  13. ashley says:

    Yeah, I got an email from them inviting me to CraftForum.com and though “now why the hell would I want to do THAT?!”

  14. ashley says:

    *thought

  15. TheOne says:

    Exactly. The new site probably belongs to Lee too and shutting down DS for a minute and redirecting to that other site is his way of advertising for it. Hes full of shit. He is not working on the viruses on DS.

  16. ladylili says:

    #15 that is the exact thought I just had. The man makes me throw up in my mouth a little bit every time I see his name.

  17. Maeghan says:

    I’ve been getting the virus pop up shit on DS but i’ve managed to aviod an actual virus. TG

  18. TheOne says:

    Ummm hmmm just like I thought. Lee owns this one too. He posted here and calls himself the Humble Overseer. http://www.craftforum.com/f11/coupon-codes-1054/

  19. TheOne says:

    OMG and check his siggy!!! I smell the shit from here.

  20. ashley says:

    Should he really be running another contest when Rafflerama people are complaining about not having received their winnings yet?

  21. Sam says:

    I got the stupid virus popup and within the hour i got it, that’s when DS went down for hiatus. I’m staying away.

  22. MotherMoonPads says:

    He locked my thread on there.
    http://www.craftforum.com/f36/how-long-before-ds-will-back-up-1100/

    (FWIW, it was posted at the exact same time as the sticky he linked me to).

  23. Myra says:

    The sticky that doesn’t address the virus issue at all? Helpful.

  24. iken says:

    I guess I will post my FSOT items at CDN now. I hope it will get busier over there *fingers crossed*

  25. adensmama says:

    Hmmm, what is fluffyass going to do with herself since she can’t post on DS 50billion times today? I’m scurred now, I don’t wanna go back there even though I have a Mac. If this computer gets fried I’m completely screwed.

  26. Molly says:

    #24 she is already posting over on craftforum.com……

  27. JustPeachy says:

    fucking sheep i tell ya.

  28. melmelly says:

    Peachy – has anyone told you today just how much we love you?

    I seriously want a bull horn and loudspeaker to yell at the sheep to not follow the little herder boy. I want to cry wolf!

    lol

  29. rainbow says:

    I can’t believe how many people are over at craftforum.com. Sheeple indeed. And now there’s all this traffic at another Lee site.

  30. JustPeachy says:

    LOL. I just love how he tells them to go there and like a good lil flock they do. The sheeples piss me off.

  31. MotherMoonPads says:

    Haha, I registered over there, but it just felt wrong.

  32. felishasjourney says:

    Okay.. I know ya’ll hate me.. But what is Lee’s full name?..

    I was on a forum about 2 years ago or so and there was a HUGE scandal and the owners name was Lee (can’t remember if it was the first or last name) where another Admin outed Lee (not saying the same person, just saying a Lee) for using the profits of the board to support himself and it wasn’t going towards the board. This board was raking in 1000$+ a month!! But more than half left after the big outing and the board now has a new name and is owned by someone else..

    Just wondering if it’s the same person.. because if so, I have a TON of screen shots from when it all went down on my old photobucket somewhere…

  33. thewitch says:

    ugg, my immediate thought upon seeing that was that it was merely a marketing ploy to cram his new forum down our throats. I refuse to click. Yuck.

  34. cdnation says:

    Lees last name is Dodd

  35. adensmama says:

    I wonder if all the craftforum.com people are annoyed at the amount of DS annoyingness showing up over there now.

  36. smartassmama says:

    I clicked the link, but I didn’t join or post. The layout sucks.
    And I love that he said it’d be a few hours. It’s been most of the day. Wonder if he’s on Facebook. . .

  37. smartassmama says:

    Well I found him. Very religious fella (I’ve never really heard anything about him until yesterday on here). Not that there’s a thing wrong with that, but he’s at least portrayed to be an uncaring malicious tool.

  38. lurking says:

    I am not going there either….yuckkkkk

  39. melmelly says:

    36 – I found a “Lee Dodd” with a Twitter account, however, I am not sure that his him.

    Any others know for sure? The Twitter account is very religious oriented.

    Links:
    DS Lee Dodd: http://www.leedodd.com/about-lee-dodd/

    Twitter Lee Dodd: http://twitter.com/LeeDodd

    They look a little bit alike, but then again, the goatee is totally throwing me off.

  40. melmelly says:

    Nevermind. That Twitter is his because he is following “Escalate Media”, which is his.

    One would think the bastard would have a little bit of morals and not be pulling the shit that he pulls with DS. But of course, people can be very religious and money hungry grubbers. Asshole.

  41. melmelly says:

    # Jesus Christ says, “Behold, I make all things new.” Have you been made new? Happy new year! 1:56 PM Dec 31st, 2009 from web

    Because we all know he is probably reading this:
    Lee,
    Please take your little Tweet I copied and make DS new and virus free. I really don’t know how you can continue to operate a virus invested forum with a clear conscience.

    Do you not understand that by having advertisements filled with viruses, that you are indeed allowing members of DiaperSwapper be infected, therefore possibly losing their computers? Do you not realize that some, maybe even many, people will not risk going back out of fear of losing their computers? I think the answer is pretty clear-cut: get rid of the advertisements for now and then see just how many people complain of getting a virus from your site.

    If you continue to keep the advertisements, you are only chasing away people that are putting food on your table.

    Sincerely,
    A smart mama who WILL NOT be back

    All that aside, maybe he shouldn’t boast about not having much education, because obviously he isn’t smart enough to figure this crap out for himself. Maybe he should step away from the forum biz for awhile.

    I need a 2c dealie-bobber.

  42. smartassmama says:

    http://www.facebook.com/lee.dodd

    And Escalate Media has . . . 7 fans. rofl

  43. tlouise says:

    Such a transparent attempt to promote his new forum. Most people do software upgrades and whatnot at night, when traffic is slow. Not at the most traffic-y time of day. Of course, lots of people fell for it and went and registered…

    Craftster is way better than his forum will be.

  44. melmelly says:

    42 Craftster is by far, the best. Hands down. If I could, I would sink millions into Craftster. But craftforum? Hmm…no thanks!

  45. lurking says:

    42 – you are right. Very “smart” move he did.
    Unfortunately for him many of us did not fell for it.

  46. JustAnotherLurker says:

    I’m bumed that DS continues to ignore the virus problem. I’m finally in the market for some new diapers, but there is no way I am going to go there again. Guess it is time to pull myself out of lurker status at CDN again! lol

  47. rebecca says:

    I have noticed an influx of people on CDN. Probably thanks to the viruses. I was hoping they would be gone because there isn’t as many FSOT posts on CDN as DS. But, it looks like that might change in the next couple of weeks. Hooray!

  48. Aj says:

    More copyright infringement?
    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=911367
    They are super cute though!

  49. ladylili says:

    #48 it kills me that people are still going to that place. All the computers DS has fried and yet people go back.

    So for us that don’t want to risk our computers maybe you could copy and paste? Thanks.

  50. amessymama says:

    #49-Here ya go. She posted pics on CDN too. They are super cute, that’s for sure.

    http://clothdiapernation.com/vbforums/showthread.php?t=52640

  51. DeviateFromTheNorm says:

    I just cannot help but wonder why so many WAHMs can take pride in copying other peoples’ works, but cannot come up with something truly beautiful and creative of their own.

  52. werd says:

    I think its because there is more money in copying images when knitting/embellishing, etc. versus making up your own idea. It’s all about the Benjamins, baby…

  53. DeviateFromTheNorm says:

    Well then, it’s a shame those of us who come up with our own ideas aren’t more successful. Oh, to be satisfied riding some one else’s coattails.

  54. riffrafflittleman says:

    51, I think it’s because of all the rave they get over how cute the copyrighted stuff is. I went through that thread and everyone was drooling over them, and noone said it was wrong.

  55. DeviateFromTheNorm says:

    I contemplated speaking up, but just don’t need the drama of a flaming. I repped the maker (who posted in the thread), telling her that while they were adorable, they were copyright infringement, and companies are laying down the law on that. She’s brand new, though, so who knows if she’ll even understand what rep is.

  56. mmspirit7 says:

    While the longies are nice and I am commented and wanted to say what you ladies are talking about them I didn’t because I just wasn’t in the best of moods last night.

  57. Lisa says:

    Hey everyone. I just lurk and read here but i have a question. Whenever i click on a CDN link it takes me to a page that says

    “oops sorry you do not have permission to view this page”

    I can’t get on to any part of CDN. Does anybody have a reason as to why that may be?

    Thanks in advance πŸ™‚

  58. DeviateFromTheNorm says:

    57- If you’re not a member, you cannot view any boards beyond the “First Stop” boards. Just join CDN/exit lurker status. You won’t be sorry. πŸ˜€

  59. Lisa says:

    Thanks 58. The problem is i can not access ANY part of it, not even the home page.

  60. Mylilgirls says:

    Lisa,
    Did you click the confirmation email they send out after you register? That may be your problem.

  61. Lisa says:

    #60, yeah i did. I am going to try clearing my cookies. Thanks for your help girls.

  62. DSDM2 says:

    So, is anyone still having DS issues?

  63. ladylili says:

    Is Pac Man a public domain thing now? (or whatever it’s called)

  64. cdnation says:

    #57 if you have a username at CDN please email me it and I’ll check your permissions.

    owner@clothdiapernation.com

    Thanks.

  65. JustPeachy says:

    Pacman is not public domain.

  66. ashley says:

    Ugh. I was trying to show a friend something on DS a little while ago while at her house. We were on her Mac laptop, and AS SOON AS I loaded the first page of DS, I got a fake your-computer-needs-to-be-scanned warning. I haven’t gotten these on my desktop PC or my Mac ibook. This crap can’t install anything on a Mac w/o a profile password, right?

  67. DSDM2 says:

    ashley, you need to post in the DS thread about it.

  68. DSDM2 says:

    Got this in a PM http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=911819 it looks like the viruses aren’t gone.

  69. Booyah says:

    Well this explains the huge influx of noobies at CDN. IIRC this happened around this same time last year too, when the last batch of viruses were particularly bad. I guess the dull days of winter make the hackerbots bored and extra malicious!

  70. ashley says:

    yep, going to roll the dice and go post about it >.<;;

  71. ashley says:

    OK, just posted this in my WAHM Wares thread, with a shortened version in my sig:

    “Due to the recent virus issues, and Escalate Media’s apparent refusal to do what is needed to rid DiaperSwappers of them, I will be leaving indefinitely for the sake of my computer(s). Please feel free to contact me via the contact form on my website. Thanks!”

    I have a couple of open transactions on there, but I think I’m done with that craphole.

  72. ashley says:

    after those transactions close, that is πŸ˜›

  73. DeviateFromTheNorm says:

    71- Don ‘t be shocked if it gets deleted, and you get a PM from a mods regarding strikes and DS-bashing. They can’t handle the truth.

  74. Heresy says:

    I think it would be trademark infringement not copyright infringement. http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/pac/doc/general/whatis.htm

  75. Karen says:

    de-lurking πŸ™‚ Great blog, by the way. Thanks for putting this info out there…I’m going to disentangle myself from DS and sign up for CDN. πŸ™‚

  76. No One Important says:

    http://felishasjourney.wordpress.com/2010/01/20/i-cant-do-it/

    Nice, she is telling the world that her DH cmoes home in a week.

  77. JustPeachy says:

    Haven’t we said not to feed the trolls?

  78. Lisa says:

    I take it it’s against the rules to say when they are coming home for security reasons? I am not from a military family but would guess its not the kind of information you let the world see.

  79. DSDM2 says:

    Yes, Lisa, it is. But I am done feeding that particular troll. She can’t see anything since her head is so far up her ass.

  80. Lisa says:

    Yeah i figured she wasnt getting enough attention so is now trying to be buddies. Oh well, maybe she will get the hint soon enough although i very much doubt it.

  81. Ashley says:

    73 – Meh. I didn’t think about that, but it would figure. I didn’t bump my Wares threads after I edited to add that, so it might be a while before they see it (unless they come here and figure it out that way).

  82. adensmama says:

    Can someone explain the “rep” thing on CDN to me?

  83. DSDM2 says:

    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=911082&page=4 They are completely ignoring people talking about the viruses still being there.

  84. OneBoy says:

    The viruses haven’t gotten me yet at DS but every time I go on there my computer starts acting funny, both at home and at work. Moving over to CDN because of it. Sucks because there’s a few people I really like at DS but they’re on my FB.

  85. downy20 says:

    I have a really hard time leaving DS because I have never had an issue. I can’t figure out how some people in the same situation as me (Firefox with adblock plus) are effected and I am not. CDN is more of a friend site/off topic site with diapers thrown in. I love DS because it is about diapers mostly with some off topic thrown in. I have plenty of off topic sites that I am already a member of. But I do love to hear about diapers and see pictures, so I visit DS. I understand people leaving though as a virus is not worth looking at diapers.

  86. JustPeachy says:

    I guess I can see why one would like DS. I mean if you are a diaper elitist in need of validation from the cloth diapering community then DS is the place to be.
    Oh and btw DS won’t even load up on my computer now.

  87. downy20 says:

    Peach, that is not the case for me. I do love looking at beautiful wool and diapers but I don’t buy them myself. I also don’t seek validation from anyone. I cloth diaper because I am too lazy to go the store (especially in the freezing cold winter months) to buy diapers and also I am too cheap to shell out that much for one time use items (AKA garbage). I understand you are probably just making general musings however. That is fine by me and true in many cases.

  88. tlouise says:

    Does elioraimmanuel annoy the hell out of anyone else? It seems like every one of her posts is an evangelistic crusade. Someone will ask what detergent to use for diapers and she’ll somehow work in the need to accept Jesus as their savior.

  89. JustPeachy says:

    Yes I wasn’t directing it at you as I realize there are a few that still go there for the purpose of cloth diapering rather then belonging to a clique of sorts. I stopped posting in fluffy chat after my first ban was up because its very obvious its a contest to see who has the nicest stash and who can stalk the nicest stuff.

  90. chrissyb says:

    Wouldn’t you know my planned last transaction at DS has tuned into a paypal dispute for a mama that went AWOL for what seems like valid medical resons. Ughhhh. I am done buying used dipes anyway, too much hassle.

  91. mmspirit7 says:

    All i have to say is people better get the fsot on CDN moving I will be in the market for N/B dipes later! and wool and yarn.

  92. Mylilgirls says:

    88- yeah, it’s like….please give it a rest. You’re Christian, I get it and I’m glad that’s working out for you. For a long time, no one mentioned anything about it or responded to her posts, but some are starting to call her on it.

  93. adensmama says:

    #88 is she on DS? The username doesn’t ring a bell. I hate it when people do that though…

  94. melmelly says:

    Are you wanting to make an announcement to us mmspirit? Are you trying to tell us that you are pregnant? πŸ˜‰

  95. DSDM2 says:

    congrats!

  96. mmspirit7 says:

    LOL yes I am I just found out.

  97. melmelly says:

    CONGRATS! I have been lusting over having another baby, but these two are keeping me busy enough as it is. LOL

  98. mmspirit7 says:

    this one is a surprise not sure how I will do it starting school and I have three at home

  99. JustPeachy says:

    Something is in the CDN water because shes the second one in a week to announce she is pregnant LOL. Congrats Charise πŸ™‚

  100. mmspirit7 says:

    thanks peach.

  101. thewhiteninja says:

    congrats!

  102. ΕΎΓ‘ba says:

    Congrats Charise πŸ™‚

  103. riffrafflittleman says:

    Congrats Charise….now someone please pass me the darn water!!!!

  104. monkey says:

    Yeah, congrats MMspirit!

  105. me says:

    Congrats, Charise!!!!

  106. sheepthrills says:

    Here riffraff, you can have my share of the water too. lol

    Congrats Charise! How exciting!

    Wish I had some awesome NB stuff for you but I’ve always stuck with basics and only have a couple of wool soakers I knit myself to get rid of. (Couldn’t get into the wool with DS and don’t see it likely with the maybe-next. Totally baffling.)

  107. mmspirit7 says:

    Well I would like to try prefolds with this next one but dh has already asked for a stash for himself so fitteds. LOL I love that man. He’s taking it pretty well.

  108. CJ says:

    Congrats Charise! That is so exciting!

    I just had a NB fitted arrive in the mail today. It is so stinking cute! I’ve never CD’d a newborn before and it just looks so tiny. I did a car seat check for an amazing mama a couple of weeks ago who was very pregnant. Then I saw this NB dipe for auction for way too cheap so I bid and got it. It arrived today and so did her baby. Perfect new baby gift!

  109. twiddling*thumbs says:

    Congrats Charise!

    Now will someone please pass the water this way? Thanks!

  110. Booyah says:

    Downy, when I get a hankering to drool over some pretty fluff or wool, I just window shop on HC. πŸ™‚ Browsing through the latest spots is always a feast for the eyes!

  111. JustPeachy says:

    No joke buy some of werd’s pads and I guarantee you will get knocked up. Theres a grand total of 6 of us just since August who have purchased from her and gotten knocked up.

  112. DeviateFromTheNorm says:

    91- I was so excited when I saw that! We must be due right around the same time, then. πŸ˜€

    Crystal- Sending you some of my water, too. Mine isn’t sitting well in my stomach this morning. :-X

    111- I think I was like the 7th person to get knocked up on werd’s pads! LMFBO! πŸ˜›

  113. mmspirit7 says:

    Dude I just thought about buying her pads. I hadn’t had a chance to order them….and I am not sure when I am due. I think I o’d late (not sure though) so I am sure it’s late spet. early oct.

  114. JustPeachy says:

    Wow someone tell Jackie its no longer they actual ordering of em that does it but rather thinking about it LOL. Her pads got mad skillz.

  115. JustPeachy says:

    Not they I meant the.

  116. DeviateFromTheNorm says:

    LOL
    113- I O’d late too(Jan 2/3), which is how we got our surprise. πŸ˜€ Due about Sept 24th.

  117. mmspirit7 says:

    I think I o’d 12/31 1/1 so a couple day around yours I think as well someone was helping me and came up with the oct date don’t know how she did.

  118. JustPeachy says:

    If you O’d around that time, I would guess a late September due date. I was curious so I went to mymonthlycycles.com and put in LMP as December 17-23 and it all came up with late Sept due dates.

  119. DeviateFromTheNorm says:

    Yep, my LMP was DEC 18th.

  120. mmspirit7 says:

    My lmp was dec 12th but since I just now got a bfp and I tested las weekend after being a week late that’s why i think i o’d late.

  121. Anna says:

    Does werd have a HC? I wonder if I can get a friend knocked up by buying pads for her..

  122. mamaroo says:

    mmspirit7 – if you think you Oed around 12/31 – 1/1, put your LMP at 12/18 or 19 – you get a EDD of Sept. 23. Btw, congrats! My EDD is Sept. 6!

  123. JustPeachy says:

    Anna not yet but she is having a co-op on CDN for her pads. Her pads rock and they are very well made

  124. werd says:

    quit talking crap about me, guys! LOL I’m getting a reputation!!

  125. werd says:

    yeah, apparently my knock-up-ability is SO powerful, all you have to do is either think about ordering, or place an order but not finalize it and BAM… bun in the oven. I RULE!

  126. I should order some for my girlfriend thats been trying to get pregnant for over a year.. She wears cloth pads and already has a stash for her future baby..

  127. Anna says:

    Thanks 123 and 124. I passed the links onto mi amiga to make sure I don’t accidentally get knocked up instead. ;0)

Leave a Reply

