It is still early in the poll… but with the other 5 threads about this string of ONGOING viruses, and Lee claiming he stopped the ads doing it a few days ago, it is just interesting.

http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=909197

View Poll Results: Did you get the virus pop up while your supporter membership was active?
Yes, I did get the virus pop up when I had an active DS supporter membership 4 9.76%
No, I did not get the virus pop up when I had an active DS supporter membership 4 9.76%
Yes, I did get the virus pop-up when I did not have an active DS supporter membership 29 70.73%
No, I did not get the virus pop up when I did not have an active DS supporter membership 4 9.76%
Other 0 0%
Voters: 41. You may not vote on this poll
Comments
  1. Molly says:

    I had the virus pop-up this morning on my mac.

  2. Booyah says:

    Same shit, different year! This isn’t just yesterday’s news, it’s 2008’s news!

    And go figure, Lee is once again denying everything. Fucking scumbag.

  3. DSDM2 says:

    We have moved to a new adserver company that has invested millions of dollars in reducing the amount of viruses on their network. This should go a long way to ensuring a safe browsing environment for all DS users.

    Please keep us updated if you have any other issues!

    It isn’t working.

  4. Annoyed says:

    Sure isn’t working. I never had a pop-up until last night. I had 2 trojans after I ran my scan. I deleted them from my faves & won’t be going back. I am grateful I have no open transactions there now.

  5. moi says:

    Hi all, first time Drama Blog poster…just wanted to point out the stupidity of the following statement (ridiculous part in caps):

    “We have moved to a new adserver company that has invested millions of dollars in REDUCING the amount of viruses on their network.”

    Give me millions of dollars, I know how to make the DS viruses go away; GET RID OF THE CRAPPY CORPORATE ADS! I know it’s a large and highly trafficked site and all, but surely they can pay their server bill with the money made from all of the WAHM advertising and site supporter fees??

  6. MotherMoonPads says:

    I’m getting popups, yet I run Firefox with Adblock. I don’t get that one?

  7. DSDM2 says:

    Try adding NoScript too. It will stop the ad scripts from loading on your computer.

  8. melmelly says:

    DSDM2- the noscript thing…I was always having a box pop up these last few weeks about an error loading a script whenever I was loading pretty much anything. Would that noscript thing stop that? I am in the middle of hooking up our new computer, so I want to make sure I get all the right add-ons from firefox before I go venturing to any sites.

  9. mama says:

    I am wondering about the language of that poll and their claim to fix it. Do I understand that they are claiming that if you are a supporter of the site you are less likely to get the virus? I certainly hope not, that would be so wrong on so many levels.

  10. Funneh says:

    10, I think if you are a site supporter, a lot of the ads are auto-blocked for you. Like paying to support the site means you don’t have to bring them any revenue in by looking at the ads, haha.

  11. Funneh says:

    Dammit, I meant 9.

  12. ladybugith says:

    Comment #9: I think they are saying that the virus comes from the ads, so supporters who don’t get these ads would not be seeing them and they wanted to verify them.

    #5 — As for the ads themselves, a lot of work goes into running a website (especially ones the size of DS). Why shouldn’t they try and make money with some fairly unobtrusive ads? CNN has ads…even eBay and Amazon have external ads. I have no problem getting to use a site for free, list things for sale for free, etc. in exchange for some ads that don’t stop my day any. Of course, I’m on a Mac so don’t have to deal with the virus either 😛

    Obviously they should get rid of the ads that cause a virus, lol!

  13. Ashley says:

    @ ladybugith: I have no issue with them making money off of the site, whether the ads be obtrusive or not. The issue is that they continue to allow ads that are damaging their visitors’ computers.

    I’ve dealt with having to clean up a hacked site run by a PHP script (which is what most forums are run by), and it’s not fun, quick, or easy, so I totally understand that it’s going to take time to locate and eliminate the source of the bad stuff, but the logical thing to do is to first get rid of ANYTHING that could be causing it, and then add things back one by one process-of-elimination style. I don’t have any insider tech info, but it does not seem as if they’ve done this. I also don’t think it’s right that they keep going through these adserver sites when they obviously have no control over what is served to visitors through them. It’s just reckless and shoddy webmastering all the way around, IMO.

  14. L J says:

    Well, I logged on to DS for the first time in months last night (from my DAD’S COMPUTER) and now we have a terrible virus that I cannot get to go away! Every 3 seconds something pops up telling me I have a “Windows Security Alert” and I need to “Activate Antivirus Software”. I cannot get into “My Computer” and “Alt-Ctrl-Del” does not work.

    What the hell am I supposed to do about this? This is so freaking ridiculous.

    Screw DS, I am never going on there again, I’ll just buy the new baby’s diapers new, but how am I supposed to get this off of my dad’s computer without losing all his files? He is going to kill me.

  15. DeviateFromTheNorm says:

    13- The only way that DS will actually do something as time-consuming and RESPONSIBLE as that (which we’ve all been suggesting from the start, and Lee has been accusing us of being techno-illiterate), is if the problem hits them where it counts: in the money. If people who are having virus trouble post their screen shots, than take off, DS will realize they’re losing patronage, and they will take the necessary steps to fix it. For now, people just keep posting SS’s, and hanging out, complaining about the issue. That’s not going to do a darn thing.

  16. L J says:

    Okay – I had the AntiVirus Live virus disabling my computer. Followed the directions at this link ten minutes ago, and everything appears to be fine now. http://www.softsailor.com/how-to/13501-how-to-uninstallremove-antivirus-live-virus-removal-guide.html

    I hope that helps someone else as computer-inept as myself, if this is one of the viruses attacking lots of people.

    I wish there was some way to post LOUD announcements on the web to warn new members that their computers are going to be fried if they go there.

    Man, that sucked. No amount of cheap CDs in the world will ever get me back on that site. GymboFriends and The BabyWearer it is from here on out.

  17. mmspirit7 says:

    L J check out http://www.clothdiapernation.com you can b/s/t there and they are about more than diapers as well

  18. Roxyrocks says:

    I stopped being site supporter a long time ago when I keep getting ads and pop-ups this thread just makes me think they only care if their paid supporters are getting viruses and how cares about the other.

    I am curious how much is made off DS? I never thought you made that much money off a message board maybe I am wrong

  19. naturalmamadot says:

    Lees entire profession is making MILLIONS off message boards, he makes enough income to live off of owning it but the real money is when he sells which is VERY odd that he hasnt yet. I swear he only hasnt sold because he knows it pisses us all off to have him involved lmao

  20. melmelly says:

    http://www.poorpregnantagain.blogspot.com/

    Anyone see that she updated her blog on Friday, and always deleted the comments from her previous entry? She has made it so no one can comment on her blog. Guess she didn’t like being called out on her ways of working the system.

  21. Just Peachy says:

    I saw she deleted the comments. I went ahead and emailed the fraud divison of GA DFCS. Im waiting on them to get back to me about it. I am hoping there is something they can do about this because especially in these times I am sick of people working the system and getting away with it. For once I’d like to see one of these leaches get caught.

  22. Just Peachy says:

    Accidentally posted this on the asshole thread.
    And I guess she thinks because she took her blog out of her signature link that she’d be able to thwart shit. I do hope DFCS has ip trackers so this bitch gets busted.

  23. rebecca says:

    #20 Wow. Crap. Ugh. I hate people like this. I mean even when we were poor enough to qualify for government aid my husband worked his tail off to pay for a family health insurance plan. That is how it should be. I am pretty intolerant of people that do things like her but meanwhile will waste their money on junk. You can live quite well on very little.

    Oh and the viruses…gross. I am boycotting DS for a while thanks to them. Except to read about the drama here. Of course.

  24. Ashley says:

    @ DeviateFromTheNorm: I have to admit that I am one of the culprits of complaining but going back. I’m ashamed, but it really is the best source of not only CD but straight up everyday advice I’ve found since becoming a mom 😦

    @ Roxyrocks: well, think about JUST the income from site supporters and WAHM ads and forum sponsorships. Each supporter pays what, $5/mo? With as huge a membership as DS has, I can’t even imagine how many of those there are. Then each of the forum sponsorships brings in about $30/mo. I’m not sure what the banner ad space offered to WAHMs is running, but there always seems to be plenty of those in rotation as well.

    Since all we’re sure of is the forum sponsorships, let’s add that up…I’m counting 30 as of this moment. That’s $900 right there. I’m not sure what host they’re using, but here are prices for dedicated servers (which I’d imagine DS is big enough to need) at the host I’ve used for my own sites for years:

    http://www.totalchoicehosting.com/web-hosting-dedicated.html

    TBH, forums, if admined effectively, do not take up very much server space. Text in a database is not large, and it’s my personal belief that a forum should be pruning (deleting) old threads on a regular basis anyway. The fact that DS has a lot of “extras” is also a drain on whatever server space/bandwidth they have available…would anyone really miss the games, excessive smilies, or the ability to upload photos and avatars (everyone could just call those from photobucket, imageshack, etc.)? If they were ever to claim that their server bill was huge and necessitated the virus carrying adserver ads due to the amount of storage space that DS “needed”, I’d have to call shenanigans.

  25. Lauramaynot says:

    I have has nothing but trouble with viruses from ds…especially lately. It really seems like bad business to me to allow that stuff to keep coming back. I think eventually karma will kick them in the ass.

  26. mmspirit7 says:

    I think the viruses is why he hasn’t sold the board to lazy to fix the problem because of the money they bring in (the ads)

  27. DSDM2 says:

    I think you might be right 26.

  28. Roxyrocks says:

    I was just fucking attacked!!! I was deleting a couple of threads I had because the items were sold and when I went to look at another thread something tried to ‘scan’ my computer! Fuck this I am done I just sold my last item and I am done. I am in a co-op over there but I will check for shipping at Kinko’s or the library before I log back on there.

    I am thinking of getting a MAC and I even heard of a mama over on CDN getting attacked with her MAC and I thought it was virtually impossible to get viruses on them

  29. naturalmamadot says:

    Its not that its impossible its just that the PC is used more so they tend to create more viruses and such for it. There are mac viruses though just less likely to pick them up because there are fewer created.

  30. Messy says:

    #24 Ashley, see #17!!! http://www.clothdiapernation.com is AWESOME and so much better than DS for everything. Those mamas rock! The rules are set up for adults and the FSOT forums are so much safer/calmer/and respected 🙂

  31. DSDM2 says:

    I was attacked today too.

  32. Booyah says:

    Exactly 15. Vote with your feet….get the fuck off DS! Complaining doesn’t do any good when you are still hanging around bringing in the revenue for that bastard Lee. It’s just a website…is fluff really worth losing your computer over?

    (all “you”s are general, BTW…I am just agreeing with your comment!)

  33. turkey lurkey says:

    I got a virus too. Mine slows my computer down to a crawl after about 10 minutes. Also when I tried to login to PayPal it brought up a screen that said I needed to re-enter all my account information, including my bank account number, etc… Yeah, I don’t think so!

  34. turkey lurkey says:

    And yet, I can’t stop going back for more… *sigh*

    Here’s a good one. DS is holding out on raffle winners.
    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=910060

    Old Yesterday, 04:23 PM #1 Report Post
    nicolewilbanks’s Avatar
    nicolewilbanks
    I could not ask for more

    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: Wherever the Navy takes us, but always a Southern Belle at heart
    Posts: 2,024
    Ratings: 91
    Feedback: 100%
    My Mood:

    Anyone else yet to receive their Raffle winnings?
    I’ve contacted Lee and was told that DS has emailed all of my info to the person in charge of mailing my item I won. I was also given an email addy to contact the person myself. I’ve yet to receive any info back from that person or receive the item I won.

    Anyone else have this problem? I’ve never won before, so I’m not sure how long it’s even supposed to take to get the item.
    __________________
    Nicole~ Navy wife to one hot, FINALLY HOME sailor and SAHM to Bryce ( Jun 01), Gracie (Apr 05), Braden (Aug 07) and our miracle baby Paisley (Jul 09)
    Proud to be a CD, BW, ERF, VAXING, CIRC’ING, frugal mama!ISO/IHA
    nicolewilbanks is offline Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message
    nicolewilbanks
    View Public Profile
    Send a private message to nicolewilbanks
    Send email to nicolewilbanks
    Find More Posts by nicolewilbanks
    Add nicolewilbanks to Your Buddy List
    Old Yesterday, 04:24 PM #2 Report Post
    shelbell’s Avatar
    shelbell
    Love that baby!
    sitesupporter

    Join Date: Jan 2008
    Location: Florida
    Posts: 4,807
    Ratings: 385
    Feedback: 100%
    My Mood:

    Re: Anyone else yet to receive their Raffle winnings?
    Maybe email again? How long since the contest ended?
    __________________
    Shelly, wife to Rich (12/25/2008), mom to Mike (13), Sam (10) and Abby (2)

    Girls 12-18 and 18-24 month stuff FSOT
    Trade thread – we’re done with diapers, trade me for other stuff! IHA playfood, Goodmama’s, clothes, wool
    shelbell is offline Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message
    shelbell
    View Public Profile
    Send a private message to shelbell
    Send email to shelbell
    Find More Posts by shelbell
    Add shelbell to Your Buddy List
    Old Yesterday, 04:25 PM #3 Report Post
    nicolewilbanks’s Avatar
    nicolewilbanks
    I could not ask for more

    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: Wherever the Navy takes us, but always a Southern Belle at heart
    Posts: 2,024
    Ratings: 91
    Feedback: 100%
    My Mood:

    Re: Anyone else yet to receive their Raffle winnings?
    I need to double check but I know it was before Christmas that the raffle took place.
    __________________
    Nicole~ Navy wife to one hot, FINALLY HOME sailor and SAHM to Bryce ( Jun 01), Gracie (Apr 05), Braden (Aug 07) and our miracle baby Paisley (Jul 09)
    Proud to be a CD, BW, ERF, VAXING, CIRC’ING, frugal mama!ISO/IHA
    nicolewilbanks is offline Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message
    nicolewilbanks
    View Public Profile
    Send a private message to nicolewilbanks
    Send email to nicolewilbanks
    Find More Posts by nicolewilbanks
    Add nicolewilbanks to Your Buddy List
    Old Yesterday, 04:30 PM #4 Report Post
    shelbell’s Avatar
    shelbell
    Love that baby!
    sitesupporter

    Join Date: Jan 2008
    Location: Florida
    Posts: 4,807
    Ratings: 385
    Feedback: 100%
    My Mood:

    Re: Anyone else yet to receive their Raffle winnings?
    I think emailing again is appropriate, either Lee or the person who is doing the actual shipping. Two weeks isn’t a terribly long time but there should be some communication.
    __________________
    Shelly, wife to Rich (12/25/2008), mom to Mike (13), Sam (10) and Abby (2)

    Girls 12-18 and 18-24 month stuff FSOT
    Trade thread – we’re done with diapers, trade me for other stuff! IHA playfood, Goodmama’s, clothes, wool
    shelbell is offline Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message
    shelbell
    View Public Profile
    Send a private message to shelbell
    Send email to shelbell
    Find More Posts by shelbell
    Add shelbell to Your Buddy List
    Old Yesterday, 04:40 PM #5 Report Post
    nicolewilbanks’s Avatar
    nicolewilbanks
    I could not ask for more

    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: Wherever the Navy takes us, but always a Southern Belle at heart
    Posts: 2,024
    Ratings: 91
    Feedback: 100%
    My Mood:

    Re: Anyone else yet to receive their Raffle winnings?
    I just checked and Dec 18th is when the raffle winners were posted and Dec 21 is when the sponsors were notified.
    __________________
    Nicole~ Navy wife to one hot, FINALLY HOME sailor and SAHM to Bryce ( Jun 01), Gracie (Apr 05), Braden (Aug 07) and our miracle baby Paisley (Jul 09)
    Proud to be a CD, BW, ERF, VAXING, CIRC’ING, frugal mama!ISO/IHA

  35. Myra says:

    LMAO at that idiot deleting our comments. If she’s proud enough to blog about her lifestyle, she should be able to take the criticism of it. What a tool. Doesn’t want to be accountable to the people who are behind her gov’t funded pregnancy. Nice.

  36. Ashley says:

    @ Messy: I’m actually a member over at CDN, but just haven’t been able to really get into it. I know that it’s a catch 22 type of issue, but DS just moves so much faster than CDN >.<;;

  37. eeek says:

    Firefox has an awesome app that’s called web of trust (WOT). People rate sites and they show up in your browser etc with a little colored circle next to them, ranging from dark green to dark red. I’ve noticed that DS’s rating has been going UP lately, which I assume is because of some of Lee’s minions. It used to be red, now it’s yellow.

    If you use firefox make sure to rate DS red! It’s a way to actually let people know.

  38. naturalmamadot says:

    Well I do believe I have a virus from DS too! nice. I cant really complain since I willingly go there and will continue to since I have stuff to sell and it never seems to sell anywhere else. It still sucks that in order to get the hundreds of things I have sold I have to go to that shithole *sigh*

  39. bearista says:

    @Ashley…not sure when you joined CDN, but it had really picked up the pace since I joined (about a year ago). I don’t think any other forum’s FSOT is as fast as DS, but at least at CDN the FSOT risks are marginal.

  40. Laura says:

    DS just fried a VERY expensive computer at my office. Crashed. Dead. GONE. The IT dept. says it can’t be fixed. I wonder if I should have them send the bill to Lee. Asshole. He’s such a liar.

    I need a MOD from DS to pull all my FSOT posts because I won’t be back. I’m done with the virus crap. It’s to bad because I’ve made alot of friends there. My office computer has great anti virus so I’ve felt safe going there from work but never from home. Now I guess it’s not safe to go there AT ALL.

  41. ashley says:

    @ bearista: It was just a month or so ago that I joined.

  42. Jacky says:

    I am a site supporter at DS and it fried my laptop about a month ago. I mean, FRIED. It’s done for. There are trojans and worms and whatever else. I go to DS from work, but only because we have some serious anti-virus. I am buying a new laptop this week and investing in major anti-virus software. It is rather riduculous that with all our money they can’t do anything about them. I love CDN, but the FSOT is super slow.

  43. melmelly says:

    Have any of you tried the clothdiapering community on livejournal? It is a bit hard to get in if you have a new account, but you could let the mods know by making a public entry in your journal saying that you were on DS and had to leave because of the e-herpes.

  44. Booyah says:

    Agreed, that is one drawback about CDN. I posted some stuff a few months ago, and it sat, and sat, and sat. I posted it on DS (not from my own computer!) and it literally sold that day. Sigh.

    If only we could have the FSOT that DS has, CDN would be 100% perfect!

  45. naturalmamadot says:

    Ditto booyah lol, I always always post on cdn AND ds though because I want to contribute to CDN being busier. Its not hard I just copy and paste my post to both places, but it always sells on ds first lol.

  46. Aj says:

    So, at first I thought maybe it was a typo, but it’s not because she repeats it in subsequent posts:
    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=910724
    Labtop, really? That’s what my 7 year old calls ours, and although it’s cute for her, not so cute for Miles.

  47. naturalmamadot says:

    omg I know SOOOOOOOOOOOO many people who spell laptop like that. The same people randomly SAY other words incorrectly as well. It doesnt bother me quite as much when its obvious the person has the correct word but just cant figure out how to spell it, but when they are just writing a totally different word and say it that way just *shakehead*

  48. melmelly says:

    Websight? That one annoys me so much!

    But then again so does “your”, and people not using punctuation. Seriously, it gives me a headache when people don’t use it and I have to read their stuff a bahjillion times because it makes no sense AT ALL. A little comma and period here and there and the world is a wonderful place. 😉

  49. Me says:

    I just found this blog *blush*
    I had no clue this was here!

    Anyhow, I just got that damn scanning popup on my freaking iPod. This might be a retarded question, but is it possible for this DS shit to hurt my iPod? I don’t want to leave DS because I’m pretty active on one of the sub-forums. 😦

    And oh my God. It’s 2010 and there are people out there who really think it’s called a labtop? What, is she on AOL dial-up too?

    And which user does the freeloading mom blog belong to? Like I said, I’m new.

  50. melmelly says:

    49- I think her name on DS is Marisa..if you are talking about the poorpregnantagain.blogspot blog. She is a piece of work.

    As for the iPod, I don’t know and I hope not. I use my iPhone when I gave to take a peek at DS, but that is very rare now. I think I have looked there maybe, MAYBE, three times in the last several months.

  51. smartassmama says:

    Yea. Now I have to look her up. lol
    btw – I’m 49. I registered.

  52. RainCloud says:

    Typical DS..*sigh*

  53. zosiasmama says:

    Hey eeeek,
    How do you rate a site through WOT? I have the add on but don’t know how to rate one. DS should remain red.

  54. moxy says:

    49 And oh my God. It’s 2010 and there are people out there who still use “retarded” as an insult.

  55. Messy says:

    #52 Maj, OMgosh! I NEED THAT!!! It is gorgeous!!! Gowns are my ultimate favorite!!! I don’t have enough scraps to knit a whole gown (longies or hat either) out of 😦 Why must I use up every inch of wool on each project?

  56. cdnation says:

    After reading this I won’t be going back to DS either. I don’t need anything on my computer.

    I wish our FSOT was hopping more for y’all too. All we can do is keep spreading the word and hope that it picks up. I appreciate those of you who post your stuff at CDN as well as at DS. And I understand your frustration. I’ve done it too. :hide:

  57. bugabear says:

    Who is the scammer?

    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=909094

    (I use Firefox w/ adblock plus and have no issues with viruses)

  58. zosiasmama says:

    Eeek…nevermind I figured out how to do a WOT report. I would encorage all of you to also do a WOT report for DS. It is not a safe site and it needs to be listed as red.

  59. zosiasmama says:

    bugabear- I just want to tell you that I got hit too…and I was using adblock plus.

  60. chrissyb says:

    ugh virus!! It has tried to get me on my brand new laptop several times. I seem to have dodged to bullet by shutting down as soon as the “warning” box pops up. A virus from DS toasted my other computer, hence the new laptop. So whats a good virus software if I’m going to invest in one? I have mcafee through my internet provider, but it doesn’t seem to pick up whatevers going on a DS. I need to be done there. I am waiting on a couple of dipes, then thats it. Add in the cost of replacing and protecting my computer, and it costs less to buy new!! geesh.

    I am going to miss the coops though. Anyone know of somewhere they do Just Tomatoes co ops?

  61. Aj says:

    DId anyone see that Miles corrected her posts? Her explanation is even better:

    “I had DD#2 on my lap at the time I was writing all of this. I usually do and at times I cant type or catch it so I did mean LAPTOP. She also likes to hit the buttons for me so I could have put laptop and she hit the b who knows with her. But its LAPTOP not labtop! I fixed them I didnt know it would bug anyone! But its all fixed now as DD#2 isnt on my lap!”

    Her daughter managed to hit the ‘b’ button at the right time as Miles was typing ‘laptop’. Not once, but twice. That my friends is a remarkable child. 🙂

  62. JustPeachy says:

    And why the big to do about it? I would’ve just edited it and been done with it no explanation needed.

  63. naturalmamadot says:

    lmao! thats great

  64. Messy says:

    #49 It’s 2010, how about you learn the ramifications of the word “retarded” as it would help you to look less obtuse than the person you are trying to complain about.

  65. DSDM2 says:

    DS is down now.

  66. Heather says:

    So, I’ve ran a couple of scans with Ad-Aware, and it’s not picking up on any viruses. However, I have been forwarded to 2 malware sites in the past couple of days from DS, and my PC is acting wonky (although it often does anyway as it’s older and has some software/operating ystem issues I can’t seem to get worked out).

    I guess my only recourse is to keep running virus scans and stay away from DS? I’m not very active there, but do like the FSOT and had some stuff to list.

    sigh

  67. DSDM2 says:

    Heather, list it on spots.

    I would look into another antivirus software. Your current one may not be updated for this set of viruses.

  68. smartassmama says:

    #65 – I wasn’t complaining about a person. Hell, I was prefacing my own question with – “I hope I don’t come off this way” for asking about the DS virus drama on a Mac product. With the free language here I assumed I was free to say what was on my mind, too. Guess that’s the one no-no word. I’ll remember for next time.

  69. DSDM2 says:

    She was just letting you know. You are free to write what you want, but using some terms is just wrong. 😉

  70. DSDM2 says:

    And why do you have 2 SNs?

  71. DSDM2 says:

    n/m i see it now.

  72. naturalmamadot says:

    Its not about complaining about someone, its that you used the word as a “bad” thing an insult for yourself, I hope Im not being an ass, I hope im not being a moron, I hope Im not being retarded. Its not a negative thing to be used as an insult. Thats like saying I hope im not being black/white/christian. Man guys, I really hope this doesnt come off as too mexican. Yea that would go over well *eyeroll*

  73. Aj says:

    “Too Mexican” lol!

  74. smartassmama says:

    lol

    And the first time I wasn’t registered. I’ve actually never commented on a WordPress blog before last night. So I figured I’d register.

  75. DSDM2 says:

    is it possible for this DS shit to hurt my iPod? I don’t want to leave DS because I’m pretty active on one of the sub-forums. 😦

    I would guess that YES, it can. It all depends on the code of the viruses.

    And oh my God. It’s 2010 and there are people out there who really think it’s called a labtop? What, is she on AOL dial-up too?

    Oh, you should read all of her posts… this is just the icing.

    And which user does the freeloading mom blog belong to? Like I said, I’m new.

    marisal http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/member.php?u=816

  76. smartassmama says:

    Thanks for the links. Might make for good nap time reading. If DS ever gets done with the super secret clean up.

  77. mmspirit7 says:

    does lee own craftforum.com as well?

  78. mmspirit7 says:

    that explains his pimping everywhere.

  79. adensmama says:

    Wowwwww,
    A LABtop? Seriously? LABBBBBBtop?

    Oh sorry about all those Bs, I had my bebe sitting on my lap and he likes to push buttons.

  80. naturalmamadot says:

    lmao! seriously, im waiting for ppl to start using the “baby on my lap” excuse for typos like the “my husband was supposed to send it” excuse for slow shipping.

    oh the their, there, theyre mistake? that was the baby. you your youre? baby. I talk out my ass and dont know the english language? the darn baby again!

  81. mmspirit7 says:

    per lee’s website ds is 54% male. and he knows how much people make i don’t remember stating that when signing up

  82. naturalmamadot says:

    lmfao what? I highly doubt ds is 54% male

  83. smartassmama says:

    Whaaaat? That’s crazy. I wonder if those stats are pulled out of a butt somewhere.
    Anytime I see a male on DS I think, “Oh how sweet/cute/etc.” But 54% is a huge overstatement. I would venture to say that 5.4% is still high.

  84. Aj says:

    It seems to me though that a lot of women at DS rely heavily on their husbands for head of the household decisions and what not, so it wouldn’t surprise me those women use their husbands information to sign up. I agree though, there is no way that over half of the users who are posting daily are male.

  85. mmspirit7 says:

    Yeah i was shocked and don’t buy it

  86. naturalmamadot says:

    also according to him, totallyher is 26% male…that is probably insteresting lmao

  87. zosiasmama says:

    I would like to suggest to you all that you add the FF add on Web Of Trust and rate DS.
    http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/diaperswappers.com

  88. smartassmama says:

    It’s back up. I have ABP so I don’t see the ads, but the space where the ads go just got much bigger. And it is sloooow.

  89. eeek says:

    Good link! & I saw there’s a ton more comments, make sure you also click on “edit my rating” above the red-to-green bars, above the comments. Then click as far red as possible on all of them, then click save my rating.

    That little thing should be red to warn unsuspecting web surfers. This situation is just disgraceful.

  90. zosiasmama says:

    I agree eeeek, I am spreading the word as much as I can for people to go to WOT and rate them. No way should that site have come out of red….and sadly there is only one way that could have happened so fast. *eyeroll*

  91. StickFigureSushi says:

    My “magic combo” e-condom for the e-herp is:

    *Norton security (firewall AND anti-virus) – keep this updated weekly with new definitions because if you don’t, you’re not protected. This is true of any a/v software. I have the pop-up blocker/ad blocker feature turned on.

    *Spybot Search & Destroy – I not only run this weekly to make sure my computer is clean, but it also has a nifty “immunize” function that blocks attacks from certain known trojans/malware. So it actually prevents attacks.

    *Firefox w/ABP – I don’t use the regular ad-block add on for FF, I use the better one (adblock plus).

    Between these three things I have never seen an ad at DS, other than the small WAHM ads that are on each forum in the list. I’ve never received a pop-up, from any site on the web including DS. Is it inconvenient sometimes? Yeah, it is. Not getting pop-ups at DS means I also can’t get the pm’s to pop up in a new window, so I have to leave what I’m doing to read a pm. I also sometimes miss out on images at different sites and don’t realize it. And there’s a little “block” box on most every other image that is left and that does get a little annoying sometimes. But is it worth the minor annoyance to keep my computer safe? Abso-freakin-lutely.

  92. zosiasmama says:

    94….that is all great but here what I can’t stop thinking.

    Why would you want to go through so much and miss out on stuff on other sites just to be able to look at a site that cares so little for their members, their members computers and whether they wipe people out or not? Is looking at diapers there really worth that?

    I just can’t wrap my head around why so many people stick around their after knowing that they allow e-herp over and over again. *scratches head* Especially when there is an alternative site (CDN) with no ads, no viruses, and cares about it’s members.

  93. naturalmamadot says:

    I risk it because it costs me nothing but my time to fix it if I get something and I dont WANT stuff sold I NEED stuff sold, so I list on both sites. I would rather get a virus and have to spend a few hrs re downloading all my programs than not get stuff sold. I have tried spots, nothing, ebay, nothing, cdn, almost nothing, ds GONE haha so its worth it to me.

    If I would just have to spend money to get it fixed well that might be a dif story since the money I made selling would just go to that and itd be pointless

  94. StickFigureSushi says:

    #95 – I don’t have that setup because of DS. I’ve had that combo of protection on my computer since long before I stumbled across DS. It just happens to work for me, so I thought I’d share. I am a WAHM, so it benefits me to continue at least occasionally posting there and keeping tabs on trends in my target market. I know that there are other WAHM’s like me who want/need to continue at least checking in there for the same reasons, so I thought I’d share what keeps my computer safe. The worst thing I catch from any site these days is a tracking cookie or two, which is easily deleted at the end of the day.

  95. Killed Em Dead says:

    Count me among DS casualties. I joined maybe two months ago after a suggestion by a friend who trades and sells like crazy (and is a site supporter, and doesn’t claim to have any issues…hmmmmmm) I’m running Symantec, Ad-Aware, and MalwareBytes but am required to use Internet Explorer on my alternate PC. I had the “OMG YOU HAVE A VIRUS! DOWNLOAD THIS OTHER VIRUS TO REMOVE IT!” pop-up, CTRL+ALT+DEL that mofo away, and then, drumroll, was bombarded with redirects to porn and satellite TV provider services. I didn’t have to hit any buttons, it downloaded on its own. Symantec and MalwareBytes would both find the Trojan, and a few other things, but then it couldn’t remove them (possibly because I’m on a network, but not sure). I had someone remove it, only to find out it was only partially removed and the same crap happened again within minutes– without even accessing DS again. Ultimately my hard drive was replaced.

    When I access DS at home using FireFox and an array of whatever-the-crap firewalls and security stuff were downloaded by Best Buy, the site seems ok– but I just bought this PC and am not taking a chance on frying it so I’ve stopped going.

    Thanks Lee! Way to build an awesome site!!!!

Leave a Reply

