Paypal…I won’t be using it anymore

I have had no problems with my paypal account. I have had it for many years. I have 100% feedback on EBAY.
BUT Paypal has placed a hold on any funds I received for 21 days or until buyers received my items. Makes no sense and I am TICKED!!!
So, I will not be taking paypal payments anymore.

__________________

then in another thread here: http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?s=0f85441364b88343fc51b1d95d9e8402&t=905849

01-11-2010, 01:56 PM #1

Anyone Get this From PP?

Quote:
Important message about your account. From now on, money you receive will be temporarily held in a pending balance. To learn more, please read our funds availability policy

I called and appealed it. They can hold all of my funds from a transaction for 21 days or till I get pos feedback on eBay and Delivery is confirmed. This means that every transaction from here is held for 21 days. What a load of crap. It is “to protect you from charge backs and your customers from you not having funds for a return.”

Ok – so, now I will get money to ship to Mommies and not be able to ship When my client pays me for the writng I give her each week…she gets her work first…then I will have to wait 21 days to access those funds although she is satisfied or would not have paid me. What is this load of BS? Anyone else going through this? I have never had a dispute, never not refunded someone, nor had problems. I just do not have 100 stars on eBay. Who cares. This is not eBay!!! I am totally POed! They better overturn it or I am going to be even more mad.

This really sounds like a great idea to me. It protects people from scammers. The posters here are not in question, so I just put the relevant quotes.

What do they plan on doing that offers ANY protection, or that has a 21 day turn around? If you do a personal check, you have 3-10 days waiting to get it, and then another 3 to make sure it will clear the bank.. then you have the time to ship the item, make sure mom is happy with said item (3-10 more days), and THEN the money is yours. So that is what.. MAYBE 4 days faster, or maybe 4 days slower? On that same side, there is absolutely no protection for the buyers with check, money order, cash, or RME (is that still around?).

Don’t sell if you can’t afford to ship, and don’t complain about paypal holding money to protect someone. 21 days is not long, and you shouldn’t be counting on that money until after the buyer has the item and is content with the purchase.

Comments
  1. monkey says:

    I’m okay with it. Hopefully it will help some mamas who might have been scammed out. The only problem is that it doesn’t help people who don’t figure out they’re being scammed until after 21 days.

    I know it sucks for sellers… but there has just been so much scamming (and not just in the diaper world) that something needed to be done.

  2. Just Peachy says:

    Eh im on the fence about this one. I can see if a transaction has multiple claims in the past but is this going to happen to everyone who uses paypal now?

  3. DSDM2 says:

    From what I read, in the next 90 days everyone who uses PP for ALL transactions that are not marked as personal payment.

    I don’t have a problem with it.

  4. Just Peachy says:

    Well I do simply because I dont keep money in my bank account cept for paypal purchases. And if Im selling something I like to ship thru paypal that way they get the auto notice.

  5. lurking says:

    Everyone??!! including those people who are active Ebay sellers with great feedback?

  6. DSDM2 says:

    Over 100 FB with less than 5% dissatisfaction rate

  7. mmspirit7 says:

    They were talking about this on cdn and it was said it’s been around since 08 and it was mainly for big money items. I am not worried about it. I never sell unless I have the cash in hand to ship but I have to go to the po anyways

  8. MotherMoonPads says:

    It has been around for at least a year (probably longer) now. I know it was put in place when I still sold a lot on eBay, and I haven’t for over a year. There certainly was an uproar on the message boards about it.

    I can see how it can be a pain for the seller though. Not only do they have to pay to ship out of pocket, their money is held until one of 3 things happen:

    1. Delivery confirmation shows delivered 3 days prior with no formal complaint from the buyer
    2. 21 days have passed (from payment)
    3. The buyer leaves positive feedback.

    I HAVE read complaints about how seller’s money have been held past those 3 things though due to glitches in the system, and that the sellers have had to fight with Paypal to get their money. I am NOT okay with that happening.

    This only affects sellers with less than 100 feedback though (or an over 5% buyer disatisfaction rating), and the sales are typically in high risk categories, such as electronics.

    BUT, this is what I know from when the program was first introduced.

    DSDM, where have you read otherwise? I’d love to read it, so I can prepare myself for it too 🙂

  9. DSDM2 says:

    I read on ebay discussions after seeing the DS thread, and then called them.

    Here is one talk of it… http://forums.ebay.co.uk/thread.jspa?threadID=1200330823&start=0

  10. CJ says:

    So they are only using the ebay feedback ratings to base this on? What if a person doesn’t sell on ebay? They could have hundreds of great transactions via paypal, but that doesn’t matter?

    I do like that they are trying to protect against scamming, but they can’t possibly expect people to accept payment for shipping in the form of paypal and then not be able to use it to ship out the item. Not everyone has extra disposable income sitting in their pocket, that is why the customer is paying for shipping. It’s ridiculous to not be able to use that money for its intended purpose.
    I really enjoy not having to stand in line at the post office to ship items, that is very disappointing.

  11. werd says:

    I don’t like it. I for one, sell a ton and cannot afford to pay for all that shipping, out of pocket, nor can I make frequent trips to the PO to ship out of pocket. I have a newbie and we have one car (well, until tomorrow WHEEEEE). There has to be a better way, I don’t think (good) sellers should be punished because they don’t sell on ebay. I buy/sell on ebay (mostly buy now because of their feeds) but I only have 70 positive/no negative. I’ve had over 100 positive transactions, from selling my WAHM wares alone. I think this should be a case-by-case basis, and if a seller consistently has claims filed, then THEY are the ones who should be punished!

  12. tlouise says:

    I think this is good thing. It will probably light a fire under people to ship more quickly, too.

    I don’t understand why people don’t just transfer some money from their bank account to their paypal in order to ship. Or just save the money of a transaction or two and use it as shipping money rather than buying more diapers as soon as it clears.

  13. CJ says:

    Because up in the great white North it can take up to 10 days to transfer money to the bank…..not to mention that it charges me yet another fee. It’s not much but all of these little paypal fees add up to charging more for products which isn’t cool.
    And not everyone is spending all of their pp on diapers. For a lot of WAHMs that money is needed to buy fabric, yarn, thread, shipping supplies, etc as well as paying for shipping fees. There is rarely extra play money left over once everything is accounted for.

  14. werd says:

    some people also do not have a bank account and choose not to. We shouldn’t have to make other arrangements because Paypal wants to hold onto our money for 3 weeks.

  15. Just Peachy says:

    Jackie actually you have to have either a bank account or credit card attached to your paypal account or you wont be able to use it. I learned this the hard way when I was trying to cut down my spending and locked money in my account.

  16. EM says:

    I haven’t noticed any changes-I received 2 payments yesterday (1 big and 1 smallish) and both hit my account immediately. I don’t sell on ebay and don’t have the ratings needed to stop the holds. Is this only happening to some people?

    And I don’t know about anyone else, but I personally try to keep a minimum of $50 in my pp after buying supplies, postage, bills and goodies for the family as a buffer in case of an emergency. I thought everyone did that or am I wrong?

  17. Just Peachy says:

    I don’t simply because I know in an emergency I can run to the bank to drop whatever amount is needed in my account and go from there. Admittedly I could do that but if Im selling alot I do not wanna do that every damn day.

  18. EM says:

    True, Peachy. I just like to have a safety net. And my bank account is attached to my pp so if I do run low, it comes out of my bank anyway-I just try to keep business expenses from my pp and personal expenses from my bank-why I have a $50 buffer in my “business” account.

    Anywho, back to the subject-I don’t see what the big deal about waiting 21 days is (if you are a business). I can maybe see it if you are just someone selling used dipes (and may not have that extra cash laying around to ship) but if you are a business you should be prepared for shit (like this) to happen.

  19. werd says:

    Wow Peach, really? Is that new? I have a PP debit card attached but I thought you were able to have a PP account without having anything attached.

    Personally, I always keep at least $50-100 in my PP account as a buffer in case something happens. I never spend the money I am sent until the items are in the mail, too. But I know not everyone is like that.

  20. Just Peachy says:

    IDK if its new but I did this last spring as I realized as long as I had money in my bank account and had it attached to my pp account I would keep buying. I even called pp to see what the deal was and they said I had to have some sort of funding in order to be able to spend money that was in my account. Lame right?
    And #18 yes I totally agree for a business you should have funds to cover things like refunds but for your average FSOTer it sucks.

  21. ladylili says:

    This is gonna put a damper in co-op stuff.

  22. turkey lurkey says:

    The thing is, if you read the PayPal policies, this only applies to Ebay. I don’t know why they are applying it to everything now? This is crazy. Their arbitrary application of policies makes me nuts.

  23. turkey lurkey says:

    I mean, in the policies it says it only applies to payments related to sales on Ebay.

  24. TyAndCheyMommy says:

    First I will say- I am not sure that this is the right e-mail address that I used before…

    For me- the 21 days does affect me to an extent. I do not sell on ebay- and I have not actually had this happen except when I sold a computer for over $400. In that case it held the money for 10 days, when the tracking showed it was received.
    For people who are selling diapers in order to fund another size, it could affect- because if you are just selling to size up- you have an even longer waiting period between when you can get the new size.
    Though I agree that you shouldn’t spend the money from sales until the other person has it in their possession- yet there are times that after sending it I have never heard another word from people I have sold to.
    If the policy is wrote correctly- then of course this could be a good thing, because it does HELP to protect us from scammers. But it still isn’t fool proof.
    I *hope* that they do not start applying this to smaller purchases- because even things like FFS would be affected, and would probably make people thinking of FFS things decide otherwise.

  25. turkey lurkey says:

    Yeah, we’d have to figure something else out for FFS.

  26. MotherMoonPads says:

    Thanks DSDM for the link.

    I won’t FFS anymore if this happens.

  27. try me, i'm new! says:

    sooooo…will this just apply to ebay? or to all pp transactions?

    b/c, yanno, selling elsewhere than ebay doesn’t generate an ebay feedback, so that eliminates one of the three ways to unencumber your money.

  28. Thud says:

    Wait, I thought the holds were random, not for all?

  29. 3timesamom says:

    It is just for ebay transactions. I read the current and all upcoming policy changes and no where does it say that this will be implemented outside of ebay. If it so happens that this was on a non ebay transaction I would call it a fluke. There are thousands of people who use PP and do not have ebay accounts so they absolutely can not make your PP status contingent on your ebay status. I absolutely would not take for gospel the word of someone who heard something from a PayPal rep on the phone. You can call there three times, talk to three people and get three answers, none of them correct. PayPal always has and always will send out notices to everyone’s inbox whenever they make policy changes, they do this weeks and months ahead of time.

    Everyone is in an uproar for nothing. In 30-90 days when everything is still the same, this will all have been for nothing.

  30. 3timesamom says:

    Oh and while I’m at it. I think she deserves her money back but Man she grates every last nerve I have.

    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=908157

  31. CJ says:

    I think they are random. And if they randomly hold my money, I will be pissed!

  32. Thud says:

    They are random-ish~ there is a series of criteria listed on paypal under ‘payment holds’. They really do apply to folks without a track record OR with unusual spikes in transactions etc.

  33. The ORIGINAL Just Me says:

    Here is a c&p for those who don’t visit there due to e-herpes:

    Today, 11:06 PM #1 Report Post
    lineolineluvsu@yahoo.com‘s Avatar
    lineolineluvsu@yahoo.com
    Registered Users

    Join Date: Jan 2009
    Location: Minneapolis, MN
    Posts: 181
    Ratings: 14
    Feedback: 93%

    Angry BEWARE: BLESSED WITH 7 IS A SCAMMER and rude too
    SHe never sent the package!! and is robbing me of money then she claims she doesnt need it when you look her posting she says she needs to sell desperately…..is this what ds is all about….???

    I don’t have a PM from you that I am aware of. I can’t stay on DS long enough to read and reply to anyones. And I have never scammed anyone, And I actually added quite a lot more in there NOW I wish I didn’t. It was sent with my MOTHER to mail off this past weekend because I have been sick. You can do what you like. I will call her in the morning and get the slips caus ethey are not in my car I thought I got them from her. She sent them cause I was sick and they didn’t fit in the mail box. I regret selling to you at FAR less price I could have sold them all together. And I didn’t send them straight away BECAUSE PAYPAL HAD TO INVESTIGATE YOUR PAYMENT, which has NEVER happened to me, AND THEY TOLD ME NOT to send the package until THEY concluded the investigation INTO YOUR PAYMENT. I have over 2,000 + on ebayu with NO negatives and almost 70 on DS. So whatever. You are so impatient and rude. And to think I lost so much money to a snot.
    YOU **** OFF what can’t handle what you have. We make 450,000 a year OWN OUR OWN DAIRY FARM, 3 new vehicles, 4500 sq ft house, and 3,000 dollar dogs. I think YOU are the one who shoudl get an education. Why so mad, cause I safeguarded myself against a fraud like you? DO NOT email me again. Or I will pass this on to the laywer we have on retainer as harassment. And for your info, I DID GO TO COLLEGE and have a BS IN NURSING. What did you even graduate? JEALOUS
    Whatever low life welfare idiot. Stop emailing me, you’re just mad you can’t screw me over with paypal.

  34. naturalmamadot says:

    I cant find a blessed with 7 in the members list? there is just about every other variation but that lol

  35. eeek says:

    dang, BA in nursing must have low english language requirements, huh?

    That post is an obnoxious mess. If I wasn’t scared of the e-herpes I’d go over to see the trainwreck, two twats like that going at each other is always a funny match-up!

  36. thewhiteninja says:

    whaaa?

  37. naturalmamadot says:

    what was with the second mama? couldnt find anything odd in her posts.

  38. DSDM2 says:

    My guess is the retaliatory feedback in all caps.

  39. naturalmamadot says:

    But she left calm feedback for blessed with 7 “this mama did not ship my item and kept my money ” and blessed with 7 left her this: “SENT QUESTIONABLE $ PAYPAL HAD TO INVESTIGATE, I REFUSED TO SHIP TILL CLEARED ”

    so blessed with 7 was the one that did all caps

  40. DSDM2 says:

    You are right. When I look at the links on the dashboard, posts are in the opposite order.

  41. Aj says:

    It’s probably because she started that post in the first place.

  42. OneBoy says:

    Does anyone know why lineonlineluvsu@yahoo.com was banned? She’s a piece of work, so I’m glad she has been. I sold some diapers to her over the summer, which went fine, though she’d PM me every hour I was online. She PMed me again recently asking to show her how to make faux crankies (I’ve knit a pair from my son) and wanting to trade me yarn scraps for a custom dyed colorway. Again, she PMed me every hour or so, constantly asked if I’d be able to get together with her that day even after me repeatedly saying I can’t because I work FT and am a single parent so the last thing I want to do after getting home from work is to teach someone I don’t know to knit. She was a bit stalkerish…. I saw the post mentioned in 34, but can’t figure out if that’s why she was banned.

Leave a Reply

