Why would you send products and not have payment first?

It is a little fishy at best. She sent items, knowing they were going to be used with a giftcard/certificate and then says the card can’t be used? Sounds like someone wanted to unload some products. I’m not advocating it, but the OP could totally keep them and there is nothing the WAHM can do. I agree with the poster who said mail in $38 and tell her to use the giftcard on the rest.

(sigh) Really? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?p=9055730#post9055730)

View First Unread View First Unread
Thread Tools // <![CDATA[// Display Modes // <![CDATA[//

Old Today, 03:10 AM #1
heathenmommy
Registered Users
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The state of Sheer Bliss.
Posts: 347
Ratings: 9
Feedback: 100%
My Mood:

(sigh) Really?

I ordered some diaper stuff from a store, was delighted. I got an e-mail that the owner was giving me $50 store credit that I won in a drawing. This is Oct. 16.

Drooling, I loaded up my cart with some stuff that DH NEVER would have gone for, I can just hear him now, “$65 pants for the baby? I love him too, but NO WAY!!!”:giggle:

I get a note back from the owner that I didn’t read the fine print and that the brand I wanted was excluded from the offer. I didn’t see what else I could get- I had everything I needed and I was using the credit for some impulse stuff.

A couple weeks later, I got a call from the store asking for payment for the stuff I wanted. I didn’t get back to them… Work/life is crazy I look up and more time had passed and I just forgot about it.

Today, December 7, I get the pants and another thing I wanted in the mail with an invoice for $83! I’m leaving in a few hours for a month, and now this stupid headache in on my plate.:banghead:

What to do?

__________________

heathenmommy is offline Reply With Quote
Comments
  1. eeek says:

    So she didn’t pay at all, just loaded her cart & tried to pay, then was told she couldn’t use the GC & didn’t go back. Correct? I have had a couple stores call me when I started to check out on their shop & realize they are charging some insane shipping- but if I bail partway through and don’t hit confirm & don’t PAY, shouldn’t you just assume I didn’t want the stuff?

    Then the store owner decided to send her the stuff, even though she hadn’t completed the transaction, and INVOICE her? Who does that?

    I would not be sending that woman $83. I might send her the amount beyond the GC, but the thing is, when people who have stores make things hard for me (like say I won something then say it’s only to be used on pure crap, after I had chosen my prize) I would tend to walk away from that store completely. If that were me, I would not have wanted to spend $33 more in her store, and it would really gall me to feel like I was being held hostage for it. I’d most likely just return-to-sender the whole thing, and expect the store to pay for it. That is not a store I’d want to support.

  2. naturalmamadot says:

    wow wtf is the WAHM smoking? Who the hell sends unwanted items and expects payment.

  3. kitty1163 says:

    Who has $65 pants in stock? Hmmm….

  4. CJ says:

    That is just crazy. I agree, send the $38 or pack it all back up and RTS at the store’s expense. If she did not complete the checkout process she should not be expected to pay for all of that.

    And why would one brand be excluded? That doesn’t make sense to me either. $50 is the same amount of money out of the shop owner’s pocket….no matter which brand she applies it to.

  5. Aj says:

    Maybe someone who carries sbish products?

  6. Kimbella says:

    I was thinking a carrier or Sbish too. Doesn’t sbish have a set price that retailers must charge? That’s probably why the store owner said that the gift card wasn’t applicable.

    Even if it wasn’t an Sbish product, I’m guessing that’s what the issue was with the gift card. Lots of manufacturers have policies about prices retailers are allowed to charge.

    I know a couple of years ago, Britax went and found stores who were charging less than the msrp. Britax stopped allowing those stores to carry its seats.

  7. Trojane says:

    It’s store credit… like a gift card. It’s not a coupon. It should apply to all products in her store. Nobody in the real world puts exclusions on gift cards because they are BOUGHT. Gift cards and store credit, are as good as money.

    Sending them and demanding the money is a whole different park of crazy.

  8. Kimbella says:

    Oh, I agree #7, the gift card should have been good for anything in the store! I was just thinking out loud about why the store owner would have said it was good for only certain items.

    It is crazy that they would send the products without payment! The mama could keep those items and the store would have no recouse at all (not that I’m saying she should do that!).

  9. rebecca says:

    Every time I get ‘store credit’ in a regular store, it applies to all items. If the WAHM wants to word it that way, it should be actually store credit. Otherwise its a coupon on X brand items.

    I wouldn’t pay. I might email and say, “I am out of the country, I don’t know why you sent me this stuff. Perhaps it was a mix-up on your end as I never paid for these items.” Then call it good to go. If she wants the stuff back its on her head. Otherwise, her loss would be my gain.

  10. monkey says:

    I would just return to sender and be done with it.

  11. try me, i'm new! says:

    *snort* fake auction win

  12. monkey says:

    #11

    It appears they’re trying to make a point.

  13. jmama says:

    Now that I have realized that, it is pretty amusing…

  14. .bin. says:

    Who gives a shit if people buy to resell, honestly? If the original seller wants to make that amount, she can do the same thing, wait it out, find places to sell for higher,etc.etc.

    Should people not be able to sell collectible items for the determined collector value, rather than their original price? I just don’t see the point in getting panties wadded over something that someone else chooses to sell.

  15. melmelly says:

    .bin. I understnad your point, but also look at it this way:
    There are some who specifically go and buy certain items (certain gm’s come to mind back in late spring/early summer 2008), knowing they won’t use them, just to turn around and sell to someone who didn’t have a faster internet connection.

    NastaschaN/JonasMommy is one that comes to mind that was a reseller.

    But I do think it is pretty pathetic to get one’s panties in a wad because they didn’t score a shit-catcher. It collects poo, it will more than likely be covered up most of the time. Who cares if you will have that TDF print? NO ONE WILL, well, except for the person who didn’t get it.

    As for yarn…it’s yarn, colored fuzz from sheep.

  16. .bin. says:

    Again, I truly don’t really have a problem with it. Tons of people buy for resale, it’s why most people scour second hand shops and flea markets the way they do. Anything for a buck, you know?

    I’m not saying I think reselling is this great wonderful thing, but it’s been happening for hundreds of years, probably thousands, and every time it happens, everyone seems all shocked. If we give things value, people will exploit that.

  17. Just Peachy says:

    Its the whole point that this is not manufactured stuff. This is yarn that is hand dyed by a dyer who COULD herself be making that kind of money. Its extremely tacky to do stuff like that especially when the WAHM world is being rocked by the economy.

  18. .bin. says:

    As a WAHNM(wahnon-mom) and the daughter of one, I disagree. If market value for that WAHMs goods are that high, then she can raise her prices, decrease supply increase demand, etc..etc Her prices and supply are her choice compared to the current market and demand for her product.

    I’ve been in the business over 15 years, and I’ve seen artisans/crafters sell ridiculously small/inexpensive things for huge markups. Why? Because as collectible items, or useable items their demand is very high. For ex. Just this weekend I saw someone drop over 75$ on a pair of recycled sweater underwear, saw someone else spend over 500$ on a bowl that might hold 1/4 cup of liquid, MIGHT! and 400$ on a knit sweater.

    Those artists have built themselves up, created their brand, and marketed themselves. They have created their own demand by having superior quality, customer service, etc..etc.

    Once again, I’m not saying I think reselling is a wonderful thing, I just don’t see the point in getting bitchy about it, or what’s really wrong with it. I choose the prices of my product based on what I want people to spend on them when buying from me. If they want to buy through someone else who marks it up, it doesn’t affect me. If I wanted to make that much, I’d just sell it myself for the same price.

    knock offs? Now THOSE piss me off.

  19. Just Peachy says:

    But how are knock offs any different than someone reselling for profit? Its still someone taking someone elses hard work and making money off of it.

  20. Jen says:

    If she didnt complete checkout, how did the WAHM get her address?

  21. The ORIGINAL Just Me says:

    #7 ITA!

    As for reselling I really don’t give a crap what people resell their items for. I won’t pay over retail prices period. If someone wants to then that is their issue! But once a customer purchases an item they are free to sell said item for whatever price they want.

  22. noisybean says:

    #21, I was wondering the same thing.

  23. CJ says:

    #21 If it is an HC, she can go through the store checkout and not pp and an order will still be created, providing the mailing address (if she is logged in and her profile has that info saved).
    If it’s not an HC, she probably created a profile for that online store which would have her mailing address.

  24. Pariah1 says:

    isn’t there a law that says if you receive something in the mail that you did not buy, you do not have to pay for it or return it? i believe there is, i wonder if it applies in this case.

  25. Just Peachy says:

    I couldnt resist posting. What a dumb twat for saying shit about bfing. She obviously has issues because she chose not to breastfeed or she wouldn’t be lashing out the way she did at bfing moms.

  26. thewitch says:

    ugh, please tell me she’s not on CDN.

  27. naturalmamadot says:

    god I hope not lol, I agree jen, shes a dumb twat lol

  28. Just Peachy says:

    She wouldn’t last two seconds on CDN. Not without a pair of BGPs on no way no how!

  29. thewitch says:

    I sure hope not. Congrats btw, peach. I didn’t know you were expecting. 🙂

  30. Messy says:

    I just noticed… LoonyTiffoony is now single? What did I miss? Better yet, what did her partner *catch? LOL

  31. werd says:

    WOAH Peach I didn’t realize you are preggers – CONGRATS!!

  32. noisybean says:

    Congrats Peach!

  33. DSDM2 says:

    New thread is up.

    Congratulations on the pregnancy Peachy, I missed it too 🙂

  34. Just Peachy says:

    Thanks guys! I just got my bfp the other day. With all thats gone with us as of late it completely took us by surprise. But hes excited so this bodes well for us. 🙂

  35. Messy says:

    CONGRATS PEACHY!!!

  36. žába says:

    Congrats Peach. Saw your ISO (bib sis shirt) the other day and smiled.

  37. žába says:

    err, big not bib…though maybe you need a bib shirt too LOL

  38. monkey says:

    Congrats peachy!

  39. Just Peachy says:

    LOL the bib shirt would come in handy for me cus I keep drooling over nb stuff. Doesnt help that Ive been nb shopping for a friend of mine which makes it that much harder. I swore I would not turn into one of those people who shops the minute she gets her bfp but its getting harder to hold myself to that lol.

  40. Erin says:

    #21, she said she had ordered stuff from the store before, so that’s where the WAHM got her address from.

  41. Erin says:

    Messy… where did you see that LoonyTiff is single? Interesting…. weren’t they trying to have another baby?

    Peach, congrats. I hope everything goes well for you.

  42. Messy says:

    #44 I thought they were too. It is in her siggy. “Single.”

  43. Trojane says:

    There’s a post in the sensitive subjects area of DS about Tiffany’s break-up.

  44. naturalmamadot says:

    Wow I think thats pretty odd that everyone on here told her how from everything they heard about her partner she was a raging bitch and she needs to step back and see if she should still raise her daughter in the situation.

    Im really glad that we werent talking to a brick wall and that she did have those thoughts in her head already. I may dislike her a lot but I dont wish anyone into a controlling relationship. I hope she finds happiness.

  45. Messy says:

    #47 ITA! Ya know, without all that “at home dramaz” LoonyTiffoony might lose some of her bitchy evil nasteez!!!

  46. knittingfool says:

    #25 If you recieve stuff in the mail that you didn’t order, you are under no obligation to pay for it or return it. She did actually cart the stuff but never completed the order or pay for it, so tough call. Why would anyone send out merchandise that hadn’t been paid for, though? If the woman decided she didn’t want the items and didn’t complete the transaction, I don’t think she would be obligated to pay for the stuff. Doesn’t sound like the store owner has all her ducks in row, kwim.

Leave a Reply

