So now that the $50 WAHM kits are out of stock, they’re just doing trades for their crappy crap? Can you guess who it is??

What would you do? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=750602)

stephanie23 05-23-2009 12:15 AM

What would you do?
I made a trade with someone a couple months ago, well I sent them the stuff and she had some troubles getting mine out. Part of the deal was I was supposed to get 20 unpaper towels. Today I got 7 of them (she ran out of stuff) and this is what they look like. These are not what I expected and I wonder what I should do about this. http://picasaweb.google.com/fullofin…eat=directlink

they are all different sizes dont snap together well unless snapped exactly as she sent them, have different colored snaps, and the fabric looks a little dingy.I really don’t want the stuff I sent her back because she has had them for a couple months so i imagine she has been using them. I don’t think I want the rest of the towels if they are going to look like that, so not sure how to go about solving this. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated

luvingmamma 05-23-2009 12:08 PM

Re: What would you do?
just had the EXACT SAme problem- almost looks like same flannel and trader never responded…
stephanie23 05-25-2009 10:30 PM

Re: What would you do?
I pmed her and she said to send them back on find someone else on ds to make me the unpaper towels and she could pay that person. My thing is that isnt that a bit much? Wouldn’t it be better to figure the going rate and she could pay me, and cover shipping back to her?
Comments
  1. EM says:

    I hate using WTF. But those unpaper towels call for a big fat Doubleyou Tee Eff.

    How does anyone think that those are acceptable to send out to someone?

  2. CJ says:

    I can’t see them. Picasa is not liking me. They sound bad though.

    Why would she offer to have someone else make them? Sounds like an admission of a bad product. And not even a “sorry, I rushed through those. Please let me try again”…instead she offers up the equivalent of “yes they are crap, but why don’t you find a better quality product and I’ll buy those for you”. That sounds a little odd.

  3. jeruco says:

    I dont know it is, but those things just dont match up at all.
    Perhaps she didnt prewash the fabric and they shrunk. Some shrinkage is defiantely to be expected as they are wash and washed. But that is just not okay.

  4. Romama says:

    Okay, what is an “unpaper” towel- Where I come from, we use cloth napkins or dish towels. Better yet, why would anyone, even a prospective buyer, want to see a crappy video of one lying on a table?!?

  5. Roxanna says:

    Is this some type of cruel joke?? I dont think I would put those in my dog’s cage near send them out to someone that paid for them! They look like old dingy receiving blankets. I am honestly shocked that a WAHM would send those to anyone!

  6. Kelolsen says:

    I’ve never understood unpaper towels. I have alot of laundry to do- do people really sit there and snap a roll of paper towels together? My drawer of cheap whtie bar towels works really well for me.

  7. theinvisible says:

    I’ve never understood how someone could make something like that, look it over, pack it up and send it off without ever once thinking hey maybe this shit I just sent out might not be the quality a paying customer expects. The towels aren’t even remotely the same size and the fabric itself looks like it was family cloth first. Yuck.

  8. Sharpie says:

    Wow that is redic! My DH made us some un-paper towels on our 1970’s sewing machine and his are perfect so WTF happened to hers? Maybe she and Amski are running a made with their feet business together? I can’t believe she would think those are ok to send out to someone.

  9. mamapixie says:

    Exactly Keloslen, I don’t get them either. My plain white towels and/or washcloths do the same job, and are rather cheaper than those things.

  10. amessymama says:

    I don’t think she is a WAHM. She was just a random lady that wanted to trade for some items and told the seller that she could make her unpaper towels.

    I wouldn’t let some random lady sew something for me unless I was sure she actually knew how.

    They look like old & used walmart flannel bed sheets form 1988.

  11. itsraininghere says:

    I agree, I thought they looked like they were made of used bed sheets. Notice how the pattern on some of them is different? looks like the top of a bedsheet to me.

  12. Incognizable says:

    those look like old dingy recycled flannel blankets. gross

  13. laughingmama says:

    #4 Yeah, I don’t get the whole “unpaper” towel thing either. We also call them cloth napkins and dish towels in these parts. You can go to Walmart or Target and get a huge pack of dishtowels for a fraction of the price of those “unpaper” towels. I guess the DS’ers just like to have their fancy custom made dish towels so they can brag to all their friends. Next we’ll be seeing pics of all those arranged in a pretty circle according to colors. LOL

  14. theinvisible says:

    13 That’s exactly it!

  15. newhere says:

    I have dish towels from the store, but I also have unpaper towels. I just like having pretty ones too! 😉

  16. JustPeachy says:

    I guess I can see buying unpaper towels to use for when you have guests over but Id rather just use wash cloths.

  17. Romama says:

    You can make unpaper towels without all the fuss. Just embellish prefolds or flats.

  18. CJ says:

    So, what do people use “unpaper towels” for specifically? We use all cloth in the kitchen. I have dish cloths for washing dishes and the tables, counters, etc….tea towels for drying dishes and napkins for hands… Also a few mini cloths/wipes for the little guy at the table b/c he is always a huge mess which requirs more than a dry napkin. Where do “unpaper towels” come in? What are they used for?

  19. JustPeachy says:

    Probably in place of paper towels when you have guests over? A semi casual affair perhaps?

  20. Messy says:

    Unpaper towels are different because they snap end to end togther and are the same size as paper towels. You then roll them up onto the paper towel roller. Convenient!

  21. CJ says:

    #19 & 20….,but what purpose is it replacing? I understand that it replaces paper towels but what do you use paper towels for? I don’t use them at all so I am not quite sure what the purpose is. In place of napkins? cloths?
    The pt ads tend to show moms cleaning up big spills from their children. I just use a dish cloth for that. If it’s a giant spill, I use a prefold. lol. It’s more absorbant. I guess I just don’t understand the point of paper towels, so therefore don’t understand the need for unpaper towels. (And snapping them together seems like a giant PITA. I prefer to fold my kitchen cloths and put them in baskets so they are easy to grab when needed.)

  22. hrm's mom says:

    I am with you CJ I have been wondering what unpaper towels are really for. I have seen some really cute ones but other than to say I have cute towels instead of just dish clothes and wash clothes I don’t get it.

  23. number41 says:

    Paper towels could be used to wipe up kitchen spills on the counters, stove top, inside microwave, to wash windows, to dry your hands with, as a napkin substitue…stuff like that.

  24. Messy says:

    Napkins are on the table for meals and face wiping. Paper towels are for cleaning up messes… I think the idea is to use the paper towel tube storage in unpaper ways.
    I am trying to decide if it is worth it… I have snaps now and I am freaking dying to use that damn press!!! GAH!!!

  25. CJ says:

    Okay, I think I maybe have it now! I guess that I just use our dish cloths for what the unpaper towel is for. They are crocheted and knit cloths that will last forever and are super absorbant, so I haven’t felt a need for something else.

    The only thing that I remember using pt for way back in the day was to soak up bacon fat. It was good for that. Now I just use newsprint and it works well too.

  26. Monkey says:

    We use the cheapy dishclothes too, but I do have one set of super cute unpaper towels (no snaps on mine though). I bought them to match my lunch set for work. I have a hot pink bento box, pink owls sandwich wrap/snack bags/napkin and lunch bag. It’s awesome. It was a present I bought myself last year.

  27. just_sayin says:

    I don’t get the whole unpaper towel thing either. I just use dish towels or wipes. Picasso Tums makes awesome wipes, so I have a kitchen stash. One stash of wipes for the diapers, one stash of wipes for family cloth, and one stash for the kitchen. And they are way cheaper than unpaper towels.

    Do the snaps scratch things when you wipe with them? I think that would be kind of annoying. And aren’t they just flannel or a woven? That doesn’t sound as absorbent as velour or sherpa.

  28. kukukachoo says:

    #26 – where’d ya get it? sounds fun and might help motivate me to pack my lunch more often!

  29. mamapixie says:

    Huh, I never thought of using newspaper to soak up oil for fries or bacon. Great idea! That’s the only reason I ever buy paper towels myself.

  30. jeruco says:

    Unpaper towels make a lot of sense when you consider how popular paper towels are in this country. They replace the need for paper towels. Yes, some of you never used paper towels and that is wonderful, but for many in America, they do use paper towels. I cant tell you how many “non-green” type people have come over to my house and commented on how neat the unpaper towels are. They would be willing to use them at home to replace their paper towels.
    Unpaper is also sort of a decorative item in the kitchen. They go on the paper towel holder. It takes all of a minute to snap them on the towel holder and I dont think its a big inconvience.
    I totally agree that you can use kitchen towels to wipe up messes, but the unpaper towels are always there ready to go and guest dont have to look for a towel if they need one.

    Messy- use your snap press and make some. You will love them. I have tons and we use them all the time.

  31. Munklettes says:

    I use unpaper towels because I have very limited cabinet/drawer space in my kitchen Having the upt on a roll is a space saver 🙂

Leave a Reply

