I’m so tired of people using that term all the time. It is NOT ok.

But I have to say, I love the response!

How should I mail this set??? 1.1 lbs. (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=752838&page=2)

Yesterday, 08:37 PM #12
lorel1016
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 423
Ratings: 20
Feedback: 95%
My Mood:

Re: How should I mail this set??? 1.1 lbs.

Im retarded sorry I was thinking 1.1 ounces I don’t know what I was thinking!

__________________
LXRE7124 code for $10 off diapers.com
real money from surveys and $6 bonus
<a href=”http://www.AWSurveys.com/HomeMain.cfm?RefID=lorel1016″&gt; $6.00 Welcome Survey After Free Registration!</a>

Today, 05:24 AM #13
Mama2acrew
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In a corn field town!
Posts: 2,336
Ratings: 25
Feedback: 100%
My Mood:

Re: How should I mail this set??? 1.1 lbs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lorel1016 View Post
Im retarded sorry I was thinking 1.1 ounces I don’t know what I was thinking!

It is ok! Even some people that do not have mental disabilities misunderstand stuff all the time! I commend you for your ability to work with your disabilities and still try to help others!!! Disabled people have a lot to give to society. Don’t let your handicaps hold you back!

Comments
  1. mamapixie says:

    Or any word with the ending of “tard”. Hate it with a red hot passion, and I will call people out for it.

    The response is awesome.

  2. PixieGrrl says:

    Love that response.

  3. Nita says:

    Genius response.

  4. lurker7 says:

    That was brilliant!
    That mama always seems to know what to say!

  5. hello says:

    HUGE pet peeve! Then again I was once that person (back in high school) and sometimes you have to be told that it is just not cool.

  6. Munklettes says:

    While we’re at it – stop using the word “gay” to describe something you(general you) think is stupid or dumb.

  7. screenname says:

    That was some good stuff, Messy! Almost as good as your response in the “My DH is so r*******!” thread.

  8. itsraininghere says:

    Messy – *applause*

  9. rainbow says:

    Brilliant response! And I’m with #6 – gay is not a synonym for stupid or dumb. Gah.

  10. amessymama says:

    Awesome response, messy!!!

  11. sara says:

    I love it. Yes people retard and gay are not slang.

  12. riffrafflittleman says:

    Messy, I *heart* you!!! That response rocks

  13. CJ says:

    What a great response. Did the OP respond? I wonder if they even clued in. I would go and look, but DS has been crashing IE every time that I log in. (what a surprise)

  14. j_bean says:

    I love you Messy. Great response once again.

  15. Incognizable says:

    @messy..the best response ever!

  16. alison says:

    Nice.
    🙂

  17. trollin4friends says:

    /signed

  18. lysol says:

    HAHAHA!
    Effin awesome!

  19. Me says:

    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=750320

    What is a mama in this situation still trying to conceive for?

  20. Cheesewhiz says:

    LOL…I ❤ you, Messy.

  21. Kelolsen says:

    that is the GREATEST response! Nice!! I need to remember that one! good job.

  22. naturalmamadot says:

    lmao messy, i hope she responds!

  23. Booyah says:

    ROFL! Messy you rock!

    I do say “asstard” but I consider that a conjunction of asshole and bastard, not asshole and retard.

  24. DSDM2 says:

    #19, I’m sorry, but $220 is MORE than enough to feed a family of 4 for a month.

    Where do you see her TTC?

  25. Me says:

    She has previous posts in the TTC forum.
    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/search.php?searchid=11390191
    (Granted, this one is a month old… but you don’t get in that type of situation in one month)
    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=725383

  26. nik says:

    I have never posted here but that response was enough to bring me out of Lurkdom. LOVE IT!

    And ITA with #6.

  27. JustPeachy says:

    DSDM2 I beg to differ that 221 is enough for a family of 4 for a month. I can easily spend 100 bucks on groceries to last my family of 5 for a week and I buy the cheap shit too.

  28. DSDM2 says:

    Peachy, It sucks to have to do, but I have been there and done it. I did it for 2 years at one point b/c we didn’t qualify for help.

    Beans and rice go a LONG way and are healthy. It is easy to make them in the crock pot and make different meals out of the same pot of beans…

    We used to eat beans 2 times a day.

  29. theinvisible says:

    Let’s see…I’ll bust out my scammer checklist once again. Hard luck story…check. No posts….check. Give her a minute and I’m sure something will be wrong with one of her children.

  30. JustPeachy says:

    And again I say I think its more offensive to call someone who is mentally handicapped a retard then it is to call some random dumb ass a retard.

  31. DSDM2 says:

    You have to be willing to do it. You have to be willing to eat food you don’t like and are tired of. That mom isn’t willing to do much at all.

  32. DSDM2 says:

    Man, I have a lot of judgments I want to make about that mom, lol…

    #1.) How do you NOT know your spouse has a judgment against him?

    #2.) Why aren’t you applying for more help? It is there.

    #3.) Why are you TTC?

    #4.) I love how she is playing the “christian” card, trying to get more sympathy.

    #5.) They have a FREE place to live, the parents obviously make some money or the qualification rate would be higher.

    #6.) How do the parents get to and from work? Can they take her and drop her off somewhere?

    #7.) Have DH find a new job. Min. wage is more than he is bringing in now.

    #8.) You have to be 2+ months behind on the car payment to have it repo’ed, so why the fuck are you TTC?!

  33. theinvisible says:

    As the esteemed Judge Judy says, “if it doesn’t make sense, it’s probably not true”.

  34. DSDM2 says:

    33, exactly.

  35. JustPeachy says:

    I believe it can be done but its really hard to do when you have a family of picky eaters. My middlest and me and dh will eat whatever is in the cupboard but the baby and my oldest will go hungry before they eat something they dont like :(.

  36. JustPeachy says:

    And when you are looking for a job in earnest you take what you can get. I find it hard to believe she has been looking in earnest for a job for the full 9 months. I just started seriously looking for a job recently and went back to work so something isn’t adding up.

  37. DSDM2 says:

    Peachy, you feel bad for the littles for a while, but they begin eating after a few days. I’m not an advocate of forcing a child to eat foods they don’t like, but when it is all there is, they will eat eventually. (Depends on the age of the baby too, but the oldest definitely.) Also, talk to the kids, tell them that there isn’t enough for extras, but there is enough to eat, and you have to eat what is available.

  38. insomiac says:

    awesome awesome post Messy!

    and I 100% agree with your numbered list DSDM2

  39. haha says:

    221 is plenty I feed a family of 4 (3 of which are vegan) for a little over 300 a month! And that’s paying about 9 bucks a gallon for hemp milk!

  40. nu says:

    Oh Messy—great comment!!!

    On the other mother–yeah, why not WIC? Also, why not medicaid? When we had a temparary loss of income we got food stamps ($400-fam of 3 plus I was pregnant); we also got medical. If all that is going on, yeah….that’s tough….but help is out there. DH went to every agency we could find to help with our bills—rent. It wasn’t easy, it was humbling; but looking back….we made it…maybe that’s why our upcoming situation isn’t as hard…I know what is/could happen.

    Sorry for the long post….I’m out of work in 2 weeks and not sure what is going to happen….I just know it will work out.

  41. Crazy Mama says:

    LMAO at that response!!! You need to put a warning at the top of this post, I almost snorted water out of my nose!

  42. naturalmamadot says:

    haha, being completely serious..can you email me at Dking423 AT gmail DOT com? ty

  43. JustPeachy says:

    DSDM2 I’ve explained that to her but she doesn’t care. I’ve even told my ped Im worried because as it is her diet is extremely limited. He told me years ago not to worry about it because she would eventually grow out of it but she is 8 now and has yet to grow out of it.

  44. melmelly says:

    42- My oldest is also picky as hell. I worry about how he will do when he enters school next year and has a limited amount of time to eat his lunch. But our Dr says that he is doing okay for growth and health. He could and should still eat better.

  45. tongue biter says:

    Depends a lot on where you live. We live 60 miles east of SF. Food is cheaper here than in the bay area but still way more than in many other areas. I save money by buying cheap, on sale and heavy coupon use. But I see the prices on blogs from women in other states are much lower. If there was any work here we would probably get paid more. But it is getting pretty scary out here. I applied for food stamps yesterday. 😦

  46. diudiaole says:

    I don’t think using ‘gay’ as slang is anywhere near on par w/using ‘retard’… gay has an original meaning that has nothing to do w/sexual orientation.

    And that lady sounds like she is just spamming her FSOT stuff… she should be applying for WIC or seeking out a food pantry.

  47. JustPeachy says:

    Dh assumed once she got into school and saw what her friends were eating for lunch she’d be “peer pressured” into eating what they eat. No such luck. It wouldnt be so bad if it werent for the fact she has pretty much fallen off the charts. Shes not even 4 feet tall yet and weights only 55lbs :(.

  48. nini02 says:

    Gay has another meaning, but it has nothing to do with the slang use of the word. If you get right down to it, retard has another meaning too – to slow or prevent, like in fire retardant. I can’t stand either one used as slang.

  49. nini02 says:

    I finally made it all the way through that ‘I’m going to explode’ thread. Crazy. All her complaints, and she is looking to get a second car as soon as they have income? And not just buy a cheap-o cash car, but put a *down payment* on a car. Yah, it sounds like a car payment is just what they need.

  50. JustPeachy says:

    We applied months ago so dont feel bad. The only reason we aren’t on it now is because right when we got our paper work our taxes hit the bank. Now dh has to reapply again btu Im holding out to see where we are at once I get my first paycheck and he goes back to work soon. Its sad that more and more people are having to resort to federal assistance:(

  51. JustPeachy says:

    Oh yes because when you are just getting out of a financial jam the first thing to do is spend $$$ on a car.

  52. adensmama says:

    I will laugh when it gets repoed and she posts about it and everyone is like “oh, poor you! it must be everyone else’s fault!”

    She is just so freakin dumb I can’t stand it anymore. I wanted to tell her to go park her box outside the school and then her boyfriend can use the car to get a job that isn’t on the 3rd shift. I mean, are you fucking kidding me? He’s looking for THIRD SHIFTS ONLY and she is complaining that he can’t find a job!?

  53. diudiaole says:

    Did you see that KeepYourBabyClose post — her food budget is $150 per month and she would be ‘thrilled’ to be able to increase it?? … yet she has a store selling Meitais for over $60 a pop… doesn’t add up to me… I am considered below the poverty level w/my three kids and I spend considerably more than that on food each month.

  54. adensmama says:

    #52 I don’t even know how that is possible? I could spend that much on food for a WEEK!

    Idk maybe her husband is unemployed or something and they have to use the money from her store to cover bills?

  55. diudiaole says:

    #53 — yeah but then you would think they could qualify for government assistance, right? I guess if you lived off ramen noodles, Walmart eggs, rice, beans, oatmeal and tap water you would survive. $150 though.. like $37 a week!

  56. diudiaole says:

    What about her babies though.. god I hope she is on WIC and the $150 is in addition to that!!

  57. diudiaole says:

    Hmmm there are some women who *really* know how to use coupons though. I have been on those coupon clipper sites trying to figure it out, but I just can’t seem to keep up with it for more than a couple of weeks at a time.

  58. adensmama says:

    Honestly…I kind of feel embarrassed about how much money I spend. I see all these people struggling and I know I’m getting out of the military this winter. I’m not looking forward to being on a budget 😦

    We definitely need to stop eating out that much, that is our main problem.

  59. diudiaole says:

    #57 — I cringe thinking how much I spent on eating out back at DLI… Carmel/Monterey just has so many wonderful restaurants.. it is 100X easier to resist here in Louisiana.

    I also need to build up a better pantry and stop paying for convenience(ie boneless chicken breast tenderloins vs whole chicken).

  60. diudiaole says:

    oops that was for #58

  61. DSDM2 says:

    retard in french means late/slowly… fyi.

  62. hrm's mom says:

    it is so possible to feed your family on less. DH and I shop at Save a lot and Aldis and find great finds. If you but the reduced items you can save more! Of course there are only three of us but still we try to save money when we can.

  63. Me says:

    Did you see that KeepYourBabyClose post — her food budget is $150 per month and she would be ‘thrilled’ to be able to increase it?? … yet she has a store selling Meitais for over $60 a pop… doesn’t add up to me… I am considered below the poverty level w/my three kids and I spend considerably more than that on food each month.
    _____________-

    Yes, my food budget is $150 a month. I am able to feed my family of 4 on it without issues. It would be great to have more, but it just doesn’t work out that way for us (at least not while I’m in school and am a WAHM).

  64. adensmama says:

    Oh…military hater thread finally got closed.

  65. Me says:

    What about her babies though.. god I hope she is on WIC and the $150 is in addition to that!!
    ____________

    No WIC, no assistance. My store money covers the mortgage, and my mom’s rent (she has cancer-can’t work, and is a single mom).

    Please, don’t concern yourself with my babies. They eat well.

  66. adensmama says:

    #65, I didn’t know that was you…I am honestly curious at how you get by on that food budget!!! Do you do coupons for everything? We are going to be on a tighter budget when I get out so that’s why I’m wondering.

  67. Me says:

    Teehee, I wasn’t sure I wanted to “out” myself since this as my first day posting on this blog. Figured I better after that though.

    I don’t use coupons for anything actually. We eat what’s on sale. Cereal and toast for breakfast, sandwiches and fruit for lunch. Supper is usually meat, potatos, and another veggie. (For example, tonight we had BBQ chicken breasts, potatos, and corn. The chicken was on sale for memorial day for $1.89 a pound, the potatos were maybe $.50 worth, and the corn is $.40 a can. So our meal was under $3, and I have enough food left over for my 21 month old and I to have tomorrow.

    We DON’T eat organic (that’s what I really wish we had more money for!), and that’s our tradeoff.

    We buy sale stuff at our local grocery store (usually meats from there) and canned stuff at Aldis. We try to buy fruits and veggies at the local farmer’s market.

    It can be done, if you’re willing to eat what’s on sale 🙂 We had a higher food budget (around $200-250), but when mom got sick with breast cancer I had to start covering her rent, and it’s been a struggle every month since I need to pay our own bills with my WAHM income.

  68. DSDM2 says:

    You have to plan ahead, like 2-4 weeks of food at the same time.

    You prepare batches of food that you can freeze and heat later.

    Beans and brown rice are GREAT. You can make chili one night, then tacos, then enchiladas, etc. all out of one batch.

    Meat is no longer a daily or even every other day food, we ate it once a week.

    Fresh veggies aren’t “Affordable” either, you need to buy frozen when on sale.

    Shop at Aldis, Save-a-lot etc. Watch different store fliers, take them to walmart where they price match. Powdered milk. Use CVS deals b/c most of your toiletries will be free that way. Use cloth everything for wipes/tp/paper towels/etc.

    Watch your serving size, not the children’s, but yours. if you eat too much, then that is money out of your pockets.

  69. hrm's mom says:

    that is exactly what we do. We also garden in the summer and can or freeze a lot of stuff this helps us greatly!!

  70. Megan says:

    Aaaah, Cassie’s always good for a snappy quip when people pull that one. Good on her.

    Now, to go back and read the other 67 comments that likely have nothing to do with the OP. 😉

  71. kukukachoo says:

    Aw Snap- I just had to get a little nasty in the homeschool thread. I’m TuthGuru on DS, by the way:

    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showpost.php?p=7391558&postcount=103

  72. adensmama says:

    We do buy large amounts of ground beef/chicken that we divide up and freeze. Most of the time when I make stuff at home it’s pretty cheap, like spaghetti, beef stroganoff, etc.

    Right now I think the problem is that we are so busy with work and military stuff (and my WAHM stuff) that we are lazy and we end up going out to eat way too much. And whenever I buy a lot of stuff in advance we don’t end up eating it 😦 I know the whole eating out thing is going to have to stop when I get out though. But then again I will be home a lot more and I think it will be easier to go grocery shopping and prepare dinner and stuff.
    My friend suggested that we live on his DF’s salary for a couple months to see how it goes, and put mine in savings. I thought that was a pretty good idea, it makes me nervous!

  73. adensmama says:

    Oh, and I will have *some* money. The GI Bill, and I’m joining the Air National Guard which will give me extra money for the GI Bill plus money from drill. And then I get child support from ex-DH and hopefully I sell some diapers. So we won’t be totally on one income, I would feel so guilty since my truck isn’t paid off or anything.

  74. magpiedpiper says:

    I feed Dh and I for $30, sometimes $35 a week, and he eats enough for two adult people. If I made him eat normal portions (which I should since it’s healthier anyway) it would be less. And we eat good meat, lots of veggies, whole grains, and even some splurge items, have leftovers, good deli lunchmeat, etc. And we stockpile. I just coupon like crazy and shop sales. If I needed to cut down further, I absolutely could shave $10 a week off too.

    So it really is possible!

  75. hrm's mom says:

    magpiedpiper your dh must eat like mine!

  76. diudiaole says:

    #65 — if anyone posts about their family only having $150 per month in food, I will wonder about how everyone is eating, especially any babies. Good for you for getting by OK on that and I am sorry to hear about your mother.

  77. werd says:

    The 3 of us eat for under $200 a month. And I’m pregnant and a bottomless pit, too LOL. We do almost all our shopping at Aldi and I’m pretty strict about what we buy – no junk. We snack on cereal. I have my first WIC appointment tomorrow just to supplement us and make things a little easier.

    And UGH WHY does that military psycho’s thread have to be closed?! She is completely WRONG about Springer Rage Syndrome – frankly I don’t believe she has any animal training at all. FYI an ESS doesn’t have to be dead for them to diagnose Springer Rage – that is rabies. Springer Rage symptoms include: dialation of pupils, seizure-like posturing/behavior, urination, stiff-legged gait, inability to focus on anything else while attacking, attacking without being provoked in any way, etc.

    Fucking moron. UGH.

  78. Nic says:

    Thank you kukukachoo! I was going to PM you and thank you (I’m nm45832), I’ve been having a great discussion with most of the women on that thread, and then OP comes back with her ignorant dumb ass comments!

  79. Messy says:

    I have been gone all day… Gotta catch up on stuff… But I am so sick of seeing people use “retard” like this. Then to say oops is even worse because it is not a typo, it is a conscious thought to type it out and throw it around. The “gay” thing irritates me too! Grrr… Now, I gotta catch up! I hate when I miss a good drama day!!!

  80. JustPeachy says:

    I need one of you bargain savvy ladies to shop with me because I can just barely get enough to last a week. We don’t eat meat much anymore because its too darn expensive.
    I admit we eat out alot but its fast food type stuff and its cheaper to eat fast food then buy from the grocery store. Its insane that its like that around here but it is.

  81. DSDM2 says:

    You think it is b/c you are looking at it one meal at a time and not planning ahead. But if you plan ahead, you are talking $5 or less a meal (with leftovers).

  82. jakesmom says:

    Boy state to state food stamp allowences must sure be a lot diffrent for a family of two we get almost $350 per month.

  83. Messy says:

    I can feed our family of 8 (usually with 2 nonpaying extras for dinner) for about $300 a month. There are areas I could cut back further on, but don’t. I have little containers that I splurged on from the Dollar Tree that allow me to take a huge bulk bag of cereal and divide it into serving sizes with lids so they kids don’t over eat (I swear to you, some of my boys would eat cereal out of a mixing bowl if given the chance!!!)
    I buy huge bulk cans of fruit and generic boxes of jello and in smaller containers I make jello/fruit deserts in bulk. I also buy huge cans of bulk apple sauce and put them in the lidded serving size containers. They are just like the single serving stuff you buy in the store except the containers are washable 🙂 I have several different sizes. It was cheap to buy them and they have lasted over a year with heavy use.
    We eat beans and cornbread every 4 or 5 days when things are tight. Toasted cheese and tomato soup are a favorite here and the kids ask for this even when we are not broke as badly.
    There are so many ways to stretch and tweak a food budget. I am wanting to start using more coupons to see how much better I could do. Also, I will have my own garden and be back to canning this year. We love to can! I also put up a lot of veggies in the freezer. Even having one or two pepper plants would be able to be cut up and frozen for use all year long (thus saving 2 arms and 3 legs on the rising costs of pepper!!!) GAH!!!

  84. screenname says:

    Check out afullcup.com for couponing tips. You can go to the forum and see the stores near you. They match up sales with coupons for you. I’ve saved so much money since I started to coupon. I’m even one of those nerdy couponers with a binder. lol

  85. nik says:

    I know this is kind of OT but can I ask a question about couponing?

    I tried it, but I already buy all generics except for some things that I just CANT compromise on, like peanut butter. All the coupons are for brand name things and usually the generic is cheaper even when coupons are doubled, etc.

    So how the heck can I cut back more? We spend about $500/month on groceries for only 3 people and I just cant figure out how to cut back.

  86. screenname says:

    Combine the sales and the coupons. I got sixteen jars of Jif peanut butter for $.40 each during one of the sales. I have a freezer full of frozen veggies that were free after doubling $.50 coupons during 10/$10 sales. I have 20 tubes of toothpaste that were on sale for $1 and had $1 off coupons.

    I check AFC every week for match ups. If something is really good (like the toothpaste) then I’ll order more coupons off ebay. I fill out surveys for pinecone research, so I usually have $3 in my paypal for coupons. There are some things you can never go wrong on, like Aunt Millie’s bread at Meijer. It’s always on sale for $1 – $1.50 and there are usually coupons for $.35 that double. I haven’t paid over $1 for a loaf of bread since Feb when I started to coupon.

    Since I’ve started to coupon, I generally save about 50% off my grocery bill. And I feel that we eat pretty well. When we save money on staples then we can spend more on produce and meat.

  87. screenname says:

    OMG, I just showed my crazy. lol

  88. naturalmamadot says:

    lol I cant find any coupons on all natural or organic stuff, which is a bummer does anyone know of a place for those type things? Im on a full cup but I should search on there to see.
    Food just keeps getting more expensive, I can SOMETIMES make 400 bucks last 3 weeks if I dont eat much during the day and crock pot for dinner every day, it tastes good and is cheaper but definitely could be even cheaper if I could find coupons for the products I buy.

    I have to go grocery shopping tonight lovely lol we actually didn’t even go for the last week and a half and have been eating random stuff haha as long as the lil one has food I’m happy, and he isn’t much of an eater so his stuff lasts forever.

    I don’t know if she hasn’t been back, or if she didn’t see it buuuut :

    HAHA…can you pretty please email me? So you don’t have to look for the post..Dking423 AT gmail DOT com !! ty so much in advance!

    Oh and I do plan ahead, i have 2 or 3 weeks of stuff planned out and the only reason we really buy meat is because my dad likes it lol, we never eat out and don’t buy junk, pop, chips or sweets, and normally no individually packaged things unless its unavoidable.

    the other prob is that my dad is willing to spend more to go to kroger because its only about 5 minutes away and they have the hummus I eat, rather than go to meijers about 10 min away and wed just have to drop by kroger for the hummus and apples (meijers doesnt always have organic apples) even though meijers is way cheaper for other stuff lol, I need a car really bad so I can run down to kroger for the other stuff

  89. naturalmamadot says:

    okay you showed your crazy, i showed my stupid…i swear i searched on a full cup before….buti just did again and did find pages of organic/natural coupons illh ave to lookthrough them all…haha im still interested in hearing from you though 🙂 thanks

  90. werd says:

    FYI – Lee also owns a full cup 😦

    I buy all generic, store-brand stuff. We just got WIC (holy cow, they give out a lot of milk and eggs!) so that will help immensely. I also shop every week instead of every 2 weeks (DH gets paid bi-weekly) because things are less likely to go bad or get forgotten about. We usually spend about $45-50 a week.

  91. screenname says:

    Does he? Dammit. Although there isn’t much drama to speak of over there. At least I haven’t seen any.

    I picked up quite a few coupons at Kroger for natural/organic foods.

    Have you tried to make your own hummus? We get stuff like bulgur (tabbouleh) and dry chickpeas and tahini at a local international store for roughly half of what Meijer or Kroger charges. And next month when the garden starts giving us tomatoes…MMMMMM!!!!

    Some WIC programs also have vouchers for local farm markets.

  92. naturalmamadot says:

    Yea Ive tried making my own hummus I am the pickiest eater known to man, Im one of those ppl that would just waste away if the food was limited to things I didnt like haha, luckily I like healthy things and most cheap things like beans and rich and stuff.

    I dont qualify for WIC (groan), which sucks because i love going to the farmers market and if i could get vouchers id be in love lol. The last time I went to wic we had an umm issue lol I found out I didnt qualify anyways but the local one is enough to make it so I would rather move and apply at a dif office than ever go back there lol. I will only go with friends to stand up to the ppl with them *eyeroll*

  93. naturalmamadot says:

    I was thinking of trying some dif recipes for hummus, i tend to only like lemon and only this one brand lol but if oy have any you love,id be totally willing to try them

  94. diudiaole says:

    I’m going to try the couponing thing again… I’m recovered from giving birth and all now so I really can invest a little more time in planning out meals than I do, can’t believe my once tiny little newborn is almost 3 months old!!

    I wish I had money to get more organics… I do go for organic rice, and avoid MSG and HFCS when I can and organic milk for what WIC doesn’t cover(WIC is so nice to have even though we don’t get any veggie vouchers)… I rarely eat beans as legumes seriously don’t agree w/me although I love them.

  95. JustPeachy says:

    screenname try Krogers if you have one. I have always found their bread prices are cheaper then Meijers. Meijers does have better prices on meats but the nearest one is 7 miles away so what I save on meat I spend on gas.
    Anyone save money buying in bulk at like Sam’s Club?

  96. screenname says:

    The mama from 19 is going to start an embroidery business! Just goes to show: you don’t need talent, experience or know how. All you need is a machine.

    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showpost.php?p=7398379&postcount=43

  97. theinvisible says:

    Besides, it’s easier to just have people send you their diapers and such instead of having to go through the whole FSOT scamming mess….

  98. nik says:

    I have made my own humuus. You have to be really careful with the tahini–too much and it tastes like a nut butter and not enough and all you taste is chickpea.

  99. diudiaole says:

    #96 yikes! and if she messes up, what then? She should start practicing by embroidering cheap prefolds or something and selling the ones that turn out ok.

  100. screenname says:

    99 – Practice? No need to practice! She has access to a machine. That’s all you need!

    Let’s see. Taking into account the time it will take for someone to fall for it, send someone with few posts and no feedback diapers and paypal, wait forever for return shipping, email a few times to check on progress…we’ll be seeing a post about this in August. Either a “I sent my dipes to the spa and they never came back” or a “Can you believe what she did to my diapers?”.

  101. JustPeachy says:

    She is a real piece of work.

  102. amessymama says:

    Yeah, I’m going to send you my clothes/diapers and pay you $10 to rip me off.

    People are going to do it, though. Remember the ISO thread “send me your diapers that need fixed”? Idiot said she needs practice fixing diapers so she’ll fix em all for free. Right. How dumb do you have to be to fall for something like that? You deserve to be scammed if you do.

  103. Meghan says:

    I make my own hummus from dried chickpeas- well, my version anyways. I soak the beans over night, cook them until soft, saute garlic in a little olive oil (crucial step!) , throw both the garlic and the oil in,add salt and a tad of sesame oil (tahini is too expensive!) and a little lemon juice. Then if it’s too thick I add a little water, and it’s awesome. My other cheap cheap snack idea is popcorn made on the stove for a snack. So good and yummy, so incredibly cheap.

  104. diudiaole says:

    I have had a jar of organic raw tahini sitting in my pantry for almost a year… I have just been meaning to buy chick peas and never remember… I wonder if it is still good 😐

  105. diudiaole says:

    checked “best by date” and says 3/09.. crap.

  106. number41 says:

    I’m am in AWE of the low amounts of money spent on groceries! One recent month, for my family of six we spent over $1200! Craziness!

  107. Messy says:

    #96 I was coming to comment on her!!! OMG she is FREAKING CRAZY AS HELL!!! All of a sudden it is her mom that is doing the work for her for free professionally… RIGGGHHHTTT… I was trying to help her out; but no I am the bitch. GAH! I hate stupid people that think WAHMing is a walk in the park for free money.

  108. diudiaole says:

    #106 — just on groceries? Well, there are 5 of us, but the baby eats no food yet(only 3 months old) plus two are only 3 years old and I spend about $450-$500 per month.. if I am really careful and try to use some coupons or hit sales I know I could keep it around $300… but I love making sushi and eating organic meats and veggies…

    Still if there were 6 adult sized stomachs here eating, I could see spending $1200 if we weren’t careful

  109. Messy says:

    #106 & 108 I can/could/have done it easily! With our kids, before dh lost his excellent paying job, we spend a raging fortune on food. Now, they eat healthier and I spend less. So, I guess it is all good in the end 🙂

  110. diudiaole says:

    #109 — sorry to hear about your dh’s job, Messy… seems like almost everyone has either lost the job or had the hours cut back.

    All the bills get paid and there is good food to enjoy, but we have zero in savings and we rent. I’m going to try better with the couponing… if I can shave off $100 or more on the food bill w/out sacrificing quality, that could be the start of a savings account… add decluttering to the list.. I have a bunch of things I should sell on ebay. I need to get motivated… need coffee… lol

  111. Messy says:

    #110 No, he has been out of work for almost 2 years. The company is putting the guys through college though, so it is going to put him in a better position in the end. So, it is ok. It’s impossible to get a job paying half what he was without a college degree and the company recognized that. The guys all get unemployment for however many years and free college. Can’t complain!!! It is all good…

  112. diudiaole says:

    Oh ok, well that doesn’t sound too bad at all…. then when he’s back making the big $ again, you’ll be able to really save . 🙂

  113. Messy says:

    #112 When he is making decent money again, I will be too far in shock to save! ROFL! Seriously, I will go on a shopping spree for all new clothes (at goodwill for me~ love that place but dammit, I will shop in the *Boutique* area of goodwill then!!! WOOFREAKINHOOHOO!!!). And back to name brand thin spaghetti noodles we will go! ROFLMAO!
    Actually things are ok here. We have tight times, but in general it is all good. I have 2 classes with dh this semester and ummm I am so out of my element in the shop. The other 2 classes are in the shop but without him… WTF was I thinking???

  114. number41 says:

    Diudiaole, yes $1200 just on food. Two of my children are well into their teen years and have appetites to prove it LOL

  115. Meghan says:

    diudiaole–I would totally eat tahini that said best by 3-09. It’s not an expiration date if it says best by, it’s more of a recommendation.

Leave a Reply

