What makes a knit item just good or GREAT? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=728522)

View Poll Results: What is the most important thing you look for in knitted wool?
No mistakes what so ever 9 56.25%
No holes 12 75.00%
even legs 11 68.75%
beautiful colors 11 68.75%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 16. You may not vote on this poll

Thread Tool vbmenu_register(“threadtools”) Display Mode vbmenu_register(“displaymodes”
Old 04-24-2009, 01:31 PM
amberbamber311's Avatar
amberbamber311 vbmenu_register(“postmenu_7053935”, true);
yymn customs coming soon!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Central Arkansas
Posts: 822

What makes a knit item just good or GREAT?

Im a new to knitting and doing tester rounds right now and all you wool lovers out there need to help me make my knitting great. So what do you look for in great knit wool? What makes it wonderful? I know the colorway is important, what else?

__________________

Ummm… ALL OF THE ABOVE!! HELLO!! If I am paying for good yarn and the knitting, I better be getting all the above!

Just another example of one of those “I have yarn and some needles ‘WAHM’ (aka anyone with a machine or what-have you WAHMs)”

Comments
  1. Monkey says:

    I agree. You should be able to do ALL of those things if you want me to pay for it!

  2. Grogwench says:

    I hope all the ds’ers put her straight about what’s expected. Or, did they blow rainbows and bunnies her way and tell her what she wants to hear.

  3. AshleyB says:

    How much is she charging? I really hope it’s FFS AND her yarn if she’s going to knit stuff up with uneven legs & holes. Wow!!

  4. DramaBore says:

    Yeah, she is nuts. I saw she was posting in the craft forum wondering why the last stitch of her cast-off was funny…

  5. Booyah says:

    Aw shucks, I don’t mind if it has holes, uneven legs, or crappy stitching as long as the colorway is pretty!!!

    /joke

  6. JustPeachy says:

    #4 thats a tricky one I will even admit. Since you knit in a spiral the last stitch will be slightly higher at BO then the first stitch in the last round. Its really weird and honestly I just now found a good way around the unevenness.
    And I completely agree that all of the above is to be expected especially if someone is paying for it.

  7. yikes says:

    yeah – I thought this poll was pretty horrendous. Just because you learned to knit last week does NOT mean that you can sell it!

  8. DramaBore says:

    #6 – I know it is tricky, but all you have to do is search the interwebz. Plus, I wouldn’t even consider selling something if I wasn’t happy with the result – she should have asked for help before testing.

  9. screenname says:

    #8 – Exactly. I wonder what her testers would think seeing that poll. I wouldn’t even test for someone who wasn’t sure if she could knit without leaving holes.

    This is the same mama from about a month ago who was asking how much to charge for embellished garage sale jeans. The legs on those weren’t even either.

  10. itsraininghere says:

    not amberbamberbabyfluff. . . ugh. she’s on par with acryllic-granny-blankie sewing lady and yettebums. it’s just sad.

  11. The ORIGINAL Just Me says:

    LMAO!!

  12. yikes says:

    Hey, look – the granny blankie trend is catching on:

    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=730314

  13. diudiaole says:

    I thought that thread was a joke when I saw it…. LOL

  14. Incognizable says:

    ya’ll get your yarn ready..she’s doing round 2

    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=709542&highlight=yymn+test

    notice how she hasn’t even responded in her own poll…..bleh

  15. yikes says:

    I love how purling is considered a “crazy” stitch…..

  16. Messy says:

    Ok, what is wrong with the legs on that fall colored pair of shorties??? From the front they look a bit strange but from the back they look weird. There is a raised spot around each leg???
    She needs to work on her stuff before charging what some really great knitters charge for YYMN.

  17. Messy says:

    CLOSER LOOK! Third pick down! She accidentally did several rows in garter stitch! That is what is wrong! Only on the back, not the front. How can she not notice those are fuckered up?
    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=709542&highlight=yymn+test

  18. Messy says:

    *pic, not pick. ugh.

  19. yikes says:

    perhaps that’s the “crazy textured effect”? They’re no silly stripes, that’s for sure!

  20. DramaBore says:

    I love how she calls scrappies “junkies”! “Junkies for your chunkies”. Ugh.

  21. I’m thinking that’s the “textured” effect… but definitely not silly stripes. Not BAD work, but she could use a few pointers.

  22. Messy says:

    #22 Textured effect for the back only? The fuckered up rows are only across the back of the legs. Not all they way around.

  23. hrm's mom says:

    well the textured effect is on both legs, haha!

  24. Messy says:

    Another case of “have sewing machine =WAHM”. I would be pizzed!!!

    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=730806

  25. 23… 2 different pairs. Look at the trim.

  26. screenname says:

    Junkies for your chunkies? Sounds a little pink cookie-ish to me.

  27. Cheesewhiz says:

    That’s SO weird. I totally look for holes and uneven legs on my junkies. I just don’t get people.

  28. amessymama says:

    I would totally take a pair of longies with holes. My limit is 3 holes though. One for her waist and two for her legs. 😀

  29. Cheesewhiz says:

    #29 – ROFL!!! Good one!!!

  30. Lynn says:

    The problem is, she had round 1 testers, and NONE OF THEM FIT. She posted another thread, asking why when she followed the pattern, it didn’t fit; she had no idea what gauge was.

  31. JustPeachy says:

    Wait what??????? She didn’t think to do a swatch to make sure she was getting the correct amount of stitches per inch???? Ummmmmmm then Id say her knitting for others is a bit presumptuous.

  32. GMLovah! #1 Fan says:

    As a knitting WAHM who knit for 5 FREAKING YEARS before I sold anything, I get pretty peeved when people bust out one item and then think they’re good to go on selling.

  33. amessymama says:

    34-Just think, you could have started selling 4 years and 10 month sooner. Just like Amerbamber did.

    Hey, I just thought of something. When I was 10, someone taught me how to crochet a chain. That’s as far as I got. When should I start my Crochet longies tester thread @ DS.

  34. theinvisible says:

    2 months. wow. that’s all.

  35. Messy says:

    Wow! For 2 months I have been treating my pregnant dog. Does that automatically make me the Dog Whisperer or a vet? Hell, for nearly 20 years I have been treating my sick kids at home… When dd#1 was 2 months old, I must have been a nurse; now 19 years later I am a freaking neurosurgeon (they had headaches occassionally)!!! I am seriously underpaid 😦 Anyone wanna voluteer to be my tester for my new brain surgeon idea?

  36. R says:

    Lol…I was just laughing about those straight-from-Arkansas jean outfits she sells the other day. I’m so glad you found her.

  37. me says:

    Even if you do a swatch, wouldn’t you MEASURE to make sure they are right? Why just ship out? I don’t understand that thinking.

  38. Crazy Mama says:

    “Wow, your child’s left pants leg is about two inches longer than the right. And what are all of the holes for, extra ventilation?”

    “I dunno, but who cares! Look at those rockin’ colors!”

    Yep.

  39. GMLovah! #1 Fan says:

    Well she “caught on really fast” so I guess it’s all good then.

  40. JHA says:

    These bandwagon “WAHMs” drive me nuts!!! While I am a new WAHM, I have been knitting and sewing for years. Sure, I picked things up quickly, but I never would have thought to try and sell anything before my skills were properly honed.

Leave a Reply

