Media Mail??? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=728342)

marjen 04-24-2009 09:58 AM

Media Mail???
I have been waiting on some diapers for 3 weeks now. I paid on April 2nd, and the seller said they would be mailed no later than that Saturday (which would have been April 4th). I still haven’t received them, so I checked in paypal. It says they were shipped April 9th (which I think she should have told me)…and it was shipped Media Mail. I thought that was only for dvd’s, cd’s, etc? I know it is a lot cheaper than regular shipping. Is this something I should address? She hasn’t responded to any of my pm’s or emails since the day I paid.

Thanks for the help 🙂

My Sweet Blessings 04-24-2009 11:22 AM

Re: Media Mail???
I wouldn’t jump to the conclusion that the seller knew she was doing something illegal. Believe it or not, not everyone realizes you aren’t suppose to do that. There are a lot of things people don’t realize they aren’t suppose to be doing until someone points it out (like flipping priority mailers inside out). I would give the seller the benefit of the doubt and just give her a heads up about it.

But, yeah, what everyone else has said. SInce it was mailed media, it’s going to take a while to reach you. If they intercept, you’ll have to pay. If you DO end up having to pay, you need to get that mama refund you the difference. You should not be help responsible for additional charges because she didn’t send it the right way.

Is it really that hard to understand that MEDIA mail is for MEDIA?? And diapers are surprisingly, not MEDIA??
Comments
  1. flatcake says:

    Yet more shipping drama: http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=727445

    This woman wants to blame everyone else but herself. I’d bet she never sent the packages out and needed an excuse for the delay.

  2. Sharpie says:

    Yes, yes they are!

    Glad we cleared that one up.

  3. werd says:

    I’ll admit when I was super new to shipping, I didn’t understand a lot. But sending a diaper Media Mail? At my PO they specifically ask you if its a cd, video, manuscript, etc. DUH!

  4. Rain Cloud says:

    We have a winner of the dumb and dumber award!

  5. Jenn says:

    hmmm..my MIL ships everything larger than a letter/card by media mail…maybe I should report her since she’s a hateful bitch and all

  6. OMG who would have thought its not just men that dont read directions! LOL

  7. Bloggitybloggity says:

    My DH is uber smart… but he didn’t understand that media mail was only for M.E.D.I.A.

    lol

    He’s a man, that’s his excuse. Thankfully for him: I am able to comprehend the many intricacies of the USPS. Also, thankfully for most of his ebay buyers: he usually is selling and shipping media… so his ignorance wasn’t THAT big of a deal.

    But yeah, some people really are that stupid. (Some are stupider, in fact.)

    I know there is a mama selling dipes (or wool, was it… I can’t remember) on DS and in her listing she stated that she shipped Media mail unless otherwise instructed, as that’s the cheapest method possible. I was gonna PM her and offer her a little advice on how to ship her stuff… but the window got closed before I could get around to it.

    Now that mama is blissfully unaware of her fubar… and I feel the weight of guilt for not using my superior intellect to educate a less-fortunate woman.

    Oh wait. No I don’t.

    Oh wells 😉

    Methinks that this should be offered as a PSA on the T&F forum over there… but I’m too lazy to do it. Any takers?

  8. not just another mama says:

    I sent a package media mail once. It was a TON of clothes, and the mama was very low on funds.. So she agreed. It actually got to her in about 4 days. So I was glad I didn’t pay the extra 7 bucks for the regular shipping..

    I’m an awful law breaker.. but the USPS fucking blows.

  9. AshleyB says:

    Media mail to mail diapers hua? The best will be when it arrives and it’s in an inside out priority mailer mailed media!!

  10. Cheesewhiz says:

    I would never have thought of shipping diapers media mail, until I was trying to sell a bunch of prefolds – a mama contacted me saying she wanted them and it would be cheaper to send media mail…??? We emailed back and forth and after I gave her my PP addy, she disapeared….ugh.

  11. Kate says:

    I am pretty sure when I first sold a diaper I sent it Media mail because it was cheapest. It was shortly after that I received a book in the mail via media mail that it clicked and I have never done it again. So yes you can be dumb like that.

Leave a Reply

