seahawk 04-13-2009 09:56 PM

funny church sign
I don’t usually like the fire and brimstone messages from churches, but this one made me laugh, so I thought I’d share. This is on a church in a small town close to us.

eljube112 04-15-2009 05:16 PM

Re: funny church sign
maybe it’s only funny if you’re not going to hell? :headscratch:

I happen to think it’s quite amusing! :thumbsup:

Samandy 04-15-2009 05:29 PM

Re: funny church sign
Quote:

Originally Posted by eljube112 (Post 6956066)
maybe it’s only funny if you’re not going to hell? :headscratch:

I happen to think it’s quite amusing! :thumbsup:


Are you trying to say everyone who doesn’t think it’s funny is going to hell?

And you wonder why so many people sick of this type of religion.

Samandy 04-15-2009 05:50 PM

Re: funny church sign
Quote:

Originally Posted by eljube112 (Post 6956219)
it seems like people are equating not funny with fear tactic. It’s only a fear tactic if you are scared of it, and you would only be scared of it if you had somethign to be scared about…that’s all I’m saying.

It’s not funny because so many religions use this fear to indoctrinate small children who don’t understand any better. I know god isn’t real, I know there is no hell, so these tactics don’t work on me, but I have seen many people who do struggle because they were brainwashed as children, perpetuating these ideas only hurt more people, and I don’t think it’s right to find amusement in that. If you have to resort to fear in order to get people to believe what you believe than perhaps your message wasn’t that strong to begin with, that’s all I’m saying.

Don’t normally post about religion, but… Ouch! That’s all I’m saying.

Comments
  1. Monkey says:

    Wow. I’m an atheist and I find that a bit much.

    The sign is funny though.

  2. screenname says:

    Hit a nerve, much?

  3. StacEy says:

    yikes.

  4. DSDM2 says:

    mmm. that’s a big-ole can of worms.

  5. haha says:

    LMAO. I LOVE the sign. And holy crap I keep forgetting that on DS sense of humors are non existent.

  6. Jakers says:

    well said drama mama, well said

  7. werd says:

    oh good lord. The churches in this area all have those kitchy signs and I’d definitely rather see that then THOU SHALT BURN IN THE FIREY PITS OF HELL if you don’t attend service 10am Sunday. Is it me or do religious hack jobs and cloth diapering tend to go hand in hand?!

  8. randomacts says:

    I was one of those indoctrinated kids, and I think that sign is funny. Talk about making a mountain out of a mole hill.

  9. Funneh says:

    Werd – I’ve noticed that most cloth diaperers are either religious nutsos or nazi hippies (huh, that’s kind of an oxymoron, isn’t it?). Why is that?

    And I think the sign is kind of funny. LOL @ all the people getting butthurt about it.

  10. mmspirit7 says:

    hey check out threads on the news board People get bent out of shape about a lot…and yeah maybe I did too. I posted on the thread I thought there was a double standard after crap I got on tues.

  11. noisybean says:

    Wow, somebody got her pink cookies burnt in the oven this morning. That sign is pretty damn funny.

  12. mmspirit7 says:

    OK mama’s,

    lets go on a walk….walk with me. you are on DS and in a thread about pagans and a comment the pope made. the op is called out for being a toll and anti christian because she posted the article and other mama’s come and talk and go off topic and then there is this.

    “I forgot to say…..

    Congrats to the former pagan mama’s who are now Christian!!”

    Because there are two mama’s that post that they are no longer pagan and now christan…yet I find this offensive to be posted in the post that it was…feel it should have been left to pms. and feel that it is wrong. What do you ladies think.

  13. mmspirit7 says:

    mama’s never mind mixed up posters i still think it was uncalled for but oh well

  14. The Original Ashley says:

    I think that sign is pretty freaking funny.

  15. theinvisible says:

    I don’t care who’s going to heaven or hell or how to get there. Spirituality is not for posting on a diaper board. I also would have posted that without thinking twice…because its funny. Anyone who can find an in on a post that allows them to create some drama now takes the opportunity at DS. I like black cats…well, you didn’t mention orange ones…I dont’ like orange ones….I feel that you might be excluding them because you are a cat racist. Yeah! Boo! Ban her! It’s so dramarific at this point it has ceased to be informative.

  16. an AK mama says:

    #7 I’m a Hippie Christian Conservative. I’m a total misfit. πŸ˜‰

  17. janell says:

    people need to get their panties out of a wad. Its just a freakin sign. It happens to be funny. If it offends you dont look at it, dont read it, don’t post about, move on and avoid the panty weggie. geez… Get a life people. Its JUST A SIGN!

  18. JustPeachy says:

    And this further proves my point that religion poisons EVERYTHING.

  19. Rain Cloud says:

    LOL

    That is a darn funny sign!

    I was going to say some things about religion yada yada yada but we’ve all heard it before. Some like it, some don’t. Just wish we all could get along.

    Wait, but then there would be no drama, so nevermind!

  20. jeruco says:

    if you cant find it funny then recheck your ability to laugh once in a while.
    Sometimes in life we get so serious that we forget to enjoy it and laugh.

    It doesnt matter if you are christian or not, you can still find it funny.

  21. Terra says:

    Sing it with me now…..

    “There ain’t no good guys. There ain’t no bad guys. There’s only you and me and we just dis-ah-gree-ee-ee. Ohhh ohh ohh ohh oh oh oooooh ohhh.”

  22. Messy says:

    What I found super funny in the whole thread was all the people that were “offended” at the sign, and felt the need to post as such… When, weren’t they some of the ones that thought everyone needed thicker skin and to stop being so offended bla bla bla in the other threads??? πŸ˜›

  23. Kelolsen says:

    I laughed. DS moms get upset over everything….. if they don’t have it, they are offended you do, if they don’t believe it, t hey are offended that you do, if you can afford it, you suck, and if you can’t afford it, you are worthy.

  24. JustPeachy says:

    Oh and Im not offended by it obviously. It takes a lot to get under my skin these days.

  25. Megan says:

    People are ridiculous. Really. On the one hand, grow some thicker skin, let it roll of your back, and just don’t read posts that offend you. On the other hand, WTF? You mentioned GOD? Now THAT’S just too much. :rolls eyes: Seriously. There are some things that are legitimately offensive, then there’re things people are just TRYING to be offended over.
    I think the sign is hillarious, and I’m not saying which side of the debate I’m on. Just sayin’… πŸ˜‰

  26. just another lurker says:

    What does the sign say? I can’t see the pic from my current computer location and I don’t want to wait until I get home..

  27. Kelolsen says:

    it says ” Stop Drop and Roll won’t work in hell”

  28. Messy says:

    STOP DROP AND ROLL WON’T WORK IN HELL

  29. behooooooove says:

    I found the sign to be hilarious.

    But then again, I’m probably going to Hell, if indeed, there is such a thing.

  30. werd says:

    me too, behooooooooooooooooooooooove. we can hang out and play cards.

  31. Booyah says:

    Rawr! Somebody got their Cheerios pissed in this morning didn’t they??

    It begs the question: if you don’t believe in hell, then why does the sign even matter to you anyway? Really??

  32. Thud says:

    18
    I’d say people do just fine poisoning things, not religion πŸ˜‰
    I am a liberal Christian who doesn’t think there is such a thing as hell πŸ™‚
    So kinda funny in the laugh at the yokels sort of way.

  33. Terra says:

    #32….. I am *totally* just asking because I’m curious, and not being snarky….but doesn’t Christian mean a “follower of Christ and His teachings?” Because Jesus Christ of Nazareth, the one in the Bible, spoke of a place called hell over 70 times in the New Testament.

    I respect all kinds of beliefs, and am genuinely interested in your response. :good vibes:

  34. volbaby07 says:

    Well who the hell pissed in her wheaties this morning? I cannot get over how dramarrific DS has gotten. I rarely venture there anymore and it’s not just the eClap isn’t the only reason. These fools will find anything to get their knickers in a twist about.

  35. volbaby07 says:

    holy crap, bad grammar much? sorry must have some caffeine before attempting to post. i can’t form coherent sentences apparently.

  36. me me me says:

    UGH the whole Christianity thing just plain bugs me at this point. When you have posters like flossiesfine saying things like being gay is an “Odd lifestyle at that” I mean really. Did she not notice how many gay/lesbian/by mamas are on DS? I’m not one, and no one close to me is, but geesh. That’s why signs like that will get ppls panties into a wad, Christian judgment and hate is everywhere you go so it puts you on edge. I need to meditate now. UGH

  37. JustPeachy says:

    Thats true but think of it this way. If we didn’t have religion or politics what would the world fight over?

  38. me says:

    I thought it was funny….Most everyone I’ve known IRL will just laugh because why should they care if they think its not there?

  39. me says:

    And umm..is that really a church sign? Maybe it was the sign generator, so someone trying to start shit anyway LOL

  40. naturalmamadot says:

    lol I love when ppl get all “omgwtf” over stuff like this, cracks me up

  41. Cheesewhiz says:

    #31 – My thoughts EXACTLY. I thought it was hilarious.

  42. Thud says:

    #33 Hell is a translation of Gehenna~ the garbage dump outside of Jerusalem (fires burned there to deal with the refuse). Hell as a place of eternal punishment is not Biblical~ Dante, Milton etc. advanced the ideas in popular western culture.

    A God who loves us so much as to give God’s own son to death in our place is not going to un-love us so completely as to turn away from us forever, We are created to be in relationship with God and God will love us into repentence and right relationship, not just flick us into a brurning lake of lava (which would make God a pretty hideous monster!).

    Anyhoo… LOL back to your drama LOL

  43. Terra says:

    Thud….

    Thank you for your thoughtful response. πŸ™‚

  44. Sam says:

    That is a pretty funny sign, I don’t understand the negative response.

    I’m not on DS too much, but are there some “uppity” Christian ladies there that would make them respond to this post like that?

  45. AshleyB says:

    #31 The only reason I see to be bothered by the sing is that the “stop, drop & roll” is taught to kids in school to deal with fires, and a little kid reading the sign who isn’t Christian may get quite confused reading it doesn’t work in a certain scenario (especially if they don’t know what hell is).

  46. not me at all says:

    #36 I hate Flossiefine SO much. She is a total troll but since she is spouting Xian rhetoric she is allowed to be as big of a twatwaffle as she wants!

  47. Bethany says:

    I love church signs like this. They totally crack me up. I once saw a church sign that said “Grace Baptist Church – Lies about God”. Hilarious!

  48. Crazy Mama says:

    Hahaha, I’m atheist but those church signs crack me up. A local church had their sign reading “Free trip to Heaven- Sunday 9 AM.” Sounded so bad. Fortunately there were no mass suicides that weekend.

Leave a Reply

