Ok, this one ended up being a little bit of drama. I’m not sure I am in agreement of it all, but I couldn’t resist blogging it since it hasn’t been deleted even though it includes tattle taleing, lying, retaliatory feedback, and the seller has been outed. (And I want to try this new thread reply thing.)

There was a second thread on this, but it went poof. This is long, but worth a read.

http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=678748

02-23-2009, 08:30 AM #1
ShamroxGirl
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany (APO)
Posts: 2,928
Ratings: 22
Feedback: 100%
My Mood:

What do you think is fair here?

I bought some fitteds from a Mama, for the baby that was not to be.
She advertised them as VGUC but without stains whatsoever.

I got them today and 3 of the 4 have stains. She did post pics but it was a large group pic and they were not visible in that pic.

Two on the inside and one on the backside (odd right?)

Well I PM her and tell her I’d like a partial refund on each or to return them and she’ll pay the postage back.

She says she’ll give me 50c partial refund for each because they were off FSOT and not new or I can send them back and not get a my shipping, but what I paid. She pretty much stated that I was making it up, but IDK why I’d buy diapers I needed for a baby and then make up a story about stains? We’re still TTC so I still need the diapers, hopefully I’ll need them in November instead of October.

Now, I know that these were not newhttp://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/newthread.php?do=newthread&f=48 but when someone says specifically “No stains” in their ad, the diapers should be stain free, right?

I felt I was being fair with my offer, was I asking too much?

I told her I’d PM a mod, since she’s made it clear that there were no stains on the diapers and she is not willing to refund me my shipping back to her if I do that. But I figured I’d stop here first, and get others opinions before I do that..
02-23-2009, 02:32 PM #18
ShamroxGirl
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany (APO)
Posts: 2,928
Ratings: 22
Feedback: 100%
My Mood:

Re: What do you think is fair here?

I think we have a bigger problem here, DH informed me that the WAY she shipped it was actually illegal here. He learned it in his in-processing brief, it violates the German-American customs/SOFA agreement.

I’m not going to sun them, I can’t even sun my own diapers!! I read the pamphlet and it says we can’t put our personal property in common areas.. so I guess that means no diapers outside. DH is convinced that the windows block UV, is that what bleaches the diapers? And yea, at that point IDK if I’d expect her to take them back, because I’d have fiddled with them, kwim?

At least I’m not nuts, and y’all see the stains too!

02-23-2009, 02:46 PM #20
ShamroxGirl
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany (APO)
Posts: 2,928
Ratings: 22
Feedback: 100%
My Mood:

Re: What do you think is fair here?

She shipped them from Germany but from an APO. In Germany if you sell one item, it is considered a business transaction and therefore subject to payment of taxes under the German law. By selling an item and shipping through an APO instead of from the German Post Office you a43 1. not paying the taxes on selling an item (stuff here has the taxes built in at the store, you don’t pay a tax rate on top of the cost you see) and 2. it violates Army policies and regulations violating APO shipping. The US government has an agreement w/the German government stating that it will NOT allow any of its soldiers or family members circumvent paying taxes by conducting business shipping through APO.

If it was a gift, and no money was exchanged, then shipping MPS/APO would be no problem.

I would LOVE to send the items back, but she won’t pay for the return shipping. I’m going to the post office tomorrow to speak with them to see if I can mail them back for free also.

DH’s in-processing is fresh in his mind and they got a customs/SOFA brief. IDK if she realizes what she did, but DH is very interested now because he has a high sense of integrity.

02-23-2009, 02:46 PM #38
ShamroxGirl
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany (APO)
Posts: 2,928
Ratings: 22
Feedback: 100%
My Mood:

Re: What do you think is fair here?

I shipped them back today. I believe she was being dishonest because of the way she worded the ad (which I have screenshotted for the Mods). She was also rude in how she handled things, insisting that when you buy off fsot you should expect things to come stained and not as they were promised because they are used. IDK about you but that’s not how I see FSOT.

I’m supposed to get updated w/the outcome of the investigation into her shipping so we’ll see what the Postmaster and Customs here say when it’s all said and done. She could not only be fined by Customs but she could lose all of her APO privileges (meaning she would lose her US address). IDK if that was an oversight on her part, but all of our spouses are specifically briefed when they get here in their orientation about the German laws and the Customs rules regarding APO/FPO and MPS.

My problem is that I believe people when they say things. I take them at their word. I like to believe that people are good and don’t do dishonest things. Maybe I should just stop doing that. I would rather not believe that people would treat other people that way but I guess I should be less naive.

Yesterday, 03:27 PM #56
ShamroxGirl vbmenu_register(“postmenu_6463157”, true);
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany (APO)
Posts: 2,928
Ratings: 22
Feedback: 100%
My Mood:

Re: What do you think is fair here?

OMG she left me retaliatory feedback!!
I’m “particular” for not wanting stain free diapers when she advertised them as stain free??!?!?!?!?
Yesterday, 03:35 PM #58
ShamroxGirl vbmenu_register(“postmenu_6463265”, true);
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany (APO)
Posts: 2,928
Ratings: 22
Feedback: 100%
My Mood:

Re: What do you think is fair here?

Well I’m livid. I don’t in any way deserve neutral feedback, I’ve done nothing wrong but catch her in a lie…. WTF was she thinking? That’s against TOU here…
Comments
  1. DSDM2 says:

    DAMN IT! I messed up and missed the post about telling the PO about who it was and stuff, now it went poof. Damn it!

  2. janell says:

    so who was it? did you catch it before it disapeared?

  3. DSDM2 says:

    Check the feedback 😉 It is under ShamroxGirl’s feedback 😉

  4. AshleyB says:

    Interesting.

  5. DSDM2 says:

    yeah… the tattling to the PO bugs me. A lot.

  6. BffMama says:

    I really like the OP Mama. Wonder if there’s more to this…

  7. BffMama says:

    The linked posts are gone, so I can’t see the pics. Bummer.

  8. DSDM2 says:

    The pics were deleted before I grabbed the thread.

  9. eeek says:

    OK, I understand not wanting stained diapers. & being annoyed at stains when you thought there were none.

    However, the whole “violating German law” & tattling thing because a military mom shipped from an APO makes me a little ill. Come on, for real? You’re not trying to stretch out your bitterness a little too far? She wasn’t running a business, she FSOT’d some used diapers.

    Seriously, if my husband was the kind of person who got bitchy about someone’s used diaper-mailing, well, he wouldn’t be my husband. That’s not integrity, that’s lack of sensibility.

  10. AshleyB says:

    Oh…the tattling is something! I mean…really? Would you call the PO and complain that you got a package that you didn’t pay enough postage on?

  11. memyselfandi says:

    shipping from APO to APO is free also, as far as military stuff goes. i think it’s a bit ridiculous. neutral does nothing to change your fb anyways.

  12. theinvisible says:

    The staining was not a big deal. Worth a small, and I mean small, refund. She made much ado about nothing IMO. I don’t really understand all the fuss. I’m not the only one, either.

  13. theinvisible says:

    I agree 100% (about the husband especially). I mean really?

  14. Monkey says:

    #7 I totally agree.

    The OP should have gotten a partial refund for items not as stated… but the whole tattling to the PO about what could very well have been an oversight? Seems a little single white female to me.

    As an overseas mama (I’m probably outing myself, but WTF) I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to have a “U.S. address). I also know how many freaking regulations/rules there are and how easy it would be to screw that up.

    I’m of the opinion that both mamas are wrong here. The seller shouldn’t have said the diapers were stain free if they weren’t and the buyer shouldn’t be so vindictive.

  15. theinvisible says:

    Is the post gone?

  16. BffMama says:

    Eh, that’s a bummer. This one is pretty black and white. She did get a refund. The neutral FB was removed. This is way too cut and dry for my liking. 😀

  17. not just another mama says:

    IMO.. the stains were not that bad.. LIGHT ebf staining at best.. But whatever.. If you buy something stain free, it should be strain free.. but all this drama was fun to watch!!

  18. not just another mama says:

    She also had to CIRCLE the stains to point them out.. that is how light they were..

  19. AshleyB says:

    Yeah…I missed them until they were circled!!

  20. DSDM2 says:

    Me too.

  21. Messy says:

    WooHoo! I found a regular thread here!!! I can see it all… Hmmm… The stains would piss me off if it was advertised as stain free. The postal thing makes me think her dh is a little postal himself; if it was even him. She might have been putting her vindictiveness off on him… Weird…

  22. DSDM2 says:

    I fixed all the threads 😉 Go back

  23. naturalmamadot says:

    Messy :
    “The postal thing makes me think her dh is a little postal himself; if it was even him. She might have been putting her vindictiveness off on him… Weird…”

    Definitely. I wouldnt put it past her at all to put the blame on DH. I notice a lot of women who I think do this. Heck I cant control my DH right guys? So dont be mad at me…lol

  24. eeek says:

    DSDM2- thanks! The reply-to thing was a really good idea that quickly became a PITA.

    though the time change thing- I wish I could make it the real time here! It’s a half day ahead & I always ignore it, but it’d be so cool if it worked well-

  25. eeek says:

    & monkey- as one of my favorite sympatico people here- you’re click-able, I just want to make sure you know you lead to a blog.

    Because, if you ever move to Minnesota, you’re fucking going to the bar with me.

  26. Sam says:

    Well…stain free should mean stain free, but tattling to the PO is just petty. Maybe the mama didn’t know about the taxes thing, her husband may not have told her about it…just inform the mama about the German law and let it be. I have a “high sense of integrity” too but I’m not going to tattle over some measly used diapers and risk the mama losing her APO privleges and being fined!

  27. Monkey says:

    #27… I did not realize I was clickable, but I’m glad you can visit the bar!

    And I’d certainly hit the bar with you if I were in Minnesota!

  28. Monkey says:

    wait… the first bar should have been blog!

  29. Rain Cloud says:

    Another one on my Do Not Buy Sell Trade List! Why on earth would she tattle to the Post Office? Sheesh I suppose she’s never received inside-out Priority Tyvek envelopes then? (which I receive often still)

    Can you imagine the reports she would make to the Post Office over that? This lady seriously has something stuck up her ass to think she is better than the seller. Maybe she should have bought new diapers instead!

    Obviously she doesn’t have a car to even sun her diapers in if her windows repell UV. She was just bitter all around!

  30. diudiaole says:

    I think the buyer was a total bitch… if you’re that freaking anal about barely perceptible stains then you should be buying brand new.

  31. yikes says:

    Ah, the invisible stain lady. I totally couldn’t see the stain!

    Note to self, never sell to uppity bitches. Never say an item is stain free.

  32. JustPeachy says:

    Sorry but maybe shes been burned one too many times and has just had it. I know Ive been burned a few times and at this point if I bought a used diaper that had issues with it not made known to me, Id be making the blog again ROFLMAO.

  33. thewhiteninja says:

    The OP is one of those people other military wives like me make fun of.

  34. DSDM2 says:

    Peachy, my issue is the PO thing.. I mean COME ON.. at least tell her that it wasn’t ok and such before tattle-tailing on her.

  35. JustPeachy says:

    I agree that is vindictive and uncalled for but she did say the seller did only offer her a 50 cent refund as well as the buyer would have to eat the cost of shipping. Not saying its ok for the buyer to be a tattle tale but the seller is a jack ass and IMO its karma.

  36. GirlsPlayWoW2 says:

    DSDM2 – I did tell her it was wrong, her response was basically “I do it all the time! So what?”. I have gotten things in the mail that were recycled priority bags and I have turned them in to the Post Office, I’ve had to pay on them too. I’d “tattle” on a shoplifter too. Guess that makes me a big ol’ tattler!! OH NOES!!

    DH WAS upset at the violation. First off the PP I paid to and the name on the packages did not match and the seller did not answer me as to why that was when I asked. So I wasn’t even sure she was using her OWN mailbox and she never answered me when I asked. He was concerned that she was using someone elses box and since she didn’t answer me as to why the names didn’t match he encouraged me to turn it in.

    Just Peachy- I have been burned before and I just don’t want to deal with it anymore.

    FWIW now she’s using the mods to have me change the FB.

  37. GirlsPlayWoW2 says:

    31, no we don’t have a car yet, it’s still in transit. Should be arriving soon!

    Sorry I just don’t feel like sellers should lie.

    If that makes me a whiny little bitch then so be it.

  38. naturalmamadot says:

    GirlsPlayWoW2 Says:
    March 2, 2009 at 9:40 am

    “If that makes me a whiny little bitch then so be it.”

    ~Glad to see youre comfortable being you 😀

  39. eeek says:

    naturalmamadot Says:
    March 3, 2009 at 1:01 am

    “If that makes me a whiny little bitch then so be it.”

    ~Glad to see youre comfortable being you 😀

    ……………
    Damn, I’m glad I have this blog to laugh at once in a while! Thank you!

  40. naturalmamadot says:

    eeek Says:
    March 3, 2009 at 2:31 am

    naturalmamadot Says:
    March 3, 2009 at 1:01 am

    “If that makes me a whiny little bitch then so be it.”

    ~Glad to see youre comfortable being you 😀

    ……………
    Damn, I’m glad I have this blog to laugh at once in a while! Thank you!

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Haha yea same here, I enjoy seeing drama whores, scamming scum and whiny bitches being brought to the attention of everyone here so we can follow the proper procedures of avoidance in future B/S/Y situations

  41. dmeg says:

    See what gets me is from how I read the OP (I read it before it hit the blog), the seller didn’t actually pay for shipping-even though she listed the items as ppd, but then wanted the buyer to pay to ship the items back. So the seller is charging for shipping but not paying shipping. Maybe I misread that, but THAT seems fishy to me and yes if I thought I was paying for shipping and then found out the seller shipped for free, yeah I would be pissed and would report them too. But stain free is still stain free and I have a hard time understanding how anyone can justify it with ‘well they are only light stains’. Okay fine they are light stains, but then list them as LIGHT STAINING and not STAIN FREE, there IS a difference.

  42. W/E says:

    Seriously? I know this is old but shamroxgirl is a dick. She bitches about retaliatory feedback and then in the same post says she’s going to report an APO mama (whos’ NOT running a business but just trying to sell some personal possessions) to the frigging postmaster? Get a life, douchebag. Hope she didn’t use her MPS box to mail the stuff she sold in the tx on her second page of feedback, and that she’s NEVER sold a damn thing on ebay.
    Karma. It comes back. Being a bitch just to be a bitch, that’s uncool.

  43. Amanda says:

    Actually, I’m the one who sold this to Shamroxgirl. Total nightmare. I didn’t realize that those barely visable stains were there. I offered her .50 off because I thought that was fair. And I know in the post it said ppd, but in a PM I TOLD her that because I could send it to her for FREE via MPS that I would give her a discount. After she said that .50 off wasn’t enough, I ASKED her what she thought would have been a fair price. She wouldn’t ever give me a number. After that, I asked her to MPS them back to me and I would give her a full refund. She wanted to send them standard mail, and have me pay for it. Which I ended up doing. Then she leaves me with neutral feedback saying that there were “shipping issues.” BULL….

Leave a Reply

