http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=654061

01-25-2009, 12:44 PM #1
venusgirl vbmenu_register(“postmenu_6108185”, true);
Registered Users
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 21

Do you still occasionally diaper your older child for long joirney’s etc ?

Just wondering do others still resort to putting a diaper back on and older child who still has occasional ‘accidents’ when travelling etc ?

I still put one on my 4yr old DD when the need arises, It’s not something I need to do often but I have no worries about diapering her if necessary.

Anyone else do the the same ?

Oy vey!

Comments
  1. Booyah says:

    Well, to each their own. I kept diapering DS1 at night long after he stopped needing it just because I was paranoid about accidents. When I figured out that he was just taking the diaper off as soon as I put him to bed every night, I stopped doing it.

    I hope this isn’t one of those mamas who is absolutely heartbroken and has no reason to live when their LO PLs. Good thing big-kid cloth is pretty hard to come by or we’d be seeing 6 and 8yos wearing dipes “just in case.”

  2. lollerskating says:

    That thread’s a mess. Diapering a kid that has accidents is one thing. Diapering for convenience or for the sake of cute fluff is another. Hopefully people don’t diaper just in case for their completely potty trained kids. And some of those responses on the thread were kinda snarky.

  3. trolltastic says:

    wasn;t there a mom on DS that put a GM on her 10 year old at night or something?

  4. werd says:

    LMAO at the title of this post, w2g DSDM!

    Hey now, I’m going to be heartbroken when DD PLs… that’s why we are TTC in the meantime LOL

    But seriously, thats a little ridiculous!

    PS: Am I the only one with a 2 year old who is like F U potty training?!

  5. JustPeachy says:

    Nope werd as my nearly 2 year old refuses to go on the potty. I have this fear of becoming the mom who doesnt encourage potty learning due to a fluff addiction so I offer several times a day. Every time she says flat out nope and wont even go near the potty. Its funny because just a few short months ago she was so enamored with it.
    #3 a long time ago there was. Shes a dear friend of mine and her ds is 8 and had bed wetting incidents that weren’t resolved with simply cutting out liquids so she put a gm on him at nite since it fit him.

  6. Biggirlpanties says:

    someone summoned? 🙂

  7. tiredmama says:

    Peach my 2 year old dd is the same way. She refuses to go on the potty. DH and I encourage her multiple times a day and she flat out refuses.

  8. naturalmamadot says:

    #5 and #7, my 19 month old used to be obsessed with the potty, with no encouragement from me. It was just there and I thought it was cute he liked it, but now he wont even touch it, its funny he will act like its a bug and it will bite him if he gets too close.

  9. trolltastic says:

    nope not weird! my son turned 2 in dec. and goes when he feels like it. he is at the point of holding his pee and will tell me right after he goes so i know he is ready. i think he likes his dipes too much 🙂

  10. AshleyB says:

    DS is 19 months and was ALL interested in the potty…but now that I tried putting underwear on him once instead of a diap (we were down to 2 diap’s a day-nighttime & one during the day) and now he won’t go NEAR the potty. It happens. And, NO way would I put my 4 year old in a diaper for the heck of it. If I’m making a long trip, I would just make sure to stop 2-3x along the way to let her use the potty instead of having to hold it long enough to use a diaper.

  11. werd says:

    Yeah at DD was super excited about the potty at about 20 months and would go here and there – now when I mention the potty, she cries and yells NO! Wth?! I think she likes her diapers too much. I need to get her some not-so-cute/comfy ones, maybe then she will go LOL!

  12. JustPeachy says:

    Good to see Im not the only one. We bought the potty when dd was 16 mos because she wanted to use the big potty but was afraid of falling in. She was using the potty 2x a day for pee only but then nothing at all.

  13. alison says:

    LOL @ #6

  14. iheartruiner says:

    my son is over 3 and is definitely a part of the F U potty club. 😉

  15. werd says:

    LOL #14!

  16. ArmiMommi says:

    My oldest wouldn’t use the potty until I told him I give up and I wasn’t going to ask him anymore… then 2 weeks after that, he came to me and said “I a big boy now, I use the potty. I don’t want any more diapers.” This was 2 months after his 3rd birthday, and he has never had one accident (other than being to busy/lazy to go to the potty while playing) Meanwhile, my younger son is going to be 2 next month and while I sit him on the potty when he goes and points and says potty, I definitely am not going to worry/stress/push the issue with him, lmao. As long as he’s not in a diaper when he heads off to pre-k, it’s all good, hehehe!

  17. JustPeachy says:

    I agree #16. I pushed a bit too hard with my oldest when she was 2 because I like many others had this mistaken notion that at 2 all kids should be potty trained. Needless to say she didnt train until 3.5 and trust me it wasnt from my lack of trying.
    Still I think its dumb and sort of humiliating for a child to be diapered just because mom is too busy to pull off the highway to find a bathroom.

  18. JustAMama says:

    Yeah my 2yo DS is 99% potty trained but my DD who will be 5 in April isn’t! She has “accidents” like 5x a day.. but it’s just a power struggle. She’s ADHD and a Taurus to boot.. talk about willpower. She’ll do it when she’s ready but NOT because mommy said so.
    That being said, I do not put her in a diaper.

  19. Stacey says:

    I would never put my potty trained child in diapers for any reason. I guess I think its humiliating. I cannot imagine any circumstance where my child would be put in the position to have an accident on a road trip. We used to take 12+ hour road trips several times a year and we just took a potty chair and never had an accident.

  20. Bloo♥ says:

    Well I am not going to judge her reasoning because I am not in her shoes. as for the Mom putting the GM on her 10 year old was the kiddo a nighttime wetter?

    As a kid my urethra was too small so I wet the bed they did two medical procedures to stretch it the little one I was awake for I still remember how badly it hurt, the second one I was gassed for it. I still had poor bladder control though and I wish I had something that would of helped me (this was long before “Good Nights” and I was too small for depends) Anyway long story short I would have preferred cloth to wetting the bed or the baggy bulky depends.

  21. JustPeachy says:

    #20 Thank you for sharing 🙂 Her son didnt mind and Im sure he preferred the feel of obv on his butt rather then some paper diaper. Plus his mom already had the cloth on hand and it fit so why waste money on paper goodnights when you have something that fits and does the trick environmentally friendly.

  22. The ORIGINAL Just Me says:

    ROFL! My 3 y/o is def a member of the F U potty club!

  23. Sam says:

    I read some of people’s comments to her thread and some were sure snarky. I don’t think what the OP wrote was that big of a deal. If your child has poor bladder control and/or has accidents during naps, I think wearing a diaper during traveling is less embarassing than peeing all over themselves. Some kids who are fully potty trained can’t hold it even for a reasonable amt of time. Also just because you make frequent stops doesn’t mean your kid will go pee.

  24. Kate says:

    My 3 y.o. is just now beginning to come and tell me she needs to go pee pee on the potty but she still goes to the corner to poop and refuses to even try to go on the potty.

    I think that I would put a pull up type diaper on her if she was just learned and we were somewhere like Disney standing in lines. I would hate to stand in line for half hour or more for her to have to go when it was our turn. But as far as in the car well she would just have to tell us she needed to potty and we would have to stop.

  25. JustPeachy says:

    #23 And I can see why. She made it seem like she did it for her own convenience rather then her child’s. And if you are worried about your child not making it to the bathroom quick enough on a road trip, a diaper is not the answer. Ive read many a story and even gone through it where children have regressed due to this practice. I would’ve went with a pair of cloth training pants w/ a thin doubler and some sort of pull on cover rather then a diaper.

  26. thewhiteninja says:

    My dd PL promptly at 24 months but still wets the bed and she will be 5 soon. I wet the bed until I was 7 so I think she is following after me. Anyways, if her cloth trainers aren’t clean I’ll out her in a large diaper for bedtime and she could give 2 shits. She definitely isn’t “regressing” to pissing and shitting on her self all day.

  27. thewhiteninja says:

    out=put

  28. The Original Ashley says:

    It’s really not uncommon to have a child refuse to potty train at age 2 or 3. Hell a lot of 4 year olds aren’t 100% pt’d. At least she cares enough to not allow her kid to soil themselves by putting them in a diaper when they may have accidents. I mean the kid is only 4, not like she’s putting a diaper on an 8 year old when they head to Wal Mart.

  29. Kelolsen says:

    If its a matter of “I don’t want to bother with stopping for potty breaks” then I say shame onMom. If the kid has accidents, maybe a trainer? I’ve thought about maybe using some of my thinner trainers like Motherease for a car trip just in case, but that’s for like when he’s just potty trained- not when he’s like 5 or 6!

    My boy turned 3 in Dec and is also part of the FUPotty club.

  30. Kelolsen says:

    oh but i’m over cloth. I’m over all diapers. I want it done. I’m not addicted anymore 🙂

  31. the wife says:

    I thought this thread was a little f***ed up. I wouldn’t diaper myself for a long journey…….so why the heck would I diaper a kid who is already using the potty? Just stop more often for pete’s sake. Thats just pure laziness.

    Also, what is it with all the commonly used mispelled words on DS? Doesn’t anyone use spell check?

Leave a Reply

