I don’t care that the person is reselling items for more than they paid, that is their choice… but NO, it is NEVER ok to use someone’s photo as if it were your own.

http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=647681

Today, 08:03 PM #1
2bluesandapink vbmenu_register(“postmenu_6034265”, true);
Registered Users
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 420
Ratings: 99
Feedback: 100%

Is this considered ok?

I guess I just don’t know how to feel about this. It’s just weird to me. I was just looking through posts and found some items I had sold previously listed on FSOT. They were marked considerably higher than I had sold them for AND the seller even used my photographs to advertise the items. I’m not really mad, just surprised I guess.

__________________
Comments
  1. tongue biter says:

    That is tacky as hell.

  2. Trinity says:

    I’ve had that happen to me before. Remember back last year when goodmama was having some delays getting wishboxes shipped? Mine was among those and I received a free goodmama in the mail to compensate for it. The free bonus diaper was a totally new goodmama and since mine was one of the first to arrive I posted pictures on DS. Another mama was also expecting one and she used MY picture for her listing on Spots Corner the same day. I called her out on it and she apologized saying she was having camera issues and took the photo down. Maybe if she had asked first I wouldn’t have minded so much, although I think everyone should use their own photos for selling purposes. I also didn’t want someone to think it was me selling that diaper for the $50 or whatever she was asking.

  3. Taterbug says:

    Permission is everything. If you’ll use a pic without asking (and without giving credit), what other dishonest things will you do?

  4. werd says:

    thats klassy… with a k

  5. AshleyB says:

    That’s total BS. Also, if she’s using the other mama’s pics, who knows what they look like now? They could be stained, ripped etc…

  6. blooskadoo says:

    What the heck does this have to do with the OP?

    “I really don’t think that it matters. I mean it’s supply and demand. Two months ago you couldn’t find a GM for less then $40 now I’m selling some for $15ppd and they’re sitting.
    Plus when you just wanna destash you price to move. If they wanna try and wait on it selling and bumping a million times…well they should be allowed too. Sorry, just MHO.”

    I think it is shady to use other people’s pictures and pretty tacky to over charge.

  7. bored says:

    i dont have a problem with her bumping the price up. thats how people make money they buy things when they are low cost and resell them to at a higher cost to make some money. thats how people who sell stuff on ebay make a living. i don’t have a problem with it. if they can get a better price, more power to them!
    but however using a picture that is NOT hers is soooo wrong! i would be furious if someone took my picture and reused it without permission!

  8. luvmyb says:

    How do you guys feel about people getting something FFS and then turning around and selling it for a profit? I’m a businesswoman and totally understand the whole making money/ to each his/her own premise, but in the “mama” world of DS, it bugs me.

  9. DSDM2 says:

    #8.) It is hers to do what she want with, I wouldn’t do it, and I don’t agree with it, but it isn’t wrong, and it isn’t my place to dictate what is ok for prices on FSOT… It is no different than marking something up IMO.

  10. Kelolsen says:

    to reply #8 – I think its tacky to go ahead and resell for profit a FFS item but you can’t say its wrong. I mean, its their item. One time I did tell someone on Spots about how I thought she was wrong. She got a nursing top from me on DS FFS and I had said that I had altered it a bit – it was a very deep vneck and I sewed it up a bit. It was also worn alot so slightly faded, worn looking, etc. She put it up on Spots and said that itw as in EUC and made no mention of my alterations, etc. I thought that was shady. She took it down. Had she said, ” has been altered, in worn faded condition” I would have been a bit annoyed but not said anythng b/c she was honest about it.

Leave a Reply

