You weigh the package how?!

Posted: December 22, 2008 by THE Drama Mama in Just Drama
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Yeah, that is full proof.
Posted by: luvmybaby33

Re: How do you mail without scales?

:hide: I don’t weigh them. :blush: Occasionally if it’s a heavier item I will just take it to the PO to check the weight before I list it to sell. But for smaller stuff (3 pounds and under) I guesstimate. I will pick household items that I KNOW the weight of and compare one in each hand, then have DH do the same. He has no concept of weight/ measurement… but he can tell me which side is heavier :giggle:It’s our fun pre-shipment game late at night :laugh:

I often end up taking the packages to the PO while we’re out the next day, so I have them check it so I can see how much I’m off. I’m usually really close and I’ve never underestimated. As long as the buyer doesn’t get charged and there’s no issue with the transit, I’m happy. I would like to get a cheap scale soon, though.

Comments
  1. Tara says:

    Which explains why I’ve been charged for shipping shortages on a couple things that were supposed to be $ppd!!!! Come on ppl!

  2. Sarah says:

    This is a joke, right?!

  3. trolltastic says:

    I just got TWENTY viruses from DS. I haven’t logged on in a long time and did today and it almost crashed my damn computer.
    and I am getting pop-ups about DIAPERS.
    hmmm. I smell some bullshit.

  4. Sarah says:

    I’m actually surprised that people are still visiting DS. I’m often tempted when ppl post links on here like, “wow, look at this trainwreck of a thread!” but it’s just not worth it to me to have to fix my computer again.

  5. trolltastic says:

    i didn’t log on for a long after the first scare and it seemed to clear up. i just really want to buy some damned diapers, i could care less about what those bitches are talking about!

  6. Booyah says:

    A kitchen scale is all of $6 at Wal-Mart. Get you one. Now.

  7. Crazy Mama says:

    This was mentioned in another thread not long ago, and I was shocked at how many women weigh packages based on what they *think* it weighs. If you’re too cheap to buy a scale, get off of your lazy butts and go to the post office!!!

  8. AshleyB says:

    Yup, I’ve had to pay postage on packages before…now I know why! The most annoying is that my mail carrier just leaves a note in the box saying drive to the PO and pay to pick up your mail…grr…I can’t just pay the carrier! I know what moms to put on the do not b/s/t list–the ones too cheap for a $3 scale (I got my kitchen one at Walmart for $3, and I’ve never underestimated someones weight)!

  9. j_bean says:

    I constantly get postage due on packages (even from well known WAHMS who I would think would know better) It’s ridiculous and definitely adds to my do not b/s/t list. UGH

  10. haha says:

    LMAO! I totally use my weight watchers scale! And add a few ounces just to be on the safe side!

  11. Just Peachy says:

    I’ve done that before *blush* Ive actually gotten very good at guesstimating the weight and am usually a few oz over on small packages. I always print thru pp but I weigh at the PO so when Im feeling lazy I’ll guesstimate or look thru my packaging labels to see what previous person put as the weight on it.

  12. mamapixie says:

    I don’t have a scale either, and I collect packages, weigh at the post office after dropping the kids off at school, and then print from paypal and drop the packages off after I pick the kids up from school. If I happen to be lazy and guesstimate, I always double check the postage before I ship, and will pay any extra I need to.

    Not buying a scale because I am almost done with DS, have one trade I’m waiting on some further details, and then no more. My desktop is wrecked because of DS, and that’s with using Avast and Firefox.

    I’ll just be selling my diapers locally via Craigslist after this, or sending the mama-made items to a diaper charity.

  13. trolltastic says:

    whatever the virus is, it is disabling norton anti-virus. hubby came home and cleaned up over 50 viruses that were just from today, and he tracked it down to DS.
    that is bull.
    are there any other diaper boards? the only reason i really went to DS was bc of the overwhelming FSOT section.

  14. luvmyb says:

    I guesstimate all the time. Overestimate actually. A GM weighs 8 ozs, so a Mutt is 7ozs, an Elbee 7ozs, and a pair of longies 12 ozs 😀 I’m bad, I know.

  15. AshleyB says:

    Check out Clothdiapernation.com ! SUCH a fun site! There is a FSOT there, too, no viruses & an anti-scammer policy! And anyone see this thread?
    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=628466
    To sum it up for all those not brave enough to risk the viruses (who doesn’t love a good game of russian roulette) mama ordered customs from Mutts, had terrible communication and hasn’t gotten her fluff…though Mutts has stocked their sites a few times! Good times!

  16. Just Peachy says:

    Ashley as soon as she said she stocked today im like oh must be mutts yet AGAIN!

  17. noisybean says:

    Interesting find Peach, about Stinky Couture. That Mama, with very little posts and no feedback has a rather unusual amount of knowledge about Daphne and her business ventures. I smell a rat….

  18. sassy1 says:

    trolltastic…what did your hubby use to clean up the viruses? I know I have a few, but McAfee isn’t picking up on them, but my puter is super groggy and acting weird…

  19. noisybean says:

    What’s with Michelle of mutts? How on earth can she manage to stock her store with 200+ diapers every other week but can’t reply to emails? I loved her diapers too, its a shame she’s such a shithole.

  20. Just Peachy says:

    noisy when I actually looked at her profile and saw how low her post count was and when she joined im like hmmmmmmmmm it could be daphne!

  21. Tara says:

    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=627353

    It’s hilarious how DS will not delete her thread when she begs them to, but deletes all the other threads that clearly do not need to be deleted. IMO if she would just stop debating with everyone it would die down on it’s own.

  22. DSDM2 says:

    You can look at her PB, I don’t think it is Daphene.

    http://s300.photobucket.com/albums/nn40/woofy1_photos/kids

  23. Just Peachy says:

    Maybe not but its definitely one of her “minions”

  24. The Original Ashley says:

    I don’t ship through PayPal and I don’t have a scale at home. But if I sell an item, I call it PPD and that’s that. I never ask for more for postage and I never short someone. I think that’s pretty shitty of someone to guess on postage and then have someone else get stuck with paying extra.

  25. The Original Ashley says:

    Oh and I take it to the PO with a handwritten label. They weigh it for me and stick postage on. Easy peasy.

  26. trolltastic says:

    sassy, i just asked dh and he said it was malware, not viruses. which is adware which HE says they are totally making money off doing that on the site so its DS owners that are placing the malware, from what we can gather. just say DUH to me if that is old news.
    download “malwarebytes’ anti-malware”.

  27. Just Peachy says:

    Whats the difference between malware and viruses?
    And fwiw regarding what I posted originally if anyone ever pmed me telling me they had postage due I would most definitely cover it. I pride myself on being an honest mama almost to a fault.

  28. sassy1 says:

    no duh here lol….thanks for the info, and yeah I knew it had to be coming from there, but that is a bit muhc, I mean WE mamas make up that site, if its not for us….what will DS become? :/ Thanks for the info, off to rid my puter now 😉

  29. DSDM2 says:

    There are viruses too, not just malware. I am 100% sure of that after having to spend hundreds twice, just to recover my info from my harddrive and re-do my computer b/c of trogens.

  30. alison says:

    Ah – Mud beat me to it. And I’ve searched – can’t find any brag/query threads to ID the WAHM… Ouch.

  31. notmeatall says:

    I also keep getting pkgs postage due becuase they have a printed Flat Rate postage and put in a non-flat-rate box. ARRGGGHHH

  32. Funneh says:

    Ah, everyone’s crazy batshit seller, once again enlightening lives across DS with her batshit opinions on acceptable business practices:

    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=627877

  33. Funneh says:

    So that was supposed to say everyone’s *favorite* batshit seller. Not sure what’s going on with my sentence structure lately, haha.

  34. siriusmama says:

    Worst. Visual. Ever.
    “Her prefolds and thirsties create so much bulk that she looks like an old woman after giving birth to way too many kids.”
    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=629115

  35. What a Wanker says:

    cdmd1023 says:
    thought this was funny
    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=629096

    Just thought I would add. Shabbychic is a bitch. Enough said.

  36. DramaBore says:

    What a Wanker – my thoughts exactly!

  37. DSDM2 says:

    WaW, ita.

  38. mamapixie says:

    I didn’t have to spend hundreds to do it, but my computer is now back to usable condition, and is nearly back to normal. I did manage to save all important files off it before I format/reloaded it. I had to boot it into safemode though, and my 500gb external came in handy. This computer is not going near DS ever again however. I was in tears the other night thinking I would lose all my pictures again.

  39. Bloggitybloggity says:

    Wow. That’s old! I’m sorry that I missed this thread when it was fresh. Alas this was from my pre-DODS days.

    Anyways, yes, that wanker is me. Thankfully I did end up purchasing a scale because my fun “guess-the-weight” method was costing me an arm and a leg (as I would often just say “fuck it” for heavier stuff and go with flat rate priority.)

    Oh well. I have NEVER had a package arrive at the destination with postage due. Why is that? Because I’m not an idiot. The weight on the packages was always WAY over estimated to be safe (and I consider within a couple ounces to be over estimating it with the types of things I sell) and also checked at the PO. To be sure, if the PO attendant had ever come up with a heavier weight than what was posted (which they never did, because DH or I would always ask) they would have let us know in a lickety-split. I did get pretty good at it so that I wasn’t loosing quite as much money… but I sure do like having a nifty scale much better. 😉

    Anyway, I wasn’t using PayPal shipping to save money as much as I was using it to keep my diaper transactions *diaper transactions* (by using money from my PP account to pay for the shipping) and also to have an indisputable online record of the DC number.

    I wish I’d known that my UN was already plastered up here with all the cunt and twat remarks. I would have forgone this UN and stuck with luvmybaby333. Unfortunately I’ve grown attatched to this UN now. So I’m keeping it and nobody else can have it cuz it’s the coolest!!!

    ~~~BloggityBloggity~~~

  40. Bloggitybloggity says:

    *losing not LOOSING…

    I kan spelz. Onest!!!

Leave a Reply

