So, how do you know?

Posted: December 19, 2008 by THE Drama Mama in Just Drama
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=626306

Yesterday, 02:21 PM #1
guysmama’s Avatar
guysmama
Registered Users

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 643
Ratings: 46
Feedback: 100%
My Mood:

Is this shirt rude/tacky/overly offensive?
I say overly offensive because anything and everything is offensive to someone. Before looking at the shirt let me say that I have epilepsy and have had some episodes recently.

http://www.bustedtees.com/epilepsy

Yesterday, 03:02 PM #22
kaylabelle05’s Avatar
kaylabelle05
Registered Users

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 529
Ratings: 10
Feedback: 100%

Re: Is this shirt rude/tacky/overly offensive?
I don’t have epilepsy or know anyone that has it. For not being someone who has it I do think it is a bit “wrong”. But for someone who does have it, I think it is awesome.

Yesterday, 04:39 PM #26
Ami in Deutschland’s Avatar
Ami in Deutschland
Registered Users

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 439
Ratings: 7
Feedback: 100%
My Mood:

Re: Is this shirt rude/tacky/overly offensive?
This t-shirt on a person with epilepsy = hilarious.
This t-shirt on an annoying frat boy standing next to a guy wearing the “I’d hit that shirt” = rude, tacky and offensive

Yesterday, 04:41 PM #27
luvsviola’s Avatar
luvsviola
Registered Users

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 2,115
Ratings: 58
Feedback: 100%

Re: Is this shirt rude/tacky/overly offensive?
I think its funny if the person wearing it has epilepsy. I’m not so sure that someone without it should be wearing it…

And there were plenty more. How in the world would someone know whether or not you have epilepsy? Are you walking down the street wondering if said person has epilepsy or not so you can figure out whether to laugh or shake your head?

Comments
  1. AshleyB says:

    Oh…this is a shirt more offensive, too!
    http://www.tshirthell.com/funny-shirts/fuck-the-colorblind/
    The worst about that one is if it does apply to you, you’d never know!

  2. barbles says:

    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=627094

    This might get good. She’s talking about mutts. She went in the goodmama thread to ask about them and to say that mutt CS sucks

  3. Taterbug says:

    …and it’s gone.

  4. wassit says:

    The thing is- you don’t know who has an disorder like epilepsy. You wouldn’t know. And pretty much everything is offensive to SOMEONE so it’s a fine line to walk.

  5. Jen says:

    Peachy – what a wack job. Dooms day is coming! AHHH!! :snort:

  6. werd says:

    wow, she is SUCH a whack job. Seriously… again, she always reminds me of Munch on SVU, teehee!

  7. werd says:

    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=627353

    wow… you are so concerned that your child got burned, that you EAT YOUR MEAL and then go to the ER?!?! And you want to sue?!?!

    wow.

  8. eeek says:

    HOW can that idiot not think it was her own fault? If I let my kid grab the stove burner, can I sue the whirlpool company? Watch your kid & don’t let them grab burning hot stuff, OR drinks, OR anything else at the restaurant they shouldn’t. That one makes me mad. Blame the server because of your failure to take care of your kid. He was trying to do his job, do your own.

  9. Just Peachy says:

    werd I think she is just looking for an excuse to get free stuff. If she was really so all fired about them burning her kid she would’ve raised a fit in the damn Pizza Hut. Thats what I would’ve done and that waiter would’ve been knocked out had I overheard him calling my baby much less ANY BABY stupid.

  10. tweedledee*dee says:

    Ok, she stays to eat and then decides he is sooooo bad off he needs to go to the ER and now she wants to sue them? Babies grab, but it should be up to the mom to teach him not to or protect him from himself when he tries.

    I totally agree that all she is seeing is dollar signs and it is clearly not about her son’s pain or suffering.

  11. Monkey says:

    Oh the pizza hut thing killed me! What a doofus… Let’s see, who’s more to blame, some kid waiter who’s probably never spent time with a child or the child’s MOTHER! When I go to a restaurant with my munchkin I a) tell the waiter first thing to please stand away from the baby and b) watch my little one like a hawk while food is being served.

    Sounds like greed to me!

  12. bin. says:

    mom2lbj:
    Her family had pain & suffering that should be compensated for and not by a free $15 dollar meal.

    And THIS is what is wrong with America.

  13. Sarah says:

    Okay, the colorblind shirt cracks me up! If that makes me a terrible and offensive person then so be it.

  14. Sarah says:

    I’ve got an example of how anything can be deemed offense to someone. A poster on a board I used to belong to posted this joke:

    “One day while at her job as a bank loan officer, Patty Black, had a frog hop onto her desk and say, “I would like to apply for a lily-pad improvement loan.” Patty looked incredulously at the frog and said, “I’m sorry, we don’t loan money to frogs.” To which the frog replied, “I have collateral,” as he handed her a small ceramic trinket. Not wanting to be impolite, Patty said, “I don’t know. I’ll have to talk to the bank manager.”

    She walked back to the manager’s office and said, “There is a frog out here, asking for a lily-pad improvement loan, and this trinket is all he has for collateral.” The bank manager picked up the trinket and looked at it carefully. Then smiling he turned to Patty and said, “Why it’s a knick-knack, Patty Black. Give the frog a loan.”

    Another poster replied that she did not find that funny as such offensive humor was not amusing to her and it had no place on a family board. I was so confused and to this day cannot figure out what was so offensive about this joke!

    Then I found DS and realized there is a whole community of people who would be shocked and appalled by such humor!

  15. mickee311 says:

    Okay, I thought that was a cute joke.

  16. Monkey says:

    Pizza Hut mom is now doing the, “Nevermind. You’re all so cruel.” martyr act.

    What a hoot!

  17. Just Peachy says:

    OMG Sarah seriously???????? That joke is adorable!

Leave a Reply

