I have had to take my comp into the shop more than once, and have spent hundreds. I KNOW it was from DS b/c my personal site doesn’t have a virus.

Here is ANOTHER thread about it: (there are 3 currently)

http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?p=5775777#post5775777

Posted by: sillygirl

I got a virus from ds last night.

I am having to use my sisters computer right now and i guess she has better virus protection, but last night I got online on diaper swappers , it was the only website I had a chance to go to and I got a popup and for some reason a new tab opened and then my virus protection came on with a warning, but I never could get it to scan or anything , just these stupid popups kept popping up and new tabs would open on their own,. so I closed my browser and it immediately opened back up with about 10 tabs opened and all of them saying that I needed some new virus thing called virus scan 2009 and it had a popup asking if i wanted it to scan so I closed it and tried using adaware and it would not work, so I shut my computer down and now it will not come on at all – just sitting there for the last hour with the blue screen that says windows is starting.
Re: I got a virus from ds last night.

my computer still will not come on. it has sat for the last 2 hours with the welcome screen!!!!!! this sucks all of my work is on there!

Comments
  1. zosiasmama says:

    Not surprised. They don’t care one bit about their members. They only want to make money. That is reason 1005 why clothdiapernation is soooo much better!

  2. AshleyB says:

    I’m sure they do have one. Whenever I try to go to the main DS page, my Firefox crashes!

  3. need a new name says:

    I just has a virus that I believe was from there that UN installed our security software!

  4. crystal says:

    it cracks me up they have all this time/energy/resources or whatever to devote to their new games, yet people are still having to deal with these viruses. crazy

  5. Shhh says:

    Well, duh. They want everyone to fork over money so their computer won’t be overrun with viruses. I’m pretty convinced they pick the most spyware-contaminated ads on purpose.

    YAY FOR CLOTH DIAPER NATION!!! No ads, no viruses!

  6. cdnation says:

    Yep, no pop up ads, no viruses. Come see us. Y’all make me scared to go to DS, I don’t have the best anti virus software on my computer.

  7. thewhiteninja says:

    I never go to DS anymore. I can’t afford a new computer.

  8. kiwi says:

    The hard drive in my new laptop crashed after going to DS a couple weeks ago. Lee and his minions can kiss my ass.

    I still need to check out cd nation.

  9. Kelolsen says:

    Cloth Diaper Nation! much nicer.. you can hover over posts, leave rep (fun comments) for people, etc. Also, the no virus thing is a nice deal! No spankings either- just the fun kind.

  10. mickee311 says:

    I’m with them. CDN is nice. With a little bit of naughty now and again. DS gave me 2 viruses that totally scewed over my new video card. I have a hard time with it now.

  11. Deanner03 says:

    Screw DS and their viruses. CDN is my new “home” online!

  12. mommyof4es says:

    Just and FYI if anyone DOES get the Antivirus 2009 popup – do NOT click the “X” or “Cancel”. Use your handy dandy Ctrl-Alt-Delete to close it. THEN follow the directions here – http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/malware-removal/uninstall-antivirus-2009. I had to clean dh’s laptop up and this took care of it.

  13. Monkey says:

    Well, I’m off to sign up for Cloth Diaper Nation.

  14. Booyah says:

    CDN is where it’s at! No viruses, no pop-ups, no strikes, no banning, no hand-slaps for stupid crap, and you can actually talk about ADULT things there! Imagine – a board for grown-ups where you don’t get treated like a child!

  15. Monkey says:

    OMG has anyone seen this: http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=625328

    I just don’t even know what to say…

  16. Monkey says:

    Apparently you’re horrible and evil if your dog jumps the fence, but shooting a dog IN A RESIDENTIAL AREA WHERE THERE ARE FAMILIES is super cool.

    Sometimes I don’t know WTH is going through these people’s heads. I swear, it’s like I’m drowning in assholes sometimes.

  17. zosiasmama says:

    About the dog thread….the problem I have with those kinds of threads where people are complaining because someone shot their dog while it was roaming the neighborhood is that where they are devestated by the loss of their pet, it is essentially their fault. It all boils down to being responsible. If you have a doggy door and your dog escapes a lot, then board up the door! If you are gone 2 weeks a month not watching yout dog and your dog gets out a lot, you have only yourself to blame if something happens. I feel bad she lost her pet but she could have done a lot more to prevent it happening.

  18. Monkey says:

    I’m not arguing that she was irresponsible… I’m arguing that it’s pretty screwed up to fire a weapon in a residential area (where there are families and children!) at a dog that was neither rabid nor attacking another animal or person.

    I spent my summers on my grandmother’s farm, I’m not squeamish or anything, but I find what the man did to be just as irresponsible as not taking proper precautions to keep the dog in the fence. Dogs roaming around a neighborhood can be dangerous depending on the dog, shooting off a firearm in a neighborhood without good reason is DEFINITELY dangerous. Plus, I’m sure the mama understands that she is partly responsible.

  19. Monkey says:

    I mean’t wasn’t irresponsible

  20. Monkey says:

    Seriously, had the guy never heard of animal control?

  21. DSDM2 says:

    About the dog thread:
    How big are the lots? What was he shooting? What direction did he shoot?

    There is a lot to it. I am sorry for the loss of a loved family pet, but there are a lot of factors. That loved family pet may or may not have been trying to kill another neighbors loved family pet. My dog, as sweet and gentle as he is, kills cats. Nothing else, just cats. We had to make a run with a top on it and 12 inches of cement under it to stop him from getting out.

    There are safe ways to shoot even in slightly congested areas. If it was a shot gun at close range, isn’t that safer than a riffle that will ricochet? If there are no houses in the direction he was shooting, then was it crazy? If there was more than 1 acre per lot is that an issue?

    Too many factors, and the sad truth is, it was the pet owners fault. Plain and simple. Her dog became a nuisance and might have tried to kill another animal. How was he to know that the dog was nice? It may have tried to hurt him…

    I’m not defending him, or her. There are just too many sides to make a decision. People need to understand both.

  22. Monkey says:

    I just feel like unless the dog is rabid or attacking a human there is no justification for firing a weapon in a residential area. Like I said, I’ve spent a lot of my childhood on farms, I’m from the South, I know from guns and this is UNACCEPTABLE. If the rabbits were in a cage they safe at least long enough for the man to run the dog off or call animal control.

    I’m not saying the OP isn’t to blame, she obviously is, I’m just saying firing a weapon in a residential area is not acceptable unless a dog is rabid or attacking. If the lots are less than an acre it’s totally not cool.

  23. Monkey says:

    I mean, granted we don’t know the entire story, but IF it went down the way the OP said that’s my opinion.

  24. Sarah says:

    DS’s lovely virus killed my laptop. I had to pay $160 to get it fixed, it needed a new hard drive so I also lost everything that I had stored on it. I refuse to go there ever again…even when people post juicy drama links on here.

    And I agree…CDN is a gazillion times better than DS ever was!

  25. mamapixie says:

    So THAT’S what is wrong with my desktop. Thanks for the anti-malware link, hopefully that will actually fix the thing.

  26. mommyof4es says:

    You’re welcome mamapixie. 🙂 And Sarah, I needed a new hard drive to the tune of $160 this past Fall. Are you sure you aren’t me? LOL

  27. Rain Cloud says:

    yup, had the exact same virus boot on my computer about 2 weeks ago. Luckily it was while my DH was here but then he spent all night fixing my computer since it blue-screened on me!

  28. itsraininghere says:

    my dog would never hurt a person, but would kill any animal smaller than her in less than a minute. that’s why we keep her on a tight leash, literally. it’s part of having a pet. u have to protect them from themselves.

  29. mamapixie says:

    Mine isn’t blue screened, but it is deadly slow. I’m attempting to load the fix on the desktop right now.

    If I wasn’t involved in a trade on DS right now, I wouldn’t go there at all. AFter this transaction is done, I’m done over there.

  30. tjsmommy says:

    hmmm..i never had a problem with the virus thing, but i think i’m gonna check out cloth diapering nation anyway. never even heard of it before until this tread!!

  31. NotMeAtAll says:

    we use AVAST, it’s free and we have NEVER had a virus not even from DS

  32. nm45832 says:

    Off to try out CDNation… Seriously if DH knew that the evil virus had come from DS he’d have killed me, he still thinks he did it!

  33. mamapixie says:

    Yeah, I have Avast too, and use Firefox, and it still got my computer. Avast isn’t picking up the malware involved.

  34. AshleyB says:

    I really wish I were done with DS 😦 I’m involved in a ton of transactions over there…otherwise I would be done forever there (and I’ve been on CDN! Everyone should join! Very fun)!

  35. zosiasmama says:

    So glad to see so many of you have or are going to join us!! CDN is really is a life saver for cloth mamas who just can’t take the crap that DS dishes out on a daily basis!

  36. Monkey says:

    Wow! So sorry everyone is having virus troubles! We’ve got Avast and Firefox and I haven’t had a problem yet, but now I’m worried!

  37. cdmd1023 says:

    everytime i go on ds my spywear thing pops up. I know it has ruined my computer, when i turn it on something comes up and you have to wait lik 15 min before it starts working, and it wont shut down either, you have to just turn it off. it sucks.

  38. mamapixie says:

    So, I’m running that anti-malware program on my desktop, it has been running for 20 hours, and found 37 problems so far, mostly in the registry. I’m doing the thorough scan, but even so, I know that’s taking way too long. I’m just hoping to save my hard-drive long enough to get all the irreplaceable stuff off of it.

    To the above poster, run the program mentioned above.

  39. A Mom says:

    http://www.clothdiapernation.com C’mon over if you haven’t been there yet. We don’t do anything but WAHM ads there and we have WAY less drama! We won’t tolerate scammers either.

    FWIW, I use FF & AdBlockPlus and I use Avira Free (yes, it’s free) and no problems going to DS.

    If you’re still having issues after using the above scans, try CCleaner & Hijack This to clean more.

Leave a Reply

