So, I’m reading the thread “ ? Custom longies can cost $50+ do you spend that much on yourself??” and not even thinking about the blog, when I see this post:

http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=623618

Yesterday, 07:52 PM #23
Registered Users
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21
My Mood:

Re: ? Custom longies can cost $50+ do you spend that much on yourself??

No, I don’t and won’t. To each his own but, for me it would be a waste. We don’t reuse clothing over here like, pass it down or resale it. When something gets too small, we trash it. So, more than $25 on clothing for a baby or toddler would be crazy for me.

$50 for cuteness? In this economy? Not me, no mam, I just think it’s wasteful. Especially when some mothers look so *ahem* in need of a makeover, you could take that money and buy you and the baby some nice clothing and probably get a hair cut too.

All of this is just my 2 shiney pennies of course.

Yesterday, 11:00 PM #25
Lyttlewon vbmenu_register(“postmenu_5765761”, true);
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lost in Hyrule
Posts: 2,182
My Mood:

Re: ? Custom longies can cost $50+ do you spend that much on yourself??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edenite
No, I don’t and won’t. To each his own but, for me it would be a waste. We don’t reuse clothing over here like, pass it down or resale it. When something gets too small, we trash it. So, more than $25 on clothing for a baby or toddler would be crazy for me.

$50 for cuteness? In this economy? Not me, no mam, I just think it’s wasteful. Especially when some mothers look so *ahem* in need of a makeover, you could take that money and buy you and the baby some nice clothing and probably get a hair cut too.

All of this is just my 2 shiney pennies of course.

Throwing clothing away is literally wasteful. Why is it wasteful to spend $50 on something you are going to resell and recoup your expense instead of throwing it in the garbage .

Today, 12:14 AM #27
Edenite vbmenu_register(“postmenu_5766078”, true);
Registered Users
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21
My Mood:

Re: ? Custom longies can cost $50+ do you spend that much on yourself??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyttlewon
Throwing clothing away is literally wasteful. Why is it wasteful to spend $50 on something you are going to resell and recoup your expense instead of throwing it in the garbage .

How is that wasteful? We don’t wear other people’s clothing nor do we let other people wear ours.

Thus why we don’t buy excessively.

Do as you feel is right but, I don’t reuse other people’s clothing.

Are you seeing the craziness yet? Don’t waste $50 on longies, buy yourself and your kiddos some clothing, and when you can’t fit it anymore, just throw it away.  That’s not wasteful at all.  Anyone else scratching their head? Um, yeah, you can keep your shiney pennies.

Comments
  1. cdmd1023 says:

    this hurts my head. How does she not understand how wasteful that is! Atleast cut your clothing up and use it as dust cloths, somthing, but dont throw them away! How about all the needy families who cant afford to clothe thier children. So sad. Its hard to believe people are still so stupid about recycling these days.

  2. QueenofQuiteAlot says:

    My guess is she probably throws out her shin(e)y pennies too. It’s just so wasteful to keep them. And goodness knows we don’t want anyone else using them if she doesn’t want them.

    Also a bit snarkish on other moms needing makeovers, no?

  3. Monkey says:

    WTF? Ok. She is either a) the shallowest person alive or b) just totally freaking insane.

    What is wrong with wearing hand me downs? I mean, you wash them right? And is she saying that if she has two sons she wouldn’t let the younger one wear the older one’s outgrown clothes? I just spent a couple of hours going through my son’s old clothes and washing them to give to two other mamas I know who just had babies in the last week. I mean, some of these outfits were worn maybe twice… should I just throw them away? And the stuff that was worn a lot is still cute, warm and FREE clothing… gosh, I guess I need to get out the trash can though.

  4. eeek says:

    She acts like people are suggesting she wear other people’s dirty underwear. Or like her clothes are somehow blessed by having been worn by her family (we don’t let others wear them) and must be thrown away instead of passed on.

    My mom is a resale shop fiend, almost all of my kid’s non-wool clothes have been spotless, frequently unworn name brand stuff she bought for very little. Why in the world would anyone consider that gross? Why would it be better to get a new $5 t-shirt than spend $5 on a nice sturdy piece of used clothing that’ll last?

  5. Just Peachy says:

    God what a snot. And I bet she is nothing to look at too.
    Hand me downs are our lifeline. My youngest wears stuff that my oldest wears, my middlest wears stuff that her older sister and our neighbor’s dd has worn, and my oldest well my mom’s a garage sale nut so. I think someone needs to take their two shiny pennies and invest in a spell check and a reality check.

  6. haha says:

    OMG. I’ve thought I heard it all on DS…and then this batshit crazy lady.
    Kids grow so quick your lucky if they wear stuff for a few months. It’s still looks almost brand new. I buy almost all my kids stuff from Once Upon a Child (although I don’t sell it back to them because they will give you 10 cents for a gymbo outfit). And then I pass it on. Hell I have clothes I just passed to my best friend that have been through at least 3 kids and still are pristine. And don’t even get me started with how many babies have used my hug a bub.

    Do we give awards for craziest person on ds? She definitely needs it!

  7. Rain Cloud says:

    looks like she just posted to start drama. crazy whacko!

    I smell a scammer in the works. I’ll look for her in the future.

  8. Just Peachy says:

    Rain Cloud after I thought about I think that person is a troll. Why else would you post you throw clothing away on a cloth diapering site.

  9. o4eduk8ed says:

    Whew, what a snob. Between throwing away clothes and then making a snide comment about moms who need a makeover, yeah, she’s a gem.

  10. ibmo says:

    I am a long time lurker, but just had to post – what part of “diaper swappers” does she not understand? If she has issues about buying/selling used clothing, why even bother visiting the site? It would be like someone who has issues with same sex relationships visiting and commenting on a gay/lesbian dating site – something is just not right here.

  11. EmmJay says:

    Sheesh, sometimes the only way I get “new” clothes is to buy them secondhand. What a psycho as my daughter would say.

  12. Stacey says:

    what a whack! That’s fine if you don’t want to buy used clothes, but WHO throws clothes away (unless they are in bad shape)? Bizarre.

  13. eeek says:

    Yeah, trollish, after I thought about it, I clicked on her profile & almost all her posts were drama & semi-offensive.

    & exactly, ummm, diaperSWAPPERS. If she can’t stand the idea of clothing being owned more than once, why is she hanging out with a bunch of constantly-trading-diapers people? And criticizing it?

  14. What a Wanker says:

    Psycho

  15. Tara says:

    Wow. She’s cracked!

  16. JT says:

    She is looking at different women then I see on DS.

  17. Just Peachy says:

    Ugh check out her backpedaling.

  18. tongue biter says:

    Pretty ironic from someone on a cloth diaper website.

  19. MamaGeek says:

    Oh, this one is fun:
    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=624734

    I have it saved in case it gets deleted. Can you say troll?

  20. Just Peachy says:

    I just posted on that one. On one hand I think the OP is overreacting but on the other hand ppl just automatically jumped all over her. I think ppl need to take a chill pill today.

  21. Grogwench says:

    Can someone c&p? EVERY TIME I go to DS I get a nasty virus….every time, and it takes gobs of time to straighten out.

    Purty please….

  22. AshleyB says:

    I have most of that one saved if anyone wants! Basically the mama traded, didn’t get DC, and the item never arrived. SO, she traded back W/O DC (couldn’t afford it & took forever) and THAT didn’t arrive either. Now she has to refund the mama she bought from $20 (trade value) and is complaining she shouldn’t have to and said people were bashing her for telling her “YEAH, you DO have to pay! YOU traded and didn’t use DC”….to which she replied wahwahwah…my kids will starve. Fun post!

  23. need a new name says:

    why was it deleted??

  24. Shhh says:

    Oh yes, I knew that trade thread would make it here. What a piece of work!

  25. DSDM2 says:

    Ashley, don’t forget that she just threw away the receipt when cleaning for a big holiday party she threw… but her kids are starving…

  26. tntdynomite says:

    This lady is a pot stirer! Some peoplehav nothing better to do I uess than start crap.

  27. jeruco says:

    Edenite does not even have any children to clothe yet. She is pregnant. She doesnt realize that baby clothing does not get thrown away. Or at least i hope she realizes it should be donated or resused.

  28. werd says:

    WOW. just wow.

  29. werd says:

    that woman would have a seizure if she walked into my house… not only is 95% of ALL our clothing (me, dh, dd) hand me downs/resales… most of our furnishings and decorations are too *LOL*

    wait… maybe I should invite her over…

  30. Sarah says:

    Yeah, what Grogwench said. I can no longer visit DS because I can’t afford to keep fixing the problems the viruses cause my computer. I feel like I’m missing out on all the good drama! LOL

  31. Mama Geek says:

    Wow, I have yet to have an issue. I use Avast and AdBlocker combined…

  32. dippy says:

    wow i have 4 children and they only get new at christmas and birthdays and the start of the new school year the rest of the time when the oldest outgrows his stuff it gets passed to the next child..
    to just throw clothes away is wasteful..
    imagine how expensive it would be too buy each child new all the time…

Leave a Reply

