4oz wool yarn plus matching trim! (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=568913)

usnavypride 10-07-2008 11:31 AM

4oz wool yarn plus matching trim!
The yarn is from Family Pendragon Yarn and Crochet on Hyena Cart. This is her description from this yarn
“This is 4 ounces plus trim of what was supposed to be Aran BFL. Upon washing and dyeing it appeared to me that the colorway skein was either Bulky BFL or Gaia Bulky Organic Merino. The trim is Aran BFL. I see a very pretty soaker or newborn longies out of this pretty new colorway “Antique Roses” featuring soft apricot, pale rose pink, and buttercream.”

This is her description on for the Gaia as she doesn’t have a description of the other one. :headscratch:
“Gaia Organic Merino Bulky – 100% organic merino yarn, bulky weight, 4 ounce skein / 153 yards. Gauge: 3-4 sts per inch, 10 wraps per inch, needle size 10-11. A very smoothly plied, bouncy and well-defined yarn that is virtually free from any debris. . Takes dye in a softer, lighter, and often warmer way. Always a customer favorite and dreamy to work with!
$22.00 per 4 oz skein “.

I was going to try to crochet shorties but now that I’ve done some practicing on basic crocheting because it’s been awhile I’m afraid I’ll just put this pretty yarn to waste 😥

Her minimum fee for 4 oz of yarn is $22 so I’m asking $22.00PPD Which is like getting the trim and shipping for free 🙂 They’re brand new, I just got them in the mail and still in the plastic baggie. I’d just rather get something I will use since I’m too afraid of messing up the crocheting. :giggle2: I will trade for things on my ISO list.

topazdodge 10-07-2008 12:43 PM

Re: 4oz wool yarn plus matching trim!
Congratulations, I was wondering who got this, I entered for it too!:)
usnavypride 10-07-2008 12:45 PM

Re: 4oz wool yarn plus matching trim!
I’m going to get more from her later when I get more practice in… or maybe I can convince my grandma to make something for me…. I’m just sitting her looking at it going it’s SO pretty I don’t feel like I could do them justice 😦
leannrsd 10-08-2008 01:56 PM

Re: 4oz wool yarn plus matching trim!
wasn’t this yarn from a FFS lottery? :headscratch:
usnavypride 10-08-2008 02:03 PM

Re: 4oz wool yarn plus matching trim!
I did not get it through the diaperswappers free for shipping section so do NOT imply that, I got it on hyena cart. There are no stipulations on hyena cart what you do with the items you purchase or win in a lottery. I really think it is none of your business what I do with my items. Any items I have been blessed with through diaperswappers FFS section I have marked as such so that I will not resell them, the ones that are still in good condition when we are done with them will be passed on to miraclediapers. However those from hyena cart are not being FFS’d because of need (even though we are in need), they are so the sellers can allow people to try out their items and so they can build up their feedback. PLEASE stop being nosy and keep your nose where it belongs. If you don’t like an item I’m offering then just close the window.
leannrsd 10-08-2008 02:19 PM

Re: 4oz wool yarn plus matching trim!
Quote:

Originally Posted by usnavypride (Post 5021603)
I did not get it through the diaperswappers free for shipping section so do NOT imply that, I got it on hyena cart. There are no stipulations on hyena cart what you do with the items you purchase or win in a lottery. I really think it is none of your business what I do with my items. Any items I have been blessed with through diaperswappers FFS section I have marked as such so that I will not resell them, the ones that are still in good condition when we are done with them will be passed on to miraclediapers. However those from hyena cart are not being FFS’d because of need (even though we are in need), they are so the sellers can allow people to try out their items and so they can build up their feedback. PLEASE stop being nosy and keep your nose where it belongs. If you don’t like an item I’m offering then just close the window.

:thumbsup: Do your thing. I do want to add that Melissa at Family Pendragon is an AMAZING wahm with the best customer service
I have experienced. It was very generous of her to offer this item FFS, especially now when they are in need and raising funds for another baby. :goodvibes:

usnavypride 10-08-2008 02:50 PM

Re: 4oz wool yarn plus matching trim!
Quote:

Originally Posted by leannrsd (Post 5021765)
:thumbsup: Do your thing. I do want to add that Melissa at Family Pendragon is an AMAZING wahm with the best customer service
I have experienced. It was very generous of her to offer this item FFS, especially now when they are in need and raising funds for another baby. :goodvibes:

I never said anything bad about her. In fact I think she was really nice and the yarn is pretty. I’ve already recommended her to quite a few people. *shrugs*
Who knew craft supplies could be so entertaining?
Comments
  1. downy says:

    I wonder why she thinks it matters that she got it from HC instead of DS. I worry that WAHM’s will stop doing FFS lottos because of people selling them instead of paying it forward. Hmm…

  2. cdmd1023 says:

    wow, someone needs to calm down about their yarn!

  3. DSDM2 says:

    It’s hard for me to decide who is right… I mean, what is wring with making some money off of it? She didn’t enter b/c she was in need, no sob story, etc… I mean, is it wrong to sell a gift someone gave you? Or to return it for something different?

    Where is it a law/rule that you have to FFS it?

    But I can understand being an upset WAHM that gifted it…

  4. JustPeachy says:

    DSDM2 its not about that she got it free but its really tacky to sell things EVERYONE knows you got free.
    FWIW I have noticed a pattern lately that more WAHMs are doing FFS and HC$ stuff but if people decide to start selling them I doubt the wahms will bother anymore if people are going to start selling them. Why FFS something they can make money off of?

  5. cdmd1023 says:

    I personally see nothing wrong with selling something that was ffs, its the same as selling a $35 gm for $85 really. But….she could be a bit more classy about it, less angry, and list in the OP that this was infact ffs yarn.

  6. JustPeachy says:

    Or done it more covertly. But then again its not like people can’t figure out it was FFS considering the description.

  7. dazed says:

    As a WAHM who has offered my items in FFS lotteries before, I’d be pissed. Also, the tone that she took made me add her to my do not b/s/t list with a quickness. If you want some Family Pendragon yarn, go support the awesome mama who works so hard to make it! I just don’t feel right about people profiting from FFS lottos.

  8. cdmd1023 says:

    see, she said she was going to buy more yarn from said wahm, therefore the wahm is actually making money.

  9. not tellin says:

    Hmmm im not sure how i feel about this… i dont like the idea of not paying it forward, but i also know that when friends and I have done trades, we always tell the other to just sell it if you need the money. BUT, they arent made by that person, and personally, I couldn’t sell something I got FFS like that… but im not sure i can say its unethical…

    OTOH, i didnt like her “its not your business” response, that was pretty rude.

  10. thatONELaydeee says:

    I don’t see how selling a FFS item is anything like re-selling GMs for more than retail. At least w/ GMs, the wahm gets their portion out of it. When a wahm offers an item FFS they are doing it out of generosity, and is actually losing money (in this case on the undyed yarn, the dye used, and time it took to dye it). Then someone else turns around and sells it and DOES make a profit. sigh…oh well. Some people just suck I guess.

  11. Real Diaper Talk says:

    Her yarn, her decision period. I don’t understand the paying it forward thing. It’s nice and all, but she could be giving away other stuff too.

    She was rude but no more so than the poster calling her out.

    And I thought FFS lotteries were more about publicity yk having so many people come to the store

  12. cdmd1023 says:

    #10, yeah, your right….

  13. cdmd1023 says:

    they removed the neg. posts

  14. maree9304 says:

    see, she said she was going to buy more yarn from said wahm, therefore the wahm is actually making money.
    ———————————
    So she says…
    the wahm has yet to actually make any money until the OP actually buys something from her.

    Personally, I think it’s a little shitty to do something like that. There were probably a lot of people who really wanted that to use for their kiddos and someone else got it only to sell it. it’s shitty.

  15. AshleyB says:

    #10, I totally agree with you. And, I think it’s BS to do that. If she can’t knit, then she should just purchase a YYMN slot somewhere. There are a few WAHM’s with open customs.

  16. JustPeachy says:

    They should’ve left the other posts up. I guarantee no one would’ve bought from her.

  17. Mud says:

    Given that she tried to hide the source in the first post ~ sure sounded like she bought it! I was surprised to see that yarn, kwim? She was trying to be shady and failed and then got defensive

  18. haha says:

    I don’t see the problem. If the original WAHM wanted to make money off it then she wouldn’t have listed it as FFS. KWIM? Either way she’s still gaining exposure which (guessing here) was her plan anyway?

    Now the seller was horribly rude and didn’t need to be so ugly about it.

  19. thewhiteninja says:

    I think its shitty.

  20. werd says:

    that is so skanky – what a tacky beeotch!

  21. IndieBambino says:

    wow, who gives a fuck what the hell she does with her yarn. Not me. Unravel it for the cat, sell it at auction, wipe your butt with it, I dont really care. If I were here I wouldnt have explained anything at all and just said “Its for sale, period. If you want it, buy it, if you dont, then move on, nothing to see here….”

  22. DSDM2 says:

    #21, I agree. Why should she have to FFS it? I mean why does it matter?

  23. jale says:

    see but the problem is that people cant mind their own beeswax about what people do with what they buy. One person can sell something that was FFS with no issues, yet when someone else does it.. it becomes a big deal. Thats the game of DS though.

  24. Isn’t it great that in DS land, there’s this little “we should all hold hands and sing kumbaya as we give away our shit that we won” type of feel?

  25. JustPeachy says:

    The problem being if people are going to start selling their FFS winnings is that WAHMs will notice then just stop doing it all together. Then we all suffer because a few ppl had to be greedy bitches. I could understand selling it to recoup what she paid in shipping plus ship to the buyer but thats as far it goes.

  26. McMamma38 says:

    Agree w/the Drama Mama–LOL!

  27. Yup says:

    Looks at the sellers fb, this chick likes to get a lot of shit for free. Guess you gotta make an income somehow.

  28. sassy1 says:

    I could see trading it, for sure, but selling it for more than what she paid?

    I has a problem with greediness….and thats greedy.

  29. lilgamoma says:

    yeah, I can understand if she was doing a trade only for it & not attempting to sell it. There was no need for either to be rude, but many did know it was FFS, so it’s on them if they want to buy something she got for free. Someone may really just want that yarn, I wanted that yarn, lol. I know I’d be a bit upset too if I saw someone selling something I’d given them for free though. 😦

  30. DSDM2 says:

    BUT IT ISN’T YOUR YARN.

    I don’t get why we HAVE to follow this thought of pay it forward, or what have you.

    She gave credit to the WAHM, who will get business from people who like what they saw. Businesses give away things ALL the time to try to get customers.

    Once something is yours, it is yours. I think people need to suck it up. If you are going to give something away to someone, it might be sold.

    If I gifted a friend a baby item, and she sold it, I wouldn’t care. How is this any different?

    IT ISN’T.

  31. What a wanker says:

    I really, really wish people would mind their own damned business. Seriously, it’s no one elses business what anyone does with ANY ffs item, unless it was specifically given away with the express understanding that it is not to be sold and can only be transferred ownership by pay it forward.

    The WAHM may not have made anything off this FFS item, but what she did gain by it was the reason she offered it, exposure and advertising of her site. Believe me, WAHM’s do not offer FFS items out of nothing but the love and kindness that grows in their hearts. They do it to gain business and it’s just another way to expose their store to potential buyers.

    Once someone wins that item, it is theirs to keep unless there is some kind of detail in the offer that says they are only allowed to trade or FFS the item should they decide not to keep it.

    You are all blind if you think that the WAHM is only giving her things away because she just LOVES to give things away. She has aleady gained what she wanted from it, and it may or may not be monetary, but she is hoping it will be and it probably will. Not necessarily from the person who won the lottery, but maybe from 5 of the 100 who entered.

    And someone offering an item for sale that was FFS will not keep a WAHM from offering more lotteries, because that is not the point. The point is to get people into her store and no matter what happens with the FFS item after it’s done and over, it has served it’s purpose.

    Do you get it?

  32. The ORIGINAL Just Me says:

    I personally couldn’t sell something given to me free because it’s just wrong. When I first started cding, so many mamas gave me freebies when trading/selling to help me out so I did the same whenever I sold something.

    But thats just me.

    In the end, it is hers to do whatever she pleases.

  33. What a wanker says:

    btw-I hate my avi here! Do you all just want me to shut up? LOL!

  34. eeek says:

    As a WAHM who has had a number of FFS lotteries, I don’t care what anyone does with the stuff. At all. As has been said, it’s theirs at that point, & the biggest thing a FFS lottery does is get traffic, once the lottery’s over that part’s over for me. And while it’s in new condition, best time for them to sell it if it wasn’t their thing.

    If I had been given something FFS by a friend, not as a trade, I would feel like a skank for selling it though. That’s a very different thing.

  35. dazed says:

    I think the big issue here is not that she decided to sell the yarn so much as that she turned into a major bitch when someone asked her if she got it FFS. Yes, it may have been none of their business, but the way she went on the defensive made it look even worse.

    #31, I have done FFS lotteries just because I wanted to say Hey Thanks to the people who supported me during an awesome stocking. I’ll list it for a short time period, then send out a message to my email list & the mamas on my message boards telling them to go enter. It’s certainly out of the goodness of my heart…not just to generate traffic.

  36. What a wanker says:

    #35-and there was never any thought that the FFS lottery might generate some sales or at least some traffice? How long did the FFS lotteries last exactly? I just ask because if you wanted to do a FFS just for your wonderful customers, why don’t you email them offline and ask them if they would like to be entered and just run one offline for them? That seems like it would be more about being generous. Offering a FFS in your cart is always done as a way to generate traffic, even if there are other motives also. Or you could have done a 5 minute FFS, email your customers to tell them when with a direct link and then put it up at the correct time. That would be more like out of the kindness of your heart then one you “leave up for awhile and then inform customers of it”. I’m not trying to be rude, I just wanted to point out that it probably wasn’t just for your great customers.

    And while I agree that the poster didn’t need to get nasty, the attitude of other DS members would probably cause anyone to be defensive going into doing a sale like she did, then I’m sure she felt attacked when people started making those comments on her thread. so she got defensive. If people were kinder and more tolerant on DS maybe she wouldn’t have been so defensive. But the nastiness of many DS members is way out of control. I very rarely post anymore. The cattiness is just so childish on that board.

  37. DSDM2 says:

    #35, you do it to make customers happy. That isn’t out of the goodness of your heart. :twocents:

  38. kwootten2 says:

    I don’t know, it just wouldn’t have bothered me if I were the WAHM in this scenario.

    While I do sometimes do a ffs or totally free lottery on the boards I frequent just for the fun of it or to lighten the mood, if I’m advertising one on HC it is primarily for advertising purposes. Yeah it’s fun, and I do enjoy the happy reactions from winners, but it’s mainly something I do to drive traffic into my store and hopefully either catch some sales at that time or at least get someone’s attention for when they’re shopping later. What they do with that prize is really up to them- it’s theirs.

    Realistically, the cost of this item was paid advertising (and pretty inexpensive when you compare to other advertising outlets available). This WAHM not only got the ad time from her lottery, she got more time when the seller posted it on DS and gave her credit AND she’s gotten another hit from all of the attention it’s getting on this site. All things considered, she scored from a marketing standpoint on this whole mess!

  39. JustPeachy says:

    The way I see it is just because she did it on her HC means it was done solely to get more business. You can’t assume she didn’t just do it to be nice. Not everyone who has a HC is a DS mama and I think a lot of you forget that little fact.

  40. JustPeachy says:

    I meant wasn’t solely done.

  41. What a wanker says:

    Actually Peachy, I think you had it right the first time. Although it’s nice to get free things, for the most part, FFS lotteries done on HC ARE done solely to gain more business. I’m sure you would like to think otherwise, but you would be wrong. But if you want to live in the lands of farting rainbows, be my guest.

  42. notmeatall says:

    I have done FFS lotto and I could care less what happens to the stuff AFTER it leaves my hands. If they sell it FINE, it has my tag in it, that just makes MORE people that see my logo

  43. I forgot my screen name...woops says:

    I like how leann responded the second time 🙂

    Made seller look shadey, well done *thumbsup*

  44. R says:

    Yes, it’s hers to sell, but wow, tacky much?

    Honestly, I envision this woman with cars on cinder blocks in her yard and two foot high grass. I mean that’s just really tacky. If she needed the money she should have found another forum to sell it. Surely she knew that SOMEONE on DS would recognize the yarn.

    And her ridiculous overreaction to the post made it obvious that she KNEW what she was doing was wrong and was doing it anyway. If she genuinely felt no compunctions about it she wouldn’t have been such a bitch in her reply.

    And if you need to “practice” crocheting… go buy some cheap yarn, don’t practice on beautiful stuff like this!

  45. jbird says:

    now that she won this http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=567969 ffs , I wonder if this will be old too….

  46. jbird says:

    s/b sold not old

Leave a Reply

