Shut your mouth at DS.

Posted: September 18, 2008 by THE Drama Mama in Just Drama
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

–   –   The election and white priviledge (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=550232)

RetroBaby

09-17-2008 07:46 AM


The election and white priviledge

A must read.http://sunfresh08.wordpress.com/2008…te-priviledge/

Namaste

09-17-2008 08:00 AM


Re: The election and white priviledge

Wowwowowowowow! What a good read.

Rosie-Lily-Violet

09-17-2008 08:04 AM


Re: The election and white priviledge

I got my post deleted yesterday when I cut and pasted that and was called a racist. If I say too much more I’ll be banned, but I think it was misunderstood. Just letting you know! But if you wiki the author Tim Wise, you’ll see he’s actually an antiracist activist who has spoken to many college campus audiences.
Good luck with the discussion. Wish I could participate.

pinkflamingos77

09-17-2008 09:54 AM


Re: The election and white priviledge

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rosie-Lily-Violet (Post 4806055)

I got my post deleted yesterday when I cut and pasted that and was called a racist. If I say too much more I’ll be banned, but I think it was misunderstood. Just letting you know! But if you wiki the author Tim Wise, you’ll see he’s actually an antiracist activist who has spoken to many college campus audiences.
Good luck with the discussion. Wish I could participate.


WOAH… Are you for real? :headscratch:

RetroBaby

09-17-2008 09:55 AM


Re: The election and white priviledge

Huh. I was wondering why it hadn’t been posted.I’m surprised that no one really has anything to say about it… :headscratch:

Rosie-Lily-Violet

09-17-2008 10:33 AM


Re: The election and white priviledge

Quote:

Originally Posted by pinkflamingos77 (Post 4807475)

WOAH… Are you for real? :headscratch:


Yep, was feeling pretty lousy about being called a racist. Lots and lots of people said it! I had to go back and reread it to try and see it from that perspective, but couldn’t see it. The moderator reiterated that she felt it was “VERY racist” and that everyone else seemed to think it was too.
I hope I don’t get banned for talking about this policy. I was told if I posted anything “of similar context” I would receive a one year ban.
But I’d like to see what others make of it. I cut and pasted instead of putting a link. Maybe that was the difference? I put the whole thing in and changed the swear words to ***s.

Going out on a limb here to continue speaking… but I don’t think the author is saying that if you don’t vote for Obama, it’s because he’s black. It’s just trying to show some built in to our cultural mindset obstacles that minorities face. And I’m sure there are built in cultural mindset obstacles that women, including Palin, face.

pinkflamingos77

09-17-2008 10:36 AM


Re: The election and white priviledge

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rosie-Lily-Violet (Post 4807959)

Yep, was feeling pretty lousy about being called a racist. Lots and lots of people said it! I had to go back and reread it to try and see it from that perspective, but couldn’t see it. The moderator reiterated that she felt it was “VERY racist” and that everyone else seemed to think it was too.
I hope I don’t get banned for talking about this policy. I was told if I posted anything “of similar context” I would receive a one year ban.
But I’d like to see what others make of it. I cut and pasted instead of putting a link. Maybe that was the difference? I put the whole thing in and changed the swear words to ***s


that is ridiculous. I am sorry that happened. Crazy how people in the “waffle thread” can make remarks that seem racist to me and others but you post a article written by someone else and you are racist? that makes sense…not!

madebymommy

09-17-2008 10:53 AM


Re: The election and white priviledge

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rosie-Lily-Violet (Post 4807959)

Yep, was feeling pretty lousy about being called a racist. Lots and lots of people said it! I had to go back and reread it to try and see it from that perspective, but couldn’t see it. The moderator reiterated that she felt it was “VERY racist” and that everyone else seemed to think it was too.
I hope I don’t get banned for talking about this policy. I was told if I posted anything “of similar context” I would receive a one year ban.
But I’d like to see what others make of it. I cut and pasted instead of putting a link. Maybe that was the difference? I put the whole thing in and changed the swear words to ***s.Going out on a limb here to continue speaking… but I don’t think the author is saying that if you don’t vote for Obama, it’s because he’s black. It’s just trying to show some built in to our cultural mindset obstacles that minorities face. And I’m sure there are built in cultural mindset obstacles that women, including Palin, face.


:headscratch: BUT there were a lot of things said in the Obama waffle thread and no one gave it a sideways glance?! WTH?!

Rosie-Lily-Violet

09-17-2008 11:10 AM


Re: The election and white priviledge

Quote:

Originally Posted by munchkinsmomma (Post 4808274)

This is the part that I took to say that if Oboma doesn’t win, it’s because of racists…”And finally, white privilege is the only thing that could possibly allow someone to become president when he has voted with George W. Bush 90 percent of the time, even as unemployment is skyrocketing, people are losing their homes, inflation is rising, and the U.S. is increasingly isolated from world opinion, just because a lot of white voters aren’t sure about that whole “change” thing. Ya know, it’s just too vague and ill-defined, unlike, say, four more years of the same, which is very concrete and certain.”

Since I plan on casting my vote with McCain/Palin, and know several other like minded people who are going to vote for them for reasons that have ZERO to do with Oboma’s skin color, it’s a bit insulting to say that if we get what we want, its just because of white priviledge.

Like I said, I think it is great that he has been able to have such a successful campaign, and that this is going to be such a close race. My problem with him is his policies, not his skin color. It just irritates me that if he loses, people are going to think it is only because he’s black.

nak, so I hope I made sense…


I see what you mean about that line. I agreed so heartily with earlier statements in it, that I overlooked this one. But you’re right. It wouldn’t be the “only reason” if McCain wins. A lot of people support other views of his.

But the author, Tim Wise, made several very valid points about white privilege in earlier points, such as how the world sees Palin’s daughter, and how it might be different if it was another 17 year old who happened to be african american. I think the article is less about the election, than an easy illustration of white privilege in our society. It’s just that we’re so focused on the election right now. Mr. Wise speaks about white privilege in many other contexts across the country in anti-racist talks.

jujusmama

09-17-2008 12:01 PM


Re: The election and white priviledge

This is a great article. I posted on white priviledge last week when we were talking about racism and how it is often a misused term. A few people misunderstood initially too. I think people get thrown by the word “priviledge” when really we are talking about the everyday invisible things such as turning on the tv and seeing mostly white people etc…I can’t believe someone called you racist over this Rosie-Lily-Violet. If people don’t understand why putting an image of a Black man on a waffle box is racist (given the history of such images), then I am sure they would get defensive and say that but still.

Whoa, now DS is threatening people to the point they are scared to speak on topics at all? I know I’ve seen other posts on white privilege that didn’t result in much chaos. I wonder how many others feel they can’t talk about something for fear of banning.

And they’re keeping their promises: http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/member.php?u=10455

Comments
  1. jeruco says:

    So basically, if you get a strike you cannot tell anyone why or talk about it. She didnt even bash mods/admin in that thread. She just stated she got a strike for posting it. Other people questioned why she got the strike.
    You know you would think a non-white owner of DS wouldnt mind an article informing the public on White Privelage. Its about time people wake up to it. I am white and yes it was a hard concept to accept at first, but its true.

  2. Real Diaper Talk says:

    (rolling eyes) NOT surprised at all that ds would delete and then threaten a member for posting a article discussing (gasp!) real topics. Doesn’t matter if everyone agrees, well, in the real world, but of course we know ds ain’t.

    So, waffle talk, okay, no biggie. Editorial piece, no way, totally racist. Oh, wait, I have to remember the intelligence level at ds, lol.

  3. jeruco says:

    By the way if mods think that article is racist they really need to look up the definition of racism. Racisim is not just one race against another. It has to do with POWER. You have to have power over another race to be racist according to the definition. Most people just think racisim is being discriminatory to another race. Its not.
    Come DS, please dont have mods with very little education trying to tell people what racism is. Get an education first.

  4. DSDM2 says:

    ugh. Are we really surprised?

  5. AshleyB says:

    Wow. Sadly enough, I’m not suprised in the least! And, I didn’t find that to be “bashing” at all. Meh.

  6. trollin4friends says:

    reading that thread the other day about the tinfoil hats and now this, the intellectual level at ds is really embarrassing really.

    and before i get jumped on by the enlightened saying that the people making fun of the tinfoil head girl are right, its not who was right or wrong on that thread, it was the obvious oblivion to what is going on right now in the financial world and how that does have the potential to affect all of us, funds, savings, etc, and the two sides seemed to be fighting between, zomg end of days and no everything is fine have another iced frap. its like reality is completely lost on nearly EVERYONE over there, and the few who might have a clue hide it so they can blend in with the morons.

    /rant off

  7. ABCDEFG says:

    She’s been banned and probably doesn’t even know it yet because she’s online.
    This is sad, really. I try to only discuss diapers getting involved in political discussions is just a bad idea at this point in time.

  8. mamapixie says:

    I’ve been embarrassed by the intellectual level of most DS’ers for awhile now. Especially “how do I sun my diapers?” Or, “I run my diapers through 3 complete wash cycles, and my electricity bill skyrocketed. What do I do?” Really?!

  9. The Bored Bitch says:

    DS just needs to implement a no-off CDing topic discussion policy.
    Just get it over with.

  10. werd says:

    Seriously all the Debate/ Politics shit is getting way old. Every day there are new topics with women eating each other alive over politics. And how friggen lovely that they banned that lady for informing us that she was given a strike and called racist – whatever, if they give her a strike, so be it. But calling her RACIST? Way to be professional. What is DS, the new Nazi Germany?

    HEIL DS!!

  11. JustPeachy says:

    #10 really did you just now notice this? I mean did you see how quickly people got strikes for their avatars back mid August? Why the hell do you think I got banned as did most others. We didn’t shut our mouths and talked about shit that actually matters to most people (scammers, better forums, and *gasp* being pro life).
    Last nite my hatred of DS was renewed as I see the horrible double standard on there. It seems I could’ve scammed all I wanted(if I was that kind of person) and still been posting away but since I chose to speak of something that mattered I got a one year ban. Lee and his little sheeples need to get a fucking life.

  12. JustPeachy says:

    Fucking fascist pigs!

  13. AshleyB says:

    #10, it’s not Heil DS, it’s Heil Lee

  14. Jess says:

    Wow. Doesn’t surprise me.
    But it DOES piss me off!

  15. That Daddy says:

    DS LOVES to ban people over stupid things. I’ve been banned for a year, over a blinkie. Hell, even Joanna of Ella Gene’s is banned.

  16. Rika says:

    The “community” aspect of DS is failing. It should just stick to swapping diapers and not swapping opinions.

  17. What a wanker says:

    I rarely, and mean, rarely post anymore at DS. You aren’t allowed to have an opinion there, and if it differs, you are on the outs with the skanky ho’s who run the place. I have really started doing a serious weaning from the place.

    This is ridiculous really, there was nothing wrong with posting this link. It is completely not racist in the smallest sense. It is showing the mindset of our american society. It’s actually very good and very true. (and I’m a white woman).

    The more I read the more I’m leaning towards Obama.

    Did McCain actually call his wife the “c” word in public? Did he really abandon his first wife after an accident that left her disfigured? Those things right there are disgusting and a deal breaker for me. I don’t know if they are true, as this link was the first I’ve heard about it but I’d kick any man’s ass who treated me like that. And I would NOT vote for him to run my country. What a scumsucker!

  18. appletree602 says:

    I’d say just the opposite. Moderators need to back off of censoring opinion, and focus more on protecting against scamming and offering assistance when it happens. Policing the discussion board for “offensive” opinions is just ridiculous.

  19. givepeasachance says:

    I honestly can’t figure out why people even bother to post an opinion on DS. Nine times out of ten it’s gonna get the person warned/banned. If FSOT wasn’t the lifeline of my stash I’m sure I’d be all over talking some shit, but I need the bishes to CD my bb. Sigh.

  20. Nicki says:

    Since last week, I’m not touching the political threads with a ten foot poll. The lynch mob is out and foaming at the mouth and I already have some BS strikes against me. UGH.

  21. JustPeachy says:

    #18 exactly. I belong to several other boards that are NOT overly moderated and while drama does arise on occasion, it fizzles out on its own. I think that the mods need to stop worrying about ppl actually having an opinion and start trying to protect people from scamming. Its disgusting the amount of scammers that site protects.

  22. JustAMama says:

    I agree. I think they are out for blood, and they don’t really care who it’s coming from.

  23. not tellin says:

    Lee isnt white? Wow he totally strikes me as a typical middle aged white asshole rich dude.

    And i seem to remember others getting strikes for CALLING people racist, so i hope whoever called the PP a racist got a strike too, or maybe that only counts if you call a friend of a mod a racist?

  24. DSDM2 says:

    I think Lee is white. I thought I saw family pics.

  25. dazed says:

    Regardless of what color skin Lee & Juan & whoever else have, I’ve come to the conclusion that their personal religious beliefs come into play far too often in what ought to be an objective forum. Just from my own googling and time spent on DS…and that’s all I have to say about that.

  26. Molly says:

    Oh, and the same pic is also on his own website

    http://www.leedodd.com/about-lee-dodd/

  27. Stacey says:

    “The more I read the more I’m leaning towards Obama.

    Did McCain actually call his wife the “c” word in public? Did he really abandon his first wife after an accident that left her disfigured? Those things right there are disgusting and a deal breaker for me. I don’t know if they are true, as this link was the first I’ve heard about it but I’d kick any man’s ass who treated me like that. And I would NOT vote for him to run my country. What a scumsucker!”

    I have seen no proof that McCain called his wife a “c”. The book that it is alleged in was written by a democratic strategist. The reporters who heard it (per the book) remained anonymous. So, you don’t even have an actual person saying they heard it. You have an anonymous person that is quoted by a democrat. Who of course will be trying to destroy McCain’s character. This to me sounds in line with accusations that Obama is a Muslim. Not based in truth but obviously incite strong emotion and will garner votes for the opposing side.

    I think the reasons that McCain left his first wife are unknown to anyone other than the two of them. They are apparently on good terms with one another and she has been quoted as saying that McCain would be the best pick for president (which I wouldn’t say if I had been through a messy divorce). McCain did say in an interview that his greatest moral failing was the failure of his first marriage and takes full responsibility for it ending. Although he obviously did some wrong there (and claims that) it was years ago and none of us have a perfect personal life. I’m sure many of us have marriages that ended that we regret.

    It’s definitely hard to figure out what is truth and what is slander in politics. The challenge is to find out where the candidates stand on the issues and not to be caught up in the circulating lies.

    I digress… back to the regularly scheduled drama…

  28. GMLovah! #1 Fan says:

    I wonder when people are going to start getting banned for their comments here on the blog. I’m waiting for it.

  29. AshleyB says:

    I know the mods read it #29, so I’m sure it’s just a matter of time.

  30. indiebambino says:

    #25, wow, its all becoming clear. So here’s a really scary idea….DS is sort of like a harem to this guy (meaning Lee), a privileged young white guy “with the right stuff” comes along and gives all of us poor housewives a place to chat and yuck it up, EXCEPT, he gets to control everything we say, read and even who gets to be in his harem (choices made at his whim). I’m starting to feel queasy….

  31. Crazy Mama Lisa says:

    #10, that’s my thoughts EXACTLY. DS is the newest Nazi community. You can’t have an opinion unless it conforms to their rules. You can’t bash DS or you are exiled. You get banned for basing the idiotic mods. Whenever I see someone banned for “mod bashing” I just picture a little third grader crying because he got called a silly name. If you can’t take the criticism, DON’T BE A MOD!!

    I saw a mod poke fun at the tin foil lady, why wasn’t she banned or stripped of her title? Hmmmm? Did she not violate the rules?

  32. haha says:

    and what about the mama in the op that wasn’t bashing mods at all…just stating what she got a strike for and they banned her for a year. If they would have ONE set of rules all the time then people wouldn’t have to post on threads that you need to be careful of x,y,z because they got a strike…everyone would know. But Tuesdays rules are totally different from Saturday’s rules!

  33. JustPeachy says:

    #32 its a double standard. Mods can do whatever the hell they want and get away with it pretty much. Why do you think Tara is still a mod? Shes a big fucking pot stirrer from the word go. And to prove a point go look at most of the semi dramatic threads on DS and see her replies.

  34. ela says:

    tinfoil hat chick brings a whole new level/meaning to the “don’t drink the kool-aid” idea. I hope she’s not serving that at birthday parties…..

  35. Don'tDrinkTheWater says:

    I don’t get it. I don’t see how it’s racist. Tim Wise wrote the book on White Privilege. Seriously. It’s called “White Like Me”.

    I remember during the big bannings earlier in the year, Lee said something like “DS isn’t your home on the web. It’s a place for diapers.” At least he’s straight on one policy.

  36. Stacey says:

    So, is the new diaper site still in the works? I have some other message boards I love, but nowhere else that I can b/s/t and get diaper advice!

  37. JustAMama says:

    Wait what’s the tinfoil lady thing? I missed that!

    And Lee is like the super-Hitler. He admitted somewhere (saw it, can’t remember where, but not on DS) that he purposely does these things (deleting, banning, etc.) because he wants DS to look nice and neat, clean, and happy – so it doesn’t scare off advertisers. ADMITTEDLY. Any sign of scandal or uproar is bad news for business, as far as he’s concerned.
    WTF?!

  38. JustPeachy says:

    What Lee’s not making enough money already? Talk about being a greedy asshole. I hope karma comes back and bites him in the ass big time.

  39. Stacy says:

    So who’s up for starting a new site??

  40. JustPeachy says:

    I already did and we have a few members. Not spamming but feel free to check it out http://fluffnation.proboards102.com/index.cgi
    Don’t have very many members yet so not very many posts but its censorship and scammer free.

  41. Stacey says:

    I heard awhile back there was about to be a big board opening? Someone posted that to a thread.

  42. JustPeachy says:

    Stacey no clue what happened on that.

  43. boredboredbored says:

    so why would lee be proud of the fact that he is uneducated, especially not even a HS diploma? i can understand not having a college diploma…but no HS one? doesn’t that kind of make him ignorant? why would he write that on his sites??

  44. The ORIGINAL Just Me says:

    What??? Censorship at DS? NO FUCKIN’ WAY!!!!!

  45. maree9304 says:

    44, because he charges people to learn what he knows. he’s saying ‘i don’t even have a hs diploma and look at me now! now come to my 2,000 dollar per-person conferences and i’ll tell you how to make 5,000 dollars a day, just like i do!’

  46. The Bored Bitch says:

    Lee still just a loser who feels insecure enough to maintain a death grip on a cloth diapering forum…who is uneducated enough about his audience to spam Huggies products to the cloth diapering masses.
    Yet, he is going to tell you how to reach your target audience. Wait, no, he is going to charge you to learn from his vast experience. (I just rolled my eyes so hard I have a headache forming)

    He maintains websites.
    When he changes the world, Ill attempt to be impressed.
    Hell, I might even raise an eyebrow slightly in vague, yet still semi-uninterested approval.

    Until then, I will just sit here, snarking on his ridiculous clusterfuck of a cloth diapering forum.

  47. Bloo♥ says:

    I do not agree with censorship but I also do not agree that Lee Dodd or DS is in anyway comparable to Nazi Germany or the Nazi party. They may be heavy on conformity but they are not rounding nonconformist up on trains and shipping them off to camps. I very much dislike the way Nazi is used completely out of context to the true horror that occurred during Hitlers vile time.

  48. dazed says:

    Ok, this is way OT, but I find it amusing that Tara apparently thinks tinfoil hat lady is cool & is sad that she might be leaving DS: http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showpost.php?p=4835762&postcount=183

    Somehow, it doesn’t surprise me…I should’ve known Tara was a tin hat chick.

  49. Frazzled says:

    OT but this thread is totally scammer suspect. First, they are FB listed as fitteds and one of them looks black which is not a FB color. Thoughts?
    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=553299

  50. AshleyB says:

    #50, it said no thread specified =/

  51. Frazzled says:

    They moved it to the pockets and everyone said it did not look odd to them…that FB used to be in black, etc. I guess for me it was the fact that someone had it listed in fitteds which indicates a lack of knowledge about diapers to me combined with no post except new listings and joined on the 17th. I wouldn’t buy them but I guess nobody else thinks it is odd.

    It has been moved to pockets now.
    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=553362

  52. cdmd1023 says:

    having shel in the name #52, makes me thing of the scammer.

  53. Frazzled says:

    Who takes their pics on a black backdrop? Anytime I see fake dipes on ebay they are on a black backdrop.

  54. werd says:

    take a chill pill Peachy, I just joined DS about a month ago!

  55. AshleyB says:

    #53…what is that about? Sounds like good drama!

  56. MamaGeek says:

    @55 – I do, actually. Depending on the item, I do either white or black. It looks better to me.

    I don’t eBay anymore though so I don’t know anything about that!

  57. Bloo♥ says:

    #50 I own a black FB that I purchased FSOT over a year ago.

  58. JustPeachy says:

    #56 I didn’t mean to seem like a snot face I swear 🙂

  59. MajKitab says:

    I’ve had a few black FBs. They were all Petite Toddlers, if that makes any difference.

  60. thewhiteninja says:

    someone on Buttfucks.cum (breastfeeding.com) posted the same article and they are a bunch of racist fucks too except for 2 posters on the whole thread.

  61. me says:

    #52

    FB most defiantly made black.

  62. me says:

    #50 sorry.

  63. Frazzled says:

    Ok, they made black. I did not realize that and the listing, for many reasons seemed odd to me outside of that.

  64. Stacey says:

    #62… so does it make me racist if I don’t think the article is true? Obama has gotten way more publicity from the get go, is hugely popular, has a fun interview on The View while McCain gets slammed. Maybe it’s just me, but I’m not seeing where McCain is getting an easy ride while Obama gets it rough.

  65. Frazzled says:

    I need something else to talk about……What about this? Thoughts? I noticed the congo she joined is a previously mentioned Mookie congo.

    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=551438

  66. appletree602 says:

    This is what the senior moderator said in that thread

    “You’re right–you don’t. Members are not usually banned for one infraction. They’re banned for multiple, MULTIPLE infractions. We typically follow a ‘three strikes, you’re out’ policy, so you’ve got to repeatedly violate the rules for us to take any serious actions. As of late, we’ve found members with as many as TWELVE violations. There comes a time when it becomes clear that a member is not putting much effort into trying to follow the clearly-stated rules (given each and every time you’re PM’d for a violation) and the admin. team has to enforce the consequences. It sucks and we don’t enjoy it, but it has to be. ”

    Okay, as someone banned, I can say that in my case, I got a warning (or “strike” ) one time ever, and when I mentioned it (not rudely) it was construed as “bashing” and got a one month ban. Administrator promised to look into it, but I have heard nothing.

  67. tweedledee*dee says:

    Regular reader, first time poster.

    I want to know what happened with Lil Outlaws too, if anyone knows. I have dealt with her and been happy. I also have had a couple of deals with another WAHM in that congo and have been happy with her, too.

    Is there more to this that we should know?

  68. TL says:

    68, I got one warning from them and was told that if I did anything again I”d be banned no more warnings or strikes, lol it was because I called some one a moron in a post, I knew it was against the rules, but seriously just couldn’t hold back. The best part was the amount of people who pm’d saying thank you, they totally agree’d with me that she is a moron lol. I questioned the whole, one warning and then told I would be banned and the MOD told me basically they can do what they want.

  69. JustAMama says:

    Yep from what I hear, taylormom had only had one “violation” previously, and it was for a large siggy the day she joined, not knowing any better I assume..

    They claim to have a consistent set of rules they follow, but it doesn’t appear to be the case.

  70. Frazzled says:

    I thought the whole thing seemed odd and she certainly didn’t seem like a bad mama.

  71. #69 – In regards to Lil Outlaws, she started a thread asking about why the Ella Gene lady had been banned. She “bashed” DS rules and whatnot because she thought it was stupid that the lady was banned. DS didn’t like it, and she probably got 3 strikes from that thread.

  72. werd says:

    wow. lovely place to post (as you pray to god that you don’t offend ANYONE and get banned for it). Maybe I should stick to HC… I’ve been on DS a month and the whole place just seems really ridiculous.

    And for #48 bitching about me using Nazi Germany as an analogy – half of my (dad’s side) family was exterminated in Auschwitz. You take it way too seriously – and I was referring to the manipulation that the mods and admins dole out to the members, putting the fear of banishment in them and forcing them into conformity as their “rules” and ideals constantly change. Who the hell can keep up?

    Peach – its all good 🙂

  73. Molly says:

    Why did Joanna from Ella Gene get banned? Somebody fill me in on that one. Thanks!

  74. Frazzled says:

    It doesn’t seem in their best interest to ban popular WAHM’s. It seems like there are some Mod’s with power trips.

  75. AshleyB says:

    TaylorMomof2 had a stupid ban. No strike, no warning–just a ban (like everyone else it seems)…and the previous “large” siggy was 4 lines on her widescreen monitor, and ended up being 5 on a mod’s smaller resolution monitor…and that was like a year ago. I totally agree they shouldn’t ban popular WAHM’s…

  76. Frazzled says:

    I’m just creating my own content lately.
    Okay…who is this about so I know to avoid their HC.
    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=553982

  77. AshleyB says:

    #78, no clue but I want to know as well!!

  78. JustAMama says:

    Ashley her ban was reduced to 2 months though, so at least that’s good!

  79. matildasmum says:

    #78

    Lindsey at Rainbow Waters – which is not like her at all. At least in my experience. 😦

  80. Erin says:

    #78, it was about Lindsay at Rainbow Waters. 😦 Totally not like her. If you go to her HC, she has a post about how she took on way too much at one time. At least she has apologized and is taking steps so it never happens again. Her stuff is TDF and her CS is usually amazing.

  81. Erin says:

    I also want to know why the Ella Gene mama was banned. Does anyone know the scoop on that?

    Banning nice mamas, popular WAHM’s is only going to backfire on DS.

  82. JustAMama says:

    Erin something about two spam violations (once she was a newbie and posted in extra fluffy not knowing better, and once she was FFS-ing something and wanted the recipient to know where it was from so she put a link to her store) and one siggy violation for a blinkie that was like, 20 pixels too big I think.. but still that should’ve been 1 warning and two violations.. she should’ve had another strike before being banned, right?? I can’t keep up with the way DS counts. :/
    One of the other mamas on here though said that she came back with more names and was spamming her own store. I heard they changed her 1 month ban to permanent now 😦
    That sucks, her diapers are incredible.

  83. cdmd1023 says:

    according to admin, someone from her exact Ip addy made 3 more screen names trying to post on ds, posting that she was new to ds and asking questions about ella genes…I emailed jcburn…and she claimed to know nothing about it, hopefully she isnt telling a lie and some how someone is messing with her. admin of course doesnt care to investigate any further.

  84. JustAMama says:

    that’s typical of admin.. I sent her an email today, I hope she gets back to me. I hope somebody is screwing her over, maybe she could petition admin to investigate. I really hope it’s not her lying about it.. 😦

  85. JustPeachy says:

    Honestly if I remember correctly its EXTREMELY unlikely for someone to have the same exact same IP addy as her UNLESS they are hi jacking her internet.

  86. JustAMama says:

    Yeah I talked to her.. I don’t think it was her, really and truly. IDK how somebody would have her IP address though? How are IPs numbered? By geography, or time they’re opened, or.. ?? I’m computer stupid.
    I mean, could somebody at a public library near her do it? Same apartment complex?? Not sure how it would be the same as her’s, but I just don’t think Joanna did it.

  87. JustPeachy says:

    If she was going on thru the public library then that would be feasible as the computers share a connection hence the IPs could be the same.

  88. JustAMama says:

    I wonder if that could be the case.. would it be the same with a workplace connection? (like the whole office on a network?)
    IDK if she’s thought of these things, and if it’s one of them I’d love if she could bring it to admin’s attention.. not sure why a coworker/library patron would do something like this, but I’d love to keep hope that Joanna didn’t do what they say she did.

  89. cdmd1023 says:

    I believe she said everyone in her buidling shares internet source. but…this person would have to know her and ds and all that jazz, not just some kid or a dh, these fake people knew there way around ds well and were clearly trying to pomote ella genes.

  90. Frazzled says:

    Even on the same work network every individual computer has an individual IP address. The only plausible options are that
    1) She is lying and she did it,
    2) Someone has a pretty elaborate and expensive scheme going trying to frame Joanna by duplicating IP addresses with software and hardware
    3) The whole thing never happened and the Admins are making it up.

    IP’s are not the same, just like home addresses and phone numbers are not the same. Duplicate IP’s may occur among the FBI and hackers, not someone interested in DS. The only other option is 1 and 3. Given what you guys say about Joanna it would likely be #3

  91. DSDM2 says:

    You ladies would be surprised how many share IPs and how easy it is to figure out who is who.

  92. Frazzled says:

    DSDM2 – you mean share IP’s as in the same person or two people on one computer or people duplicating IP’s?

  93. DSDM2 says:

    We have a few IPs here that over 20 people share. And I know for a fact that they are different people.

  94. JustAMama says:

    Man I wish I weren’t so computer dumb. :/

  95. JustPeachy says:

    Thats weird because I thought IPs were a way to track people in essence in cases of internet fraud and hacking.

  96. downy20 says:

    I was always under the impression that each internet service provider owns a bank of IP addresses. Each time I sign on, I get a new IP address. If I get banned from a site, I need only sign off and back on to get a new IP. My old IP is then put back in the pool. The next person, with the same internet service provider as me, that signs on will pick up my old IP address. So, banning by IP address is the dumbest thing ever, IMO. My internet service provider is nationwide, so conceivably, anyone in the US could have the same IP as me in the same day. I could be wrong though…

  97. Frazzled says:

    What do you mean when you say “sign on”? If you have a dial up than yes, you get a new one each time you sign on. If you have cable, DSL, T1 line, etc. you will have a dynamic IP, that is, it is not set to you but it changes each time your modem is reset. I could get a new IP but I would have to completely reset my modem…otherwise I have the same one all the time.

    I am really puzzled how there are 20 plus people with the same IP address.

  98. JustPeachy says:

    #99 that is not true as mine is static. I technically have two IPs as I have one when I run internet straight thru my cable modem and another when I run my modem thru my router to my computer. Most dial up IPs are dynamic while cable/dsl IPs are generally static.

  99. Stacey says:

    “I am really puzzled how there are 20 plus people with the same IP address.”

    That’s because it’s really just you and me commenting on here. I just change my name a lot!

  100. downy says:

    #99 I use mobile broadband to connect and I don’t like to stay connected if I am not actually online. I log off between sessions.

  101. DSDM2 says:

    AOL and other companies re-use IPs for a lot of people. So, thousands of people have the same IPs. Same goes for Starband and a few others.

  102. Stacey says:

    #104… I’ve been reading that same thread and wondering what it is about…

  103. Frazzled says:

    #106
    Oooh, I wonder who that is.

  104. thismelrocks says:

    I know who it is…Simple search of the OP posts will show you.

  105. mamapixie says:

    The previously mentioned thread originally said the seller was a MOD, the poster must’ve been told to edit that part out.

  106. thismelrocks says:

    #109

    I pm’d her and told her to take it out. It would have for sure been deleted had she left it.

    I wonder what is up with the MOD in question?

  107. JustPeachy says:

    Which mod is it? Don’t forget some of us banned mamas cannot do a search to find out who it is 😦

  108. thismelrocks says:

    #111 it’s kissum.

  109. trolltastic says:

    Melissa5 probably needs to be watched as a potential scammer! She posted that her sister ripped her off and basically stole money from the government, yet she is on assistants, getting a house built by habitat for humanity, and can buy her kids $300 carseats, wii’s, ETC.

  110. bin. says:

    113! THANK YOU for seeing that. I thought I was the only one. ugh. I am so sick of all the mamas I keep seeing who type something to the effect of “well we don’t need it, but we qualify, so why not? FREE MONEY!” I want to punch them in the face.(not talking about the ones who qualify and NEED assistance here.)

  111. JustAMama says:

    LOL that’s a visual that made my day..
    I definitely believe in getting it if you NEED it, but those who are getting it just cause they can.. shame. Especially those who are lying/not claiming income, etc. just to get it when they really don’t need it to survive..

  112. bin. says:

    The part that really annoys me is that I know some families who had a lot(for ex. wii’s, nice cars,etc..etc.) and then needed assistance, and ok. I can sympathize, though it often frustrates, but someone who is ON assistance, and is i the process of having a home built for her by HH, and she is talking about what accessories to buy for her new video games? give me an ever loving break.

  113. JustPeachy says:

    Ok I just noticed my DS ban got shortened??????? Im back on DS as of 11/20

  114. DSDM2 says:

    #117: Don;t you just love those arbitrary rules? LOL. Will you be going back? Hmmm…. How about I ask you in a new blog entry… off to make it.

  115. JustAMama says:

    Peach it looks like they’re shortening a lot of their bans – they claim it’s “to make recent bannings more uniform”.. ???
    Are you going to go back or not give them the satisfaction?

  116. trolltastic says:

    114, I had to hold my tongue. When I saw her first post about her sister, I wondered why some people were being so rude to her, as her sister DID rip off the government. Then I saw her post about HFH, which was just asinine. HFH may not give free homes, but they are all based on charity work and that just made me sick. I used to do charity work for them, and let me tell you if I saw one of those families (never, ever did) with $300 carseats and WII’s, etc, I might vomit.

  117. tat2mommy says:

    Never posted here before…just found out about the big “secret” blog lol

    Doing some reading as my mom used to frequent DS and I just have to know…is my mom the Tin Foil Hat Lady? She did make tin foil hat comments on that economy thread…I have never heard my mom talk like that before and LMAO! WTF is a tin foil hat anyway?? lol

    Also wonder if anyone will be able to figure out who I am… get to work sleuths hahahaha 😉

Leave a Reply

