Being a teen mom/having a pregnant teen daughter makes you less of a person (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=535299)

MRBLayaw 09-01-2008 10:23 AM

Being a teen mom/having a pregnant teen daughter makes you less of a person
That’s what some people seem to think here. Makes me sick. :yuck:

http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/…=1#post4646609

trippsmom 09-01-2008 10:33 AM

Re: Being a teen mom/having a pregnant teen daughter makes you less of a person
I guess that mom has something to say to all of us that weren’t married when we got pregnant or were, GASP, TEENS!
connorsmama 09-01-2008 10:35 AM

Re: Being a teen mom/having a pregnant teen daughter makes you less of a person
I was 17 when i had my first child and 19 when i got married… nothing wrong with that at all. it was my choice to do the things i did..:2cents:
MRBLayaw 09-01-2008 10:35 AM

Re: Being a teen mom/having a pregnant teen daughter makes you less of a person
Yep, and our moms who didn’t desert us, because apparently it makes THEM less-than-good people, too. :banghead:
togg_mama 09-01-2008 10:37 AM

Re: Being a teen mom/having a pregnant teen daughter makes you less of a person
One word: politics. It’s only going to be more drama as we get closer to November.
amandaev 09-01-2008 10:44 AM

Re: Being a teen mom/having a pregnant teen daughter makes you less of a person
Honestly, a teen pregnancy could have realisticly happened to more of us than not. If you were having s3x as a teen it could have been you. Typically teens have s3x. S3x typically makes babies. And for whatever reason you (in genereal) either did or did not get pregnant as a s3xually active teen. Who knows why I didn’t. I’m obviously fertile. I was “active” as a teen. It *could* happen to just about anyone. Its just sad that some people are so judgmental.
Hippy 09-01-2008 10:45 AM

Re: Being a teen mom/having a pregnant teen daughter makes you less of a person
NO ONE was saying that.
hippydippymama 09-01-2008 10:46 AM

Re: Being a teen mom/having a pregnant teen daughter makes you less of a person
Wait, you mean 17-year-olds actually HAVE S3X?!? And s3x makes BABIES?!?

Learn somethin’ new every day!

elabela 09-01-2008 10:47 AM

Re: Being a teen mom/having a pregnant teen daughter makes you less of a person
I didn’t see anyone making any judgements about ‘unwed’ mothers,etc..etc.. I saw someone link to an article discussing the private life of a vice presidential candidate? shocker.
amandaev 09-01-2008 10:47 AM

Re: Being a teen mom/having a pregnant teen daughter makes you less of a person
Quote:

Originally Posted by hippydippymama (Post 4646774)
Wait, you mean 17-year-olds actually HAVE S3X?!? And s3x makes BABIES?!?

Learn somethin’ new every day!


It seems like there are still a few who dont know. Maybe mom wouldn’t sign the permission slip for S3x Ed.??

MRBLayaw 09-01-2008 10:50 AM

Re: Being a teen mom/having a pregnant teen daughter makes you less of a person
Quote:

Originally Posted by hippydippymama (Post 4646774)
Wait, you mean 17-year-olds actually HAVE S3X?!? And s3x makes BABIES?!?

Learn somethin’ new every day!


:giggle2: You always make me giggle.

abbi77 09-01-2008 10:51 AM

Re: Being a teen mom/having a pregnant teen daughter makes you less of a person
I didn’t read the thread, but I think the issue isn’t simply that she has a pregnant teen daughter, it’s that she takes a strong stance that is not only anti-abortion, but also anti-birth control/abstinence only. Not saying it’s right to go after her/her daughter either way (as a now-grown teen mom myself), but that’s what I understand of her politics from reading other news articles…
elabela 09-01-2008 10:54 AM

Re: Being a teen mom/having a pregnant teen daughter makes you less of a person
Abstinence only is one of the stupidest(imo) ‘educational’ related activities I can ever imagine, and I can’t even understand how it is endorsed by anyone.
raindrop_333 09-01-2008 10:58 AM

Re: Being a teen mom/having a pregnant teen daughter makes you less of a person
I didn’t read anything about anyone judging the young pregnant daughter at all, and I did read through those threads. The link was posted and discussed, but nobody said teen pregnancy was a bad thing.

I agree that teaching abstinence alone is rediculous, and obviously doesn’t work if that’s what Sarah Palin teaches her children and her young unwed daughter is pregnant *gasp* Once again, teen pregnancy is not a bad thing, and I’m not saying that at all (I had my first at 17). Maybe the abstinence only technique should be reconsidered. Teens have sex, that’s a part of life. Thinking yours won’t because you teach them abstinence might work, but it probably won’t. Just my :2cents:

mikoto127 09-01-2008 11:00 AM

Re: Being a teen mom/having a pregnant teen daughter makes you less of a person
Quote:

Originally Posted by hippydippymama (Post 4646774)
Wait, you mean 17-year-olds actually HAVE S3X?!? And s3x makes BABIES?!?

Learn somethin’ new every day!


WHA–
s3x makes BABIES?! I thought it made for uncomfortable dinner conversation :giggle: And, 17 year olds aren’t having as much s3x as anyone thinks…ever hear of XBOX? It’s a problem in teen relationships as much as it is in real marriages. Guys would rather shoot their friends in Halo than spend time with their girlfriends.

 

Really now, is this what that thread was even about? Talk about reaching and overreacting.

Comments
  1. Tara says:

    I totally new this was going make the drama blog, lol.

  2. Tara says:

    ummm knew rather. 😛

  3. Zukey says:

    No real drama here, but when I saw the title of this thread, I wanted to say “Ya think?!? NO SHIT!”
    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=535697

  4. not tellin says:

    MRBLaylaw is acting like a complete idiot. NO ONE said those things! She seriously pulled this out of her ass… and to say that Obama would force his child to have an abortion ONLY because hes prochoice is assinine and ignorant. I can’t even express how sick these people make me feel tonight, seriously.

  5. Megan says:

    Wow, I feel famous.
    As I wrote in the part of the thread that was not posted, was that the thing I took offense to was the women who posted originally to the link, that Sarah Palin was now really taking a nose-dive, because her daughter was pregnant. They said it made her less of a qualified candidate for VP. THAT is what was so wrong. If they had posted the link and left it without their snide comments, that’s one thing. Bashing a woman “even more so” because her teen daughter is pregnant is entirely another.
    I’m not a teen or unwed mom, nor was I ever. I am 24 and my oldest is not even two. I have no personal vendetta against these women, or even Obama. I just thought it was ridiculous that these women were saying because Bristol is pregnant, Palin has no chance, and is now even less worthy of the VP position. Being a VP has nothing to do with whether or not your daughter uses a condom. We all know teens will do what they wish, and one must simply hope they’ve said the right things, lived the right way and shown the right examples to really compell a child to listen.
    Yes, I said Obama’s child would likely have an abortion before anyone knew she was pregnant, so this wouldn’t be an issue. Did I say she would be forced? NO! Please get that straight. I said if it’s SO terrible for one’s run for the White House, considering Obama’s views on abortion, she would have an abortion. He even stated himself, in a pro-choice context, that if his daughters made a mistake, he wouldn’t want them “punished” with babies. Yes, that leads me to believe that his child, if she became pregnant as a teen, would have an abortion. It is what she was raised to believe is right. Thank you, #4, but that is neither assinine nor ignorant. It is a logical assumption made by listening to hours of Obama’s speeches, about what he believes in and how he has raised his family.
    I originally simply posted, telling these women to be careful with their rude comments like that, because there were many teen moms and moms of teen moms who would likely be very offended. That’s when all the crap came down about teen moms. It started as a political discussion, some nasty comments, and ballooned into the drama DS is so well-known for. No secret there. So let’s all bash each other because we’re not voting for the same person. I don’t really care. It’s not what I’m into. I just hate to see some one being talked badly about because their child made a poor decision. I think we’d all get a little defensive if that happened to us. I was simply trying to show these women how ridiculous their statements were. If I was dramatic, then so be it, but I wasn’t being rude at all, as they were, which started this whole situation.
    There. I’ve stuck up for myself and what the situation was REALLY about, so that’s my piece. I promise, I’m done. Seriously, I won’t keep coming back and saying, “but-but-but,” because that just feeds it all. You all get it hashed out, hate on me, and get it out of your systems. That’s what we do on this blog (yours truly included… not bashing, being real here). :-
    )

  6. Molly says:

    “As I wrote in the part of the thread that was not posted, was that the thing I took offense to was the women who posted originally to the link, that Sarah Palin was now really taking a nose-dive, because her daughter was pregnant. ”

    Seriously? Wow! I saw the original thread you are referring to right after it went up. The OP said absolutely nothing in her OP about Sarah Palin taking a nose dive or anything else. She simply posted a link to the story announcing the pregnancy.

    You came in with guns blazing in post three accusing the OP of being deragatory and spreading rumors and lies.

  7. lilypop'smom says:

    Just wondering if anyone else can’t stop singing Bristol Hotel in their head every time they see that sucktastic name. Lyrics for your enjoyment.
    http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/llcoolj/thebristolhotel.html
    I’m guessing Palin isn’t an LL Cool J fan. Verse 4 is especially sweet.

  8. cdmd1023 says:

    where is this thread on ds?

  9. Cindy says:

    You’re not very smart are you?

  10. DSDM2 says:

    #8, it is linked in the blog post.

  11. Cindy says:

    Please note my comment is directed at #5, not at #8.

  12. cdmd1023 says:

    #11 I was like huh? lol.

  13. TL says:

    hey not related to this thread at all, but I just recieved a stike/warning (they’ve yet to determine which) for calling Elabela a stuck up moron, seriously just to say that was so worth it though. I can’t stand her.

  14. DownWithLee says:

    I’m stuck on the fact that sex had to be written an s3x.

  15. DownWithLee says:

    *as not an

  16. Sarah says:

    I agree #14. It’s crazy that you can’t write sex on DS. Ridiculous!

  17. Sarah says:

    And at first I read your name as saying that you’re down with Lee. LOL

  18. lilypop'smom says:

    14 & 16, i thought people did that so as to keep DS from popping up when someone googles “sex”. They do it with a lot of words.

  19. cdmd1023 says:

    #18- good point! thats a good reason for it.

  20. Real Diaper Talk says:

    #9, we all know that, lol, unfortunately, she does not

    And, they write it that way as to not attract unwanted traffic to the site, search engines won’t pick it up

  21. Nosey Neighbour says:

    I’m still giggling at #3!!!

  22. AshleyB says:

    If you type sex on DS, it comes up *** even if you use it in a PM!!

  23. The Bored Bitch says:

    #22-they are attempting to keep google bots and yahoo spiders from gathering on their board.

    Words like sex attract them like rodents.

  24. AshleyB says:

    I know…but you shouldn’t be censored in PM’s…that’s a bit overboard. And, the OP of that post was pretty out of line with the whole thing (especially because the first post she did a spin off of wasn’t offensive, and I am 20 with a 14 month old so I should have been if SHE was)

  25. Cindy says:

    Well they read PM’s so you shouldn’t be surprised at being censored in them. What can you expect from DS though. Can’t handle questioning.

  26. Shopaholic ~ Thats me! says:

    Ack. Havent we done this before? Rerun? Next.

  27. McMamma38 says:

    So true poster #26.

  28. umm anisa says:

    the pm crap is funny. i live on dickerson st, and i doesnt come up when i try to pm mamas my addy to ship to

  29. thewhiteninja says:

    #5 one word: PARAGRAPHS

    I’m tired of all these whitebread posters who need to take off their rose-colored glasses and realize not everything is how it is in suburbia.

    /random rant

  30. JustPeachy says:

    Ummmmm she did do paragraphs. Plus shes not attacking teen moms and in essence is defending them.

  31. not tellin says:

    I think its horrible that Sara Palin is forcing her daughter to keep this baby she doesnt want. And what kind of mother makes her daughter marry a man she doesnt love just because shes pregnant???!

    See what i did there, Megan? SAME gross generalization you made about Obama. Just because someone has those views, doesnt mean we know what s/he did or would do if/when the situation happens. How do we know what Obama would do? We dont, just like we dont know if Sara Palin’s daughter WANTS to keep this baby, and WANTS to marry this dude, right? So yes, I stand by my “assinine and ignorant” comment I said before.

  32. MajKitab says:

    I think it’s great that Sarah Palin has finally seen the light. Her own words:
    “We have been blessed with five wonderful children who we love with all our heart and mean everything to us. Our beautiful daughter Bristol came to us with news that as parents we knew would make her grow up faster than we had ever planned. We’re proud of Bristol’s decision to have her baby and even prouder to become grandparents. As Bristol faces the responsibilities of adulthood, she knows she has our unconditional love and support.”

    They’re proud of Bristol’s *decision* and that is as pro-choice as it gets.

  33. The only pregnant teen’s I judge are the snotty ones walking around like they know it all- and are trying to get pregnant thinking its super cool, when they dont have a clue about anything..
    The ones that end up pregnant unplanned, ok- prob not smart- but who’s to judge that one..
    Most people are sexually active as teens & for the most part are lucky & or very careful not to let it happen.
    Ya live & learn, Teens should not be pressured by others to join the vibe & get pregnant just because its the “in” thing to do.
    & With proper counseling, its ultimately up to the teen to choose what to do about it.

    Isnt this what we just learned about The Anthony Case in Fl.. The mom forced her to keep the baby when she wanted to adopt her out.. Now that little girl is dead.. The mom should have listened.

  34. Me says:

    side note to connorsmama: WTF is a WHAM? WorkHomeAtMom? Seriously. It’s WAHM. I can’t tell you how much this peeves me off when people type WHAM instead of WAHM. DUH.

  35. GMLovah! #1 Fan says:

    Dear lord, thank you #34. I read that and was singing “Wake Me Up Before You Go Go” all damn day. I was kind of scratching my head that a WAHM wouldn’t know how to spell WAHM. Unless they’re making some sort of George Michael inspired stuff.

  36. Christine says:

    #35 – I was about to say the same thing! I love me some WHAM!

  37. Shopaholic ~ Thats me! says:

    lol …george michael. ahhh funny funny peoples

  38. thewhiteninja says:

    #30 no shit, I’m talking about all the dumbasses who interpret a link to a news article=bashing if teen moms.

  39. thewhiteninja says:

    *of

  40. DSDM2 says:

    #34, love the web site 🙂

  41. Me says:

    thanks dsdm2. It’s a work in progress.

Leave a Reply

