http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=533816

Is this what we get from WAHMs now-a-days? I mean is this really the best they can do? I’m appalled to know that this is being sold as professional work.This alone is enough to keep me off HC.

ETA: WAHM REFUNDED.

Really unhappy with HC transaction – posted by MattysMom


Okay mamas – I got screwed. I ordered a pair of fleece longies on HC and the transaction was annoying to begin with. It took longer than it was supposed to, all communication was initiated by me, and I kinda felt like I was getting the run around. However, had the product I got been great, I’d have been fine with it.

I got my package from her this morning and instead of just having a pair of longies, there was a pair of longies, a soaker, and a t-shirt to match. I was ecstatic for about 10 seconds. Then I looked at what she’d sent.

This is the front and back of the longies.

And no, it’s not a bad pic. The legs are at least 2 inches different in length.

The soaker


Again, not a bad pic. They’re very uneven.



I don’t know if this picture shows it, but the cuff is stitched all wadded up.

I didn’t even bother with pics of the t-shirt. It’s a very tiny, badly washed and dryed wonky blue t-shirt (wrong shade of blue for Gator colors) that has an unhemmed, raw cut out of a Gator with the same fleece material she made the pants out of sewn somewhere under the left armpit.

What do I do? I know she included the extra stuff cause the longies are crap – but all the extra stuff is crap too!!!

__________________

Comments
  1. itsraininghere says:

    This has to be a joke. . .

  2. DSDM2 says:

    Sadly, no it isn’t.

  3. sara thats me. says:

    wow she has an HC. Did none of her friends say um hon those are sheet?

    well at least she refunded the mama

  4. lilypop'smom says:

    OMG! I sewed better in jr high home ec! And she can’t be publicly outed on DS, what utter shit. I’m assuming she left some detailed feedback.

  5. cdmd1023 says:

    holy crap! not even my first attemps with fleece were that bad! yuck.

  6. Kali Ma says:

    They came from the YetteBums HC store.

    Check out the bad sewing on most of her items. The product pictures are just awful too.

    http://hyenacart.com/YetteBums/

  7. Jess says:

    yikes, that is just BAD 😦

  8. Jen S says:

    Maybe it’s God saying you shouldn’t be a Gator fan! Go Noles!

    Seriously though those are awful! I think my four year old could sew better than that!

  9. maree9304 says:

    Holy shit. That is awful.

  10. Angie says:

    Click on the “fleece soakers” tab. The soaker she has as her icon for “football soakers!” is the exact Gators soaker she sold to MattysMom. ?? Maybe she doesn’t realize it’s crappy? Someone needs to coach her on presentation as well. Those pictures are awful and low quality. Some of them are so dark you can’t even really see the product.

    Also, I don’t mean to blame the victim, but I would think she should have known better. It’s pretty obvious to me by looking that the sewing is crap.

  11. itsraininghere says:

    Notice how on her ds wahm thread on most of the pics of the embellished onesies the onesie is completely covered by the diaper? You can see that the cuts on the embellishment are all uneven on the ones she’s showing. . . how bad are the ones that are hidden? jinkies.

  12. The Original Ashley says:

    Oh that is bad. Holy crap. I suck at sewing but at least my stuff is even. Wow that’s bad.

  13. sara thats me. says:

    wow so all you need to be a WAHM is a sewing machine . Great sign me up can sew maybe not super straight. That’s ok people well pay for my time right. 😛

    Poor mama some one needs to take her under there wing. Give her a Wahm Big sister

  14. cdmd1023 says:

    I hoesntly feel like pming her just to let her know she needs some practice. eek!

  15. Angie says:

    Great idea about the wahm big sis, sarathatsme. I feel kinda bad for her. I seriously wonder if she just doesn’t know…

  16. If you don’t know what a straight line looks like, you shouldn’t be a WAHM.

  17. Angie says:

    LOL! So true. She’s definitely not ready.

  18. yestheyareallmine says:

    Wow. My 9 year old sews better than that.

  19. Mama Manda says:

    That’s just sad.

  20. AshleyB says:

    *I* could sew better than that, and I don’t even have a sewing machine! Yikes! She needs some practice and super honest FB

  21. trollin4friends says:

    shes selling things for like 8 bucks, really if you order from wahm and youre paying 8 bucks, do you really expect top notch quality? if one is so concerned about quality and workmanship then maybe they should shop around. “you get what you pay for”

  22. Teeniebean says:

    The thing is, fleece soakers aren’t expensive to begin with, neither are regular prefolds and Gerber onesies (even embellished). So yes, I would expect good workmanship.

    It’s really hard to tell the quality of her sewing from the photos, since they are small. Some of them aren’t even shown on her HC.

    I do feel bad for her; does she really not know that her work isn’t up to par?

  23. JeDeeLenae says:

    I’ve been looking for cheaper fleece soakers and have seen quite a few that were only $8 or $9 and were really good quality. Fleece is cheep, and when you use a 40% off coupon, it’s even cheaper.

  24. JeDeeLenae says:

    doh, I spelled cheap wrong…

  25. What a wanker says:

    Oh wow! That is just so. wrong.

  26. Stacy says:

    I just don’t know what the hell is wrong with people. It is mama’s like that that give the rest of us WAHM’s a bad name…

  27. JustPeachy says:

    Yikes! I just started sewing a few months back and none of my stuff ever looked like that.
    Almost reminds me of the whole Kim thing a few months back:(

  28. dixieleigh070 says:

    wow sad glad she refunded.

    #9- hehe i thought the same thing… the theme itself was just ugly 🙂

  29. haha says:

    awww someone needs to send her a cutting mat, ruler and rotary cutter. Gosh that’s HORRIBLE sewing. ewww.

  30. veganthug says:

    Wow.. those are very poorly made. I hope she didn’t pay too much for them.

    I would FFS those, certainly not SELL them. Eeek.

  31. o4eduk8ed says:

    Worst. Sewing. Ever.

  32. JeDeeLenae says:

    #31, I’ve gotten better FFS.

  33. Jenna says:

    Screw FFS. Cut them bitches up for dish rags. Aaack!

  34. Lacie says:

    Wow. I was looking at her WAHM thread the other day and saw she had Iowa Hawkeye fleece. I contemplated getting something from her but I’m very glad I didn’t!

  35. Bloo♥ says:

    You can tell from the photos she has on her site that the sewing is not the greatest so if some of those pictures were up before then I would say the buyer got what she paid for.

    http://hyenacart.com/YetteBums/index.php?c=21&p=31178
    You can see that the leg holes are two different sizes KWIM?

  36. Bloo♥ says:

    I would not FFS something that low quality either.

  37. Kaymadmom says:

    yikes. Those are really, really bad.

  38. Jesse says:

    Wow, I am amazed at how crappy that sewing is. I haven’t seen crap that bad for sale since my own “order gone wrong” several years ago (but in my case the product pics were good, yet what I got in the mail was sewn by a drunken monkey! at least I got a refund and the wahm went out of biz shortly after).

    I don’t sew at all but wow, it looks like it was done freehand without even a pattern!

  39. not tellin says:

    i was lookng at her WAHM thread last night, and i ALMOST wanted to get a pf from her, but didnt… im so glad i didnt! But at the same time, i sorta feel bad.. i dont think shes intentionally doing a crappy job, ya know? but still, i cant believe no one ever told her she shouldnt be making soakers and such to sell 😦

  40. tjsmommy says:

    yikes! i wonder what pattern she uses…if she uses one at all!

  41. cdmd1023 says:

    imagine the shape your child would have to be to wear those longies…lol

    I honestly just feel bad for this lasy, maybe she just really doesnt know how bad they are?

  42. Justsaying says:

    I do feel a bit bad for someone who could even think that was saleable (or FFS) quality…honestly.
    This HC made my “don’t go there” list the day she opened. I won a FFS lotto, went to pay for it as soon as I saw the email (later the same day), and she had chosen another winner since I hadn’t paid yet. No communication, no reply to my email….didn’t really matter in the end, but her CS was, well, non-existent.

  43. veganthug says:

    Well yeah, they’re crappy quality, but I’m sure someone would take them on FFS. Some mamas would take the worst & make it work..

    Even for a few bucks shipping.

  44. Justsaying says:

    True veganthug….but I wouldn’t FFS those on an HC if I were a WAHM. On DS, ok. But I would not want my biz to be associated with that quality of work.

  45. The Bored Bitch says:

    I think a drunk monkey could do a better job than that.

  46. pony says:

    That is so bad it is funny…if you are not the one receiving it!
    A drunk BLIND monkey could do better

  47. haha says:

    Did anyone notice in the pictures above that one leg is cuffed and one leg isn’t? And maybe that’s why they are 2″ longer/shorter (however you look at it?

  48. What a wanker says:

    Dang it! I want to see pictures of the shirt too!

    Yeah, one leg is uncuffed, but regardless, the pants were made with a soaker pattern with pieces of fabric added on to “make” legs. Really horrible and it ticks me off that she calls herself a WAHM. WHY, oh, WHY do these people think it’s okay to just buy a sewing machine, having never sewn before, get a Hyena Cart and start calling themselves WAHM’s with zero practice, information, guidance, or TALENT?!?!?!

    Please, use testers, even your own kids and don’t ever send out crap! I hate that they make us decent WAHM’s look bad. I couldn’t imagine sending something like that out though.

  49. dazed says:

    The sad thing to me, is that she made it 5 times harder as it needed to be to make a pair of pants! All she had to do was cut 2 leg pieces and add a waistband, and she could’ve just folded a pair of her own kid’s pants in half to trace the outline of the pieces she needed to cut. I feel bad for her that she did all that extra work and just ended up producing something ugly. Maybe someone should pm her with a fleece longies tutorial?

    Also, I noticed that after this post came out her shop was on the “Where are the Hyenas?” list for a while. I hope that didn’t draw people in so they bought more of her items without knowing that she needs a lot more practice!

  50. Niblets says:

    Obviously someone’s not the sharpest tool in the toolbox. She whittled out some strange items that were very, very poorly made and then had like no communication with the buyer? I swear I think some people just live in their own little world. As if this is elementary school art class where everyone’s work is ‘special’ and get’s a pat on the back. At least she gave a refund. Oy vey.

  51. veganthug says:

    #45, I agree 100%.

    #49 – I wouldn’t pay a tester fee, I wouldn’t even test them for free.. Its clearly a lack of interest or care. Its not THAT hard, and if it is for her.. maybe she shouldn’t make them!

    & yes.. I need to see the shirt.. I need more giggles.

  52. IndieBambino says:

    Hopefully this experience will make her realize she needs to practice more and increase her quality, alot of us sewing mamas were not so good when we started out, I hope she keeps going and gets better.

  53. MajKitab says:

    The work speaks for itself… so why would the OP cuff the leg in efforts to make it look worse? That’s dumb.

  54. The Annoyed One says:

    but the WAHM has to be either blind or just doesn’t give a crap about her business. forget the pattern, even the uneven legs… notice on the right side of the photo, the leg part sewn to the soaker.. it’s all bunched up!! she cut the leg way bigger than the soaker hole. how can someone, anyone, honestly ship that out to a paying customer is beyond me 😦

  55. Another WAHM says:

    #49- ITA. When I first started, DD had more fleece than she could wear in a year, so I started giving things to my sisters, friends, anybody I knew who had kids in the various sizes, whether they CD’d or not, just to get fit and feedback info. When I actually started SELLING, I had low-low-low prices, so people would be willing to take a chance on me as a new WAHM. It’s definitely paid off!
    #22- After more than a year, I’m still selling at relatively low prices, because I set my prices at a certain percentage of my cost, and I shop the sales. Most of us enjoy the money-saving aspect of CDing, so I do my best to continue that. My feedback proves that mamas are THRILLED with the goods I make, as well as the price. 🙂
    #55- I believe the mama who runs the HC store A Blind Stitch is, in fact, blind, and her embroidery and other work is gorgeous.
    This just looks like an inexperienced mama who wants to make a few extra $$ for her family. That kinda’ makes me feel bad for her, but at the same time, she’s just wasting her time and money if she doesn’t learn to sew first.

    Looks to me like this mama was trying to make a fleece version of a ‘Crat, and it back-fired, which is why she sent the -eh-hem- extras.

  56. NotMeAtAll says:

    Her second user name is already banned. So much for her magical new IP address. LOL

    How is it someone who is well off buys diapers they can’t pay for and then blames the bank.

  57. sassy1 says:

    I am SO TIRED of run of the mill sahm’s deciding to become wahm’s on a whim. You have to actually have SKILLS to be a wahm IMHO. I think there ought to be a voting booth on HC where if someone wants to market their product they have to show samples and prove themselves first. I consider myself ok at sewing and that right there looks like my 6 yr old did it. There is no excuse for that other than she had visions of grandeur of making some extra cash on the side and maybe becoming the next hyena….kind of like the blooper real of american idol, there are loads of people who THINK they can sing, but only about a handful of them actually can.

    If she was in a sweat shop she’d be fired right now for that mess.

  58. McMamma38 says:

    I dont even sew but I bet my first attempt would be better than these! Awful looking stuff–sorry mama.

  59. sheepthrills says:

    Judging by the reference to Gustav, I’m going to guess that it’s the same WAHM that screwed up the soakers for this poor mama. Hehe…

    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=536555

  60. Frazzled says:

    Wow, that looks like something I did and I have never even touched a sewing machine.

  61. lilgamoma says:

    #49 ~I couldn’t agree with you more. I was shocked at how those things looked. Is any of it usable at least I wonder, for maybe around the house? hate that the other mama got those items in that condition. 😦

  62. daveyshot says:

    Oh, I just love looking at those longies. They give me a chuckle every time.

  63. Jess says:

    I can’t get over how bad those longies are…lol I keep coming back to look at them.

  64. Kelolsen says:

    #36Bloo- that item is sold out!! I clicked the link but its sold.. so someone doesn’t care if its all wonky! I certainly would!

  65. diudiaole says:

    incredible.

  66. Bloggitybloggity says:

    Only thing I could think of was that maybe the WAHM is a Tennessee Vol’s fan.

    I could see some crazy ass college-football-junkie’s wife sending out those turds just to spite the opposition.

    That stuff is appalling.

Leave a Reply

