Ok, this thread wasn’t that interesting or blog worthy until the responses from the store owner were posted… I just had to blog it so people could see what an ass she/he makes of themself…

ridiculous shipping costs….. GRRRRRRR
http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?p=4275227#post4275227

Posted by: burnsis
On: 07-25-2008 04:58 PM

I was looking for some lap tees to go with my wool for fall….and found some cute ones on etsy. But they want 6.00 to ship one shirt from the US to the US, and one state over I might add, not that that matters…and for Canadians, shipping is 10.00 for one shirt!!!!!!!!

Cute, cute stuff, but there’s just no way I am paying that.

Any recommendations on other places to buy?
************
************
Re: ridiculous shipping costs….
http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?p=4277162#post4277162
Posted by: burnsis
On: 07-25-2008 08:11 PM

I msged the seller to let her know that she would sell more if her prices weren’t so outrageous. She had some really great stuff too, sigh.
************
************
Re: ridiculous shipping costs….
http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?p=4279551#post4279551
Posted by: burnsis
On: 07-25-2008 11:56 PM

Nice….got a reply from the etsy seller.

All I said to her was that her shirts were cute, but that the shipping was outrageous….and this was her reply just now:

Lets see – you joined today and the first thing you do is start complaining. Have you checked recently what it costs to ship stuff.
Everything is shipped by USPS priority mail – perhaps you should talk to them before sending me rude emails.
************
Re: ridiculous shipping costs….UPDATE post #18 GRRRRRRR
http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?p=4279610#post4279610
Posted by: carlycurry
On: 07-26-2008 12:02 AM

Well, gee, if she wants to be THAT rude about it… I’m glad you didn’t buy anything from her… that’s just witchy.

Has this woman ever heard of FIRST CLASS MAIL?! There’s NOTHING wrong with FCM… it usually takes the same amount of time as Priority mail unless it’s going super far, far away.
************

************
Re: ridiculous shipping costs….UPDATE post #18 GRRRRRRR
http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?p=4279645#post4279645
Posted by: burnsis
On: 07-26-2008 12:05 AM

Yeah, I said that I do the majority of my shopping as a cd’ing mom on HC…but that a friend recommend etsy for lap tees. I mentioned using FCM too….I mean, even shipping in a flat rate envelope is 4.80…and you can get the postman to pick those up, and the envelopes are free!!

I wish I could post the name of the store, just so that nobody buys from them. So annoying.
************
************
Re: ridiculous shipping costs….UPDATE post #18 GRRRRRRR
http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?p=4279732#post4279732
Posted by: burnsis
On: 07-26-2008 12:17 AM

Wowzers….it continues. Just got a reply to my last email:

Ok $4.60 for shipping (cost at post office) – 40 cents to cover cost of printing label, tape, postage machine rental, etc and $1.00 to cover gas to the post office and back (5.5 miles) and you decide that’s “outrageous”. I think perhaps you might want to check yourself before throwing insults around.
If you don’t want to buy my stuff that’s great with me – however if you just want to try and through your weight around, I suggest going somewhere else. Check my feedback – no one else seems to be complaining and they are certainly are buying. Did I not clearly state my shipping and handling charges? – I think I did – you could have just looked for another store – but no, you decided to insult me. Just because you are have a bad day is no reason to try and take it out on everyone else, I have noticed that the people that complain the most, buy the least, so I guess you are no great loss.

I’ll be watching your store to see what you make – so far you just seem to be a consumer.

Have a better one.
************
Re: ridiculous shipping costs….UPDATE post #18 GRRRRRRR
http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?p=4279745#post4279745
Posted by: burnsis
On: 07-26-2008 12:19 AM

I’m not going to say anything else to this person.

I am just going to spread the word far and wide…not to shop there. I wonder if there’s anyway to complain to the person that runs etsy? Or if that would even matter at all.

I’m done with this idiot.
************

************
Okay…so I just had someone else contact her to ask if she would ship first class, to save on shipping, and this was the reply on that one:

Sure – if you go out and buy the packing supplies and bring them around here + line up at the post office to have it weighed – I’d be happy to send it first class – I doubt you would want is sent in a tatty old envelope – otherwise my shipping and handling charge is $6.00 – as stated. I guess I could always increase my prices to $23 and include free shipping – that would still be less than the stores I sell to, charge for my stuff.

Cheers

This is just BAD CS. And I agree with a lot of the posters, word gets around… so the real question is… who knows who this store is?

Comments
  1. Real Diaper Talk says:

    The shipping cost here fit the description.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=5344235

    But, that’s all I’m going back :shrug:

  2. DSDM2 says:

    😉 I think you are right…. 😉

  3. FatCat says:

    The seller might be a bit of a bitch, but sending a message telling her that her shipping prices are “outrageous” was pretty bitchy too.

  4. Peachy Keen says:

    Not if its true. Sorry but 6 bucks shipping for a single shirt? No thank you. Its not even unique either. I can get stuff like that made up by these sweet Russian lady who owns a boot at my local mall.

  5. Peachy Keen says:

    I meant this not these:)

  6. Peachy Keen says:

    And booth not boot dammit. I am having issues tonite apparently

  7. MissWorld says:

    Yeah, but in the thread didn’t she say she didn’t like American Apparel shirts? All those shirts on the site are from American Apparel….

  8. Janna says:

    Well, personally I ship priority on all my items I sell because I don’t have the time to run to the PO with three kids, 28 weeks preggo in the 700degree summer…..BUT I do not sell things that cost $7 either….I am talking about a $30 Fluffymail, or a mutt, ect…usually I only charge $4.00 to ship but I have had many people get nasty that I will not ship FC mail…..shipping has increased….gas has gone up and frankly my time is worth much more that the $2.00 to ship FC mail……

    have you checked what people on ebay are charging for shipping???

  9. veganthug says:

    Okay, I’ve never sold on Etsy & I’m going to assume its like Ebay where they take a percentage of your sale price, but not your shipping. Sounds like someone who doesn’t want to suck it up & pay the price of being a business woman.

    I understand that some need to “load up their kids”, but unfortunately, the person buying your goods is not responsible to pay for that. If its so much of a hassle, maybe they need to rethink selling & maybe invest in a nanny to help their asses.

  10. lilypop'smom says:

    Wait a minute, why does she have to haul the whole family to the PO and stand in line to send a shirt FC? I ship FC all the time from my mailbox. Maybe not all mail carriers pick it up from your home…dunno. You can also ship FC from the PO’s magic mailing machine, just the same as priority. It weighs it and everything.

    It sounds like someone needs to invest in some polymailers and a $4 food scale from Wal-Mart. Oh, and quit being such a snarky bitch to even the polite inquiries. That response to the first class question was beyond rude. If you’re going to be shipping things maybe you should be prepared and learn a few things about SHIPPING.

  11. Janna says:

    IMO, if it is her store, her business, she can charge what she wants….don’t like it, don’t buy it…..I sell my stuff “for fun” not to make a living….so I guess I don’t give a crap if someone gets mad that I don’t want to ship FC mail. If I was running busness I may feel differently….

  12. T~Lish says:

    Wow, she sounds like a real gem to work with! Gotta love some lovely customer snarkiness um I mean service!

  13. MatildasMum says:

    Sure – she can charge whatever she wants and perhaps the OP emailing her about her “outrageous” shipping price wasn’t terribly appropriate but sheesh – what a bitchy reply. I certainly won’t buy from someone who can’t conduct themselves better.

  14. You Hate Me Cause You Wish You Knew Me AKA MadreJoyce AKA Willow says:

    Hmmm…. Honestly, did the person who was complaining actually think that complaining would get her anywhere?
    I see people overcharge for shipping all the time, and there’s nothing anyone can do about it. Its her buisness & her store, she can charge what she wants. That being said- id never buy from someone overcharging myself unless the price of the item & shipping still come out cheaper than buying elsewhere.
    I do think the seller was a bit rude though from what i read. The seller could have offered a cheaper rate. & Im sorry but supplys & cost of time & gas isnt the buyers fault- thats the sellers responsibility to add into her overall costs of running a buisness.. Whats next the seller gonna start charging the buyers to pay the sellers shipping costs for the sellers materials?
    So I can see where both sides went wrong. Honestly after seeing how nasty the seller got, im not sure id want to deal with that seller or buy anything, because i believe even if the potential consumer is being a bit hasty- that the seller for the sake of the buisnesses name should use a bit more niceness & tactfulness in handling a problem.

  15. lilypop'smom says:

    And you know, high shipping aside, she was so quick tempered and defensive, just imagine what might happen if you had to contact her about a defective item, something lost in the mail, etc. IMO ordering from her after reading those replies is just asking for trouble.

  16. thewhiteninja says:

    Why doesn’t she mail stuff from home like everyone else LOL. I would never sell stuff if I had to pack all 3 kids up to go to the PO.

  17. MajKitab says:

    She is a He 🙂

  18. DSDM2 says:

    I was wondering, did anyone see post #92 on the thread on DS? lol.

    Sorry. She irks me. But it is nice to know she overcharges shipping too. She is so never leaving the Do Not BST list.

  19. maree9304 says:

    I agree with you, Janna. Don’t like it, don’t buy it, and don’t email the seller telling them they’d sell more stuff if their prices weren’t so outrageous. That’s just rude. There are plenty of people out there who have high shipping prices, shall we email them, too?

  20. jeruco says:

    This seller has a website, (maybe something like this one, http://www.youngpunks.com/ , but I dont know :shrug: )
    And if you notice is says NOTHING on there about the shirts being handmade. And he sells a lot of shirts.
    Yet, on ETSY he makes a point to say each shirt is handmade. I am sure the seller is aware that its a requirement for them to be handmade in order to sell on ETSY.

    I am wondering if his shirts are not handmade by him???
    I noticed he has links to a t-shirt printing shop on his website too. But that could just be his favorite place.

  21. veganthug says:

    Oh wow, people are so dense. If I was running a business, I would want feedback, of all sorts.

    I think if you find what she said rude, you should go into the bathroom, breathe in deep, and unwedge the stick stuck up your ass.

  22. veganthug says:

    By she, I mean the lady who sent the message about the OUTRAGEOUS shipping costs! (yes, I think the cost of shipping is SUPER high for a childs shirt!)

  23. maree9304 says:

    I think if you find what she said rude, you should go into the bathroom, breathe in deep, and unwedge the stick stuck up your ass.
    —-
    Grow up. It’s not about being uptight or having a “stick stuck up your ass”. This person wanted to bitch about the seller’s rude reply to the OP’s rude email. They’re both in the wrong.

    And don’t you think that if we need to remove the stick stuck up our asses just because we find what the OP said was rude, then those who find the seller’s response rude should unwad their panties? It goes both ways.

  24. veganthug says:

    I think the seller is held to a different standard then the customer. If ever major company dropped to level of every “rude” customer they have, do you think they would still be in business?

    My panties don’t need to be unwaded because it takes a heck of a lot to get me worked up.

    But since you’re all for 6 dollar shipping on small items, I have some stuff I want to sell you.. [:

  25. veganthug says:

    Oh & I would like to add.. I messaged this guy asking if he would do first class, instead of just flat out saying his shipping was high, & he said sure. Not a problem..

    Weird..

    I’m wondering if the OP might have said something a little more “mean” then she lead on?…

  26. jeruco says:

    I messaged him too (last night) and asked about first class shipping and well, his responses are so rude. And I was very nice to him and politely asked if he would mind sending it first class.

    After his horrible responses back to me I told him that word about bad CS spreads fast. He proceeded to tell me that because I have only been on ETSY a couple months that i was basically nothing to worry about. As well as the OP.

    I think he is changing his mind and that is why he now says he would ship first class to the poster above me. I think he realized that word has spread.
    I wonder how many people have sent him messages?

  27. Peachy Keen says:

    #21 That is his site.

  28. Janna says:

    I guess I just figure the shipping is the cost of online ordering, heck…..I buy from Kelly’s Closet all the time and anything under $25 is $5.95 for REGULAR shipping, not even priority shipping….

  29. Rannensmom says:

    If youre in an apartment they don’t pick up, and if it’s more than 13 oz you have to go through the PO
    That being said, when you run a business, CS is a must. She handled it poorly, to say the least

  30. Lori says:

    For the poster who said his items aren’t handmade~ hand altered IS acceptable on Etsy~ you can use blanks and do designs / screenprint etc. That is kosher.

    He was unspeakably rude.
    I know that many sellers use PP shipping and list their prices to Canada as the global priority rate. I often nicely ask if they will consider doing standard mail (whatever it is called) + their handling (because shipping is rarely just shipping, as the seller does point out) and most are fine with that, which is about $5-6 less for me.

    I agree, he is likely dodging fees by padding his shipping.

  31. sassy1 says:

    I agree that while $6 is high, thats the choice of the business person to charge that much. I personally did not think the OP had the right to go emailing this person about the shipping prices (complaining). What she could have done was asked if they would cut her a break, THEN if they said no tell them well, then I won’t be shopping here because your prices are too high. Enough said.

    I don’t have an issue with people using only Priority. LOTS of businesses do it to cut down on ease/cost. You ship one way and one way only, no buying poly mailers because the envelopes are free, no guess work, it ALL goes into a priority envelope, enough said. is it right on a $6 item? Maybe not, but if you don’t like it, don’t buy it, move on. There are LOADS of other t shirts for your babe out there to be had.

    Also the business owner had the BIGGEST attitude back, now THAT would have sent me over the edge as the customer! Keep your attitude in check dude, it’s called CS you big dumbass!

    Also, that thread had entirely too many stupid comments in it for me, I hope it dies. Some people have no clue what it takes to run a business and they like to run their mouths about it *rollingmyeyes*

  32. What a wanker says:

    I’m a little confused on some of these comments.

    Okay, first and foremost, I believe the seller was very rude and shouldn’t have replied to anyone, especially a potential customer, in that manner for any reason whatsoever. Let’s just get that out of the way.

    HOWEVER, do you people honestly believe that a seller should NOT include his or her costs in the price or shipping of any item? Seriously folks, do you believe in your hearts that sellers should just eat their overhead and LIKE it? Really? What, just because these are WAHM’s and WAHD’s that they don’t have a right to recoup any costs that they incur when they sell items that they spend their evenings making? That is about the most ignorant thing I have ever heard in my life! Seriously! There is not one company, WAH or otherwise that would be in business if the costs associated with running that business were not added into the price of the item.

    What, do you all just want to make everyone slave labor? Give me a break. You know nothing about running a business if you actually expect a WAHM who earns penny’s to make these items you say you want and love to just eat any overhead expenses.

    Ridiculous.

    And also, I couldn’t care less how much someone charges for shipping on Ebay or Etsy because I totally understand their need to lower their costs. The higher the item sells for, the higher the sellers costs. Simple math. Not so on DS or on Spots, but it is so on Ebay and Etsy.

    Especially when they have customers who expect them to eat those costs and make basically nothing.

    Nuf said.

  33. maree9304 says:

    Well said, WAW

  34. not tellin says:

    while the owner of the store came off as an ass, i wonder what the OP really said in her email to the seller? personally, if i would have gotten some bitchy-ass email from someone saying i’d sell more if my shipping wasnt outrageous, i’d be defensive as well. But if i were a seller, i’d probably reply “thanks for the tip” and leave it at that.

  35. lilypop'smom says:

    I was more apalled by his comment to the second mama, the one who just asked if he would send it FCM instead. This little gem: “Sure – if you go out and buy the packing supplies and bring them around here + line up at the post office to have it weighed – I’d be happy to send it first class – I doubt you would want is sent in a tatty old envelope – otherwise my shipping and handling charge is $6.00 – as stated. I guess I could always increase my prices to $23 and include free shipping – that would still be less than the stores I sell to, charge for my stuff.”

    But sadly, the worst part about this whole thing for me is how badly I love almost every shirt on his site. Must find that Jim Morrison shirt being sold by someone who’s not such an obvious shithead.

  36. MatildasMum says:

    WaW –

    Personally – I couldn’t care less if he charged $17 for shipping. I understand that running a business isn’t cheap. It’s his suckass attitude that turned me off.

  37. haha says:

    I totally understand that every 5 cents here and 5 there adds up. And with priority the po supplies the envelope, tape to shut said envelope etc. The only thing it doesn’t supply is the tape to stick your label on. And the labels are what 20 cents a sheet (correct me if I’m wrong it MIGHT be 50 cents) so that brings it up to 5-5.30 so it’s not like he’s overcharging a bunch on shipping.

    His assholic attitude was really shitty though. A simple I’m sorry but my shipping is a flat rate would have gone a whole lot further than his version!

  38. Kate says:

    haha- If you add in a few cents for ink for printing probably he is definitely close to that 6 bucks. But his comments not the best way to come across for CS. Like others I am wondering what else was said in the OP’s email to the seller.

  39. the mom says:

    I sell hand painted (by me) shirts and none of them have ever cost more then $1.92 to ship 🙂

  40. Ashley says:

    That’s total BS, and WAW, sellers add the extra costs into the items sale price, not into shipping…and not one of those shirts are origional. Try looking at Hot Topic, Spencers or teeshirthell.com or whatever it’s called…and those stores charge less and have good customer service. That said, I’d never shop from that store over bad customer service…and they only have 16 feedbacks, so I wouldn’t bother listening to the crap with others only having a few months worth of stuff.

  41. What a wanker says:

    ” sellers add the extra costs into the items sale price, not into shipping”

    I think that totally depends on what type of overhead we are talking about. It isn’t up to a customer where the seller adds their overhead. Since when does a customer have the right to tell a person how to run their own business? It really is up to the seller where they add their overhead as they are the ones who have to account for it. Basically, if the price PLUS shipping is a good price, why care? Just because customers want something to bitch about? Seems like it if someone is making a big deal because one seller sells something for $12 plus $3 shipping and another sells the same item for $10 plus $5 shipping, seems they LOVE to bitch about the one that is selling the item with the $5 shipping. Seriously, it’s the same price!!!!!

    And just to make this clear, I am speaking in generalities, not on this specific seller. I would never buy from this seller as their customer service SUCKS! And I think the items are boring and too easy to make for that price. I see nothing worth $23 on their site.

  42. dazed says:

    Wow…I was totally in the neutral on this, until I convo’d him on etsy and he REPORTED me! He said I was misusing their system by sending him a message, and fussed me out about the cost of shipping to Canada? I’m not from Canada, and my profile clearly states that. I’ve been a seller on etsy since they first started, so his little “you don’t know what you’re talking about” bullshit isn’t going to fly with me. He was so unbelieveably rude and obnoxious. The WORST asshole I have ever encountered on etsy, or any other online marketplace.

    DO NOT BUY FROM THIS JERK!

  43. I am the guy that some of you are complaining about. Just for the record I design and make all my own clothes. If you go to the mall and have them copied then that would be illegal.
    As for shipping costs – USPS charges $9.95 to Canada – so what is the problem with me charging $10?

  44. another quick one for you – since when is a business obligated
    To offer every type of postage service – I worked out the it was not
    Worth me offering FC as it takes to much time – I clearly list my
    Shipping and handling charges – you are free to not accept these terms but you are not free to insult me about these terms _
    – after burnsis’s first email I did realize that all if you emailing me with requests were you guys trying to mess with me – did you really expect me to bow down to your demands – it would be simpler for
    You to just not buy my stuff

  45. maree9304 says:

    dazed, maybe he’s tired of people emailing him about his prices and crap especially when they have no intention of buying anything.

  46. What a wanker says:

    youngpunks

    You actually MAKE American Apparel shirts? No, you create a transfer on your computer, print it off and heat press it onto a premade shirt. That is not really “making” all your items. That is embellishing a premade item. You don’t actually hand make anything.

  47. dazed says:

    #46, that is NOT what I convo’d him about! I simply let him know that there was an unpleasant buzz being generated about his CS, and was very neutral. I didn’t mention shipping costs whatsoever.

  48. Lori says:

    What a wanker~ not to defend the dude, but hand ALTERED is acceptable on Etsy.

    And for Ashley~ where do you get the idea that people only add expenses to item price? In my experience as a seller and buyer, most people charge Shipping AND Handling and put those costs into shipping.

  49. What a wanker says:

    Lori, I’m not saying it is or isn’t acceptable, but he isn’t hand making his shirts. He’s embellishing them.

  50. dazed says:

    youngpunks~

    in addition to being an asshole, you are obviously a dumbass as well. You keep failing to grasp that the main beef people have with you is your rude customer service, not your shipping prices.

  51. Peachy Keen says:

    Seriously how the hell did he find this blog?
    As I said before I can go to the mall and get the same thing he does with less hassle and a tad cheaper I may add. Not that thats a big deal but you add the price and the shipping together thats 23 dollars for a shirt for a child and not even hand MADE at that.

  52. DSDM2 says:

    “You keep failing to grasp that the main beef people have with you is your rude customer service, not your shipping prices.”

    ITA with this. I could care less what someone charges for shipping. If I don’t like it, I wouldn’t buy it.

    But the CS is horrendous and I will never shop there. As a WAHP you need to have good CS. CS is everything. This guy is lacking in his ability to communicate with the customer.

  53. Janna says:

    I LOVE this blog……such fun!

  54. Kaymadmom says:

    eh…I would probably still buy from the store if I saw something I liked. I hate feeling like I have to offer every single type of shipping when I sell stuff. FC usually costs me just as much as priority after I run around gathering supplies.

    Do we know for sure what the OP said to the etsy seller in her first message? The second reply from the seller seems to imply that she said something about having a bad day (perhaps she offered an apology for being rude in the first place?). Also, if somebody gave me unsolicited business avice (as if I didn’t have half the mind to think about it before opening up a store)I’d be inclined to tell them to stuff it.

  55. So let me get this straight – you now accept that I do not “rip people off with my shipping and handling charges” but now have decided that the quality of my work is sub par.
    Not a single one of you have ever seen any of my work so how would you know they are transfers?
    I have never used a transfer nor will I ever – so lets quit with that slander.
    As for customer service – I don’t recall a single one of you actually buying anything – so you could say, none of you are actually customers. Are you saying that I should put of with abuse ” your shipping charges are outrageous” – which you guys have admitted is not true, just incase you decide to buy something?
    It didn’t take a genius to work out that all the follow up requests where from her friends and there wasn’t a hope in hell that they were going to buy anything.
    My two year old has more manners than burnsis – try walking into a store and telling the owner that their prices are “outrageous” – see how quickly you are asked/told to leave – hiding behind the anonymity of the internet does not allow you to make random rude and or untrue comments on the pretext that you might buy something.
    You guys have called me “asshole” “dumbass” yet you expect me to be polite – you have high demands for people who haven’t put their money where their mouths are – just so we get this straight – please don’t buy anything – i would want my clothing being worn by the children of such rude people.
    Thanks for all you that commented that you liked my designs – they are my designs so you won’t find then anywhere else – all it takes for you to get a positive response from me is for you not to attack first – I sold over 100 onesies at a fair in San Francisco today – everybody loves my stuff and loves the quality – all my interactions were good – luckily nobody walked into my booth with the opening line “your prices are outrageous” had they done that, I would have also told them where to go – i have enough polite customers not to have to deal with the rude ones.
    Any of you have the balls to apologize – I doubt it, so I’ll let you waste your lives away with this nonsense and I’m off to read a book to my kid.

  56. DSDM2 says:

    “As for customer service – I don’t recall a single one of you actually buying anything – so you could say, none of you are actually customers.”

    No we haven’t b/c you acted like an ass.

    Many of us are business owners. We deal with customers on a daily basis. We understand your shipping charges. We just don’t understand being an ass to someone who potentially wants to buy your product. Rude or not she was a potential customer. She would have been a lot more supportive of your company, as would we, if you politely said, “I’m sorry, but those are out shipping charges, but we do ship priority for that price.”

    Your shirts are nice, but the designs are not all original. 2 of my children have shared a Jim Morrison shirt very similar to yours. The Marley shirt is nothing new, and neither is the Obama.

    I do admit, as an old-school skater, I think the Dependent shirt is cute, but because of your suck-tastic attitude, I am not going to buy it from you. I will screen print my own/have it done by a friend. 😀

  57. Sure, screen print it yourself – then you will be a rip off merchant. ie you take an idea that is not own. – kind off rude really.

    cus·tom·er (kŭs’tə-mər)
    n.
    One that buys goods or services.

    People that e-mail you stating “your prices are outrageous” do not buy anything – so nothing lost really except perhaps she might think twice about being so rude (and inaccurate) in future.

    You ask me for a discount and perhaps I’ll give you one – you be rude to me and you can go to hell – are business people supposed to take all the crap that is thrown at them, just incase “maybe” the person might buy something?
    Luckily there are enough polite people out there that are a pleasure to deal with and are not rude rip off merchants.

  58. What a wanker says:

    Youngpunks

    #1 Everyone, and I mean Everyone is a potential customer

    #2 Bad customer service information spreads like Wildflowers in our communities. It’s usually best to step back and not reply rather then to reply rudely, even if you think you are justified.

    #3 I apologize if you do not use transfers, they look like transfers. I’m not sure what you do as you don’t explain your process, but you do use premade shirts which you somehow embellish, so my statement regarding the fact that you don’t make them, that you only embellish them stands. Whether it is quality embellishment I never said as I don’t know as I have never tried your product. Sadly, I probably never will now.

    #4 Were you charging the people at your stand shipping? No? Then that may be why they never complained about high shipping costs.

    You had a choice how you came across. You chose to act not very nice. That was passed onto many people. I honestly don’t care what the others said to you. YOU as the business owner should have conducted yourself in a professional manner and you did not which causes me toe,lean toward believing them

    “luckily nobody walked into my booth with the opening line “your prices are outrageous” … ” (Why Luckily?)

  59. “luckily nobody walked into my booth with the opening line “your prices are outrageous” … ” (Why Luckily?)

    Because it’s plain rude and just because you are a potentual customer does not give you the right to abuse people – try it next time you are out and about – see how far it gets you.

    You guys have admitted that I am not ripping people off on shipping – so now you attack me every other way you can think of.

    As for people feeling they have the right to be rude “your prices are outrageous” just because they could a customer shows a complete lack of respect – luckily my boss says that I can return rudeness with rudeness and politeness with politeness – perhaps we can start a revolution here – all the rude people can keep their money and all the polite people can get good service.

    I think anyone with half a brain, that reads both sides of this issue, would agree that burnsis started this with a rude e-mail and is complaining that she got back as good is she gave.

    Keep your money if you are going to be rude. I don’t need it that badly.

  60. PS I seem to be selling loads more on my website today – so I guess a lot of people can see what is going on here.
    Burnsis – your e-mail was rude and your friends sending me a bunch of other requests just to see my response and have no intention of buying anything has back fired a little.

  61. What a wanker says:

    “luckily my boss says that I can return rudeness with rudeness and politeness with politeness ”

    Aaaah, you aren’t even the business owner. This makes SO much more sense now! Thanks for clearing that up!

    Anyone with an ounce of business sense knows that customers should not be treated rudely off the bat, regardless of how they act.

    And 99.9% of the people on this blog couldn’t have ever cared less about your shipping costs. It has been the entire time your rudeness that people have been discussing.

    Unfortunately, you have chosen to blind yourself to that issue and excuse it as if it is acceptable.

    I also find your braggart statements extremely distasteful. I don’t care if they are true. They are just creepy.

  62. Wrong again dude – my boss and myself are one in the same.
    I can’t believe you fell for that – what a wanker!

  63. What a wanker says:

    Then I guess you don’t have an ounce of business sense. Making fools out of people is also distasteful. I haven’t made fun of you or called you names one single time. I have stated facts. You want to act like a child. well, then,

    Be my guest.

    Seems to be something you excel at.

    I’m going to bed. Night!

  64. “What a wanker” – that’s what you call yourself isn’t it?

    Was that what they called you on your last trip the the UK?
    You’ve got to watch those “Young Punks” they bite back you know.

  65. Sheila says:

    Actually it makes sense that he and his boss are one and the same. I was shocked that he actually found a place to work where there is someone in authority over himself that allows him to be such a jerk.
    Now that I know he IS his jerk boss, it comes clear.

  66. “ass” “jerk” “asshole” “dumbass”
    and I’m the rude one?
    I believe “wanker” is the name he gave himself.

  67. lilypop'smom says:

    Don’t forget “shithead”!

  68. You can’t get your own way so you start throwing insults around. – how childish.

    I hope you are not teaching your children to behave like this.

    Goodbye

  69. MatildasMum says:

    You got your feelings hurt by someone telling you your shipping prices were outrageous? LMAO.

  70. What a wanker says:

    OMG! I can not believe I missed these pearls of wisdom Young Punks is sharing. That will for sure teach me to have a life.

    I thought maybe, if he slept on it, a lightbulb might go off and he might realize that customer service is important. I see the bulb is as dim as it’s ever been.

    BTW-I am a woman, not a he. I have not once called you a she or a woman as I am aware you are a person of the male persuasion.

    I also graduated from one of the top business schools in the nation and have sold items as a business online for over 10 years now. During my entire college and business carreer, not one single time have I been informed that it is a sound business decision to be rude to a customer or a potential customer just because you feel they were rude to you. I have however heard that:

    A. Two wrongs do not make a right.
    B. Do what you can to make the customer happy.
    C. The Customer is always right.
    D. You must be able to lay your emotions aside to run an efficient business.
    E. Bad customer service stories spread wild wild fires.
    F. People are about 100 times more likely to talk to their friends and family about a negative experience they have had with a company than a good experience. Most people do not talk about good experiences, they are expected. They will however, shout to the hills when they have a bad experience.
    G. Listening is a very important business skill. You won’t get far if you aren’t willing to listen to others.

  71. Grogwench says:

    “You’ve got to watch those “Young Punks” they bite back you know.”

    Was that a threat?

  72. MajKitab says:

    I would say more like a failed attempt to sound clever.

  73. Peachy Keen says:

    Apparently someone forgot to actually READ what he wrote before he hit post.
    I am a bit taken aback that people are actually ordering from him. I guess people really don’t care about customer service anymore(no surprise given the recent diaper dramas)
    What I want to know is how would it be stealing if DSDM made her own dependent shirt. Last time I looked personal use is ok:D Plus its not like said jerk made the logo or anything.

  74. DSDM2 says:

    No, not yet! LOL!

    I’m checking into with some friends that own a screen press company 😉

  75. shanmaries says:

    “Youngpunks.com Says: July 28, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    You can’t get your own way so you start throwing insults around. – how childish.

    I hope you are not teaching your children to behave like this.

    Goodbye”

    I would hope that you are not teaching that it is okay to be rude to someone even if they were rude to them. Ever heard of the phrase “kill them with kindness” or “if you dont have anything nice to say then walk away”?? Granted, not every human being is going to be nice all the time and people are going to be rude. But if we continue being rude to each other just because someone was rude to us, then we as a society are going to hell in handbasket.

  76. shanmaries says:

    Oh wait….we already are….

  77. erin says:

    I can’t believe this vendor?!? It takes just as much time to ship FC as it does to ship Priority, and it’s about 1/3 the price. I see they have plenty of time to browse blogs, but not to research ways to reduce costs.

  78. ugh says:

    I feel very bad for the youngpunks guy, so much so that I feel like buying something from him in support. Really, put yourself in his shoes – he was told his prices were “outrageous” which is a pretty strong word. Then he was then harassed and slandered by people who had no real intent to buy from him. It seems like there are too many DS people that love to cause s**t storms and then stand back and act appalled at what they themselves have caused. Have you seen what others charge for lap tees on etsy? I think his overall prices are very fair and it is a shame that a creative WAHP is getting so much crap. Save the bad energy for companies like Walmart that really deserve it and leave the little guys alone.

  79. Christi says:

    QUOTE: “If youre in an apartment they don’t pick up, and if it’s more than 13 oz you have to go through the PO
    That being said, when you run a business, CS is a must. She handled it poorly, to say the least”

    That’s not true- I ship things over 13 oz all the time and I never take anything except int’l packages to the PO. Over 16 oz, I believe you cannot have a handwritten address w/o taking it in, but there is pretty much nothing that you can’t ship from home. And DC is cheaper through PP than at the PO, like by 3x as much.

  80. Nadjarea says:

    ugh…..you’re not very bright are you?

    You ladies make my day. Thanks for cheering me slightly. 🙂

  81. Peachy Keen says:

    #79 no one ever said hsi prices were outrageous. It was the shipping that was the issue. Pay a fucking tention:)

  82. Peachy Keen says:

    His I meant. I have got to stop posting on here late at night.

  83. Citizen Smith says:

    “Canadians, shipping is 10.00 for one shirt!!!!!!!!”

    Priority to Canada costs $9.95 from USPS – the seller is under no obligation to offer other services – I checked his listings and he states the shipping and handling charges quite clearly.

  84. Citizen Smith says:

    Peachy – you are the one who was going to have his designed ripped off by “these sweet Russian lady who owns a boot at my local mall” – post #5
    I’d check your morals before throwing your weight around.

  85. Nadjarea says:

    Peachy the OP messaged him and told him his prices were outrageous…perhaps you should pay attention.

  86. the mom says:

    I dont know how to email you but this looks like it could get intersting 🙂

    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=503566

  87. Citizen Smith says:

    You slander this guy – threaten him – waste his time – threaten to steal from him – call him names and then finally try to change the subject (#87).

    You owe him an apology – you should be ashamed of yourselves.

  88. DSDM2 says:

    Slander? Wrong term. Try learning a bit about law before pretending to have a degree.

    If his attitude had been nicer, this post would never have happened. He showed his ass, and it made it here.

    No one is threatening to steal from him. And actually with some googling, I found a similar Independent Tee that I liked more. His wasn’t “all that”.

  89. Citizen Smith says:

    DSDM2 – you were/are the worst offender.

  90. Citizen Smith says:

    DSMD2 – perhaps you were the OP and are just pissed he proved you wrong.
    Are you going to rip off the other Dependent design as well?

  91. DSDM2 says:

    Actually, I bought the other one. And I never “ripped him off” I can make whatever I want for personal use 🙂 That is protected by law. Same with music, video, etc.

    Just like pocket diapers, people can make their own for personal use, when you start selling them you need to purchase the rights. Only thing is, this is copyright, not patent, and it is even harder to prove. So just like Cranky Pants, there isn’t much he can do when people make them.

    Also, nope, I am not the OP. I have more sense and wouldn’t dream of emailing a store owner with the comment she did. I would have been polite. Regardless, as a store owner, he should have been polite too.

  92. Citizen Smith says:

    DSDM2 – I guess you can’t have much creativity if you have to take designs from other people – each time some one compliments your child on his/her shirt you can say – “O I stole it from the internet, but that’s ok because it’s for personal use” – i think you are full of it – you may be able to fool yourself but you are not fooling the rest of us.

    I also own a store and if you approach me in such a rude manner as the OP approached this guy, you will also get a mouthful from me as well- you should be aware that just because “you may spend money” does not give you or anyone else the right to be rude. As store owners, we have the choice to deal with rude people – or not.

    You’ve seen that sign in shops and bars “we reserve the right to refuse service” – well that applies to the net as well.

  93. DSDM2 says:

    I’d openly admit I saw it online, but like I said, I googled, and bought it elsewhere. As you can with almost all his shirts 🙂

  94. Citizen Smith says:

    Yeah but you were willing to rip him off “I’m checking into with some friends that own a screen press company”- what does that say about you and you ethics?

  95. DSDM2 says:

    Maybe he is the one ripping off other companies? Have you googled his shirts? I did 😀 I bought the shirt I liked from another company. No one was ripped off.

    With that, I am done with you; you bore me. :waves dismissively at stupid person:

  96. Citizen Smith says:

    I may bore you but I doubt it – perhaps you are just unable to answer my accusation. I’ll take that you are unable to and leave it at that

    PS. stop waving at me – it makes you look even sillier than usual

Leave a Reply

