In a scammer’s defense.

Posted: June 24, 2008 by THE Drama Mama in Just Drama
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

OMG how on Earth can someone think this is fair!!!!! (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=440955)

siriusmama 05-31-2008 01:42 AM

OMG how on Earth can someone think this is fair!!!!!
I have never been so full of disbelief in my life! (there are more WAHM’s affected by this actually but I am going to talk about just the one instance that I know about) A lady bought a diaper from a wonderful mama on HC (her things are seriously tdf), a CHARGEBACK was made on it (she claims her PP account was hacked into and that she wasn’t given the option of telling her CC company which purchases she made-make of that story what you will), she then sold the diaper here on DS and has now left the honest, hardwoking WAHM (of six beautiful children) NEGATIVE feedback over it! :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:
Because it is so wrong of a WAHM to expect to either be paid for her work or have her product returned to her apparently 🙄
So all of you WAHMs out there take note, not only are you supposed to work your butts off making beautiful fluff you are supposed to give it away now too and whatever you do don’t you DARE flag the “buyer” or you can receive negative feedback for having the nerve to complain:yuck:
(oh and ftr, while it is possible for the PP account hacking story to be true the way this woman has responded to the situation by leaving neg fb as well as the very rude and insulting comments she made here-don’t bother looking, the thread was deleted-makes me feel that it is highly unlikely to be true. just my humble opinion of course 😉 )
beenwaitingalongtime 06-01-2008 09:56 AM

Re: OMG how on Earth can someone think this is fair!!!!!
Quote:

Originally Posted by beautiful7 (Post 3726010)
:jawdrop:
I had not heard about this, but I am SS to the WAHM whom this was done too. :hugs:

You, and other active HC WAHMs should really consider joining the Bad Hyena group to stay in the know about shady buyers, chargebacks, non-payers, etc. We’re still figuring out what we can do as a group to prevent these sort of situations, but at least you can be abreast of what’s going on!

Even if the WAHM has proof of delivery, etc. if the buyer isn’t cooperating w/ the process necessary to clear the suspended transactions, it could take approx. 75 DAYS for it to run its course via PayPal. How many sellers can afford to have their accounts suspended and/or in the negative for that period of time?!

mindyt289 06-23-2008 07:41 PM

Re: OMG how on Earth can someone think this is fair!!!!!
Quote:

Originally Posted by debmom2boyz (Post 3728877)
How do people think of these things.
Seriously.

I don’t even understand it! I mean….I don’t understand the chargeback stuff and all.

Um…yes….if I got refunded money for something I bought from a wahm for whatever reason and I have the goods….and don’t give the money…then sell it….yeah…..that’s stealing…IMHO


THIS IS TOTALLY NOT WHAT HAPPENED!!

And if this is what is going around it’s totally slanderous.

mindyt289 06-23-2008 08:25 PM

Re: OMG how on Earth can someone think this is fair!!!!!
Quote:

Originally Posted by kezoo (Post 3955244)
Well, as usual, I have missed all the drama and am totally clueless as to what is going on. Wanna fill me in?

OK, thats a reasonable response so I guess I can oblidge you.

The mama who had her paypal account hacked is my friend. I met her through my daughters birth club on Babycenter.com

She decided in April that she would like to give cloth diapering a try. She has a baby girl that was born in March and an 18 month old little boy.

She bought a ton of pockets through the blueberry sale, a few fitteds, a few wahm diapers off ebay, a set off batik bum, a few from diaper swappers, a prestons pants. She was totally clueless and I’m not sure she quite knew what she was getting into. When they started arriving she didn’t even know if she was supposed to wash them or what. AND she was getting ready to move from Florida to Delaware so many of the diapers she ordered were shipped to her moms house in Delaware so she didn’t have to worry about them getting to her before she moved.

Well, when she got her diapers she started with the pockets. No matter what she tried, she had leaks. She tried a fitted with a cover and had so much better luck this time. No leaks and her babies stayed dry and happy. BUT since most of her diapers were pockets, and brand new she had to sell them to buy fitteds. Her husband also got the news that as part of his new job he would be going to Las Vegas for traiing and then going to the Middle East. ( he is a civilian contractor with the US Airforce)

Her husband had been gone about 2 weeks when she found out her paypal account had been hacked. Have you ever gotten an email that looks like it was sent by paypal, asking about a recent purchase that you made. It’s usually a very expensive purchase, and they ask to to take action immediately by clicking here… Then when you click the icon in the email it asks for your password. Well, she fell for it, and thats how it was hacked. Her account had several thousands of charges on it, as did her credit cards. PAYPAL froze her account, and reset the password. She had to wait the 3-5 business days for them to send her the new password in the mail to the address associated with the account. During this time she couldn’t even log in and see who she had made purchases from so she could start contacting them and let them know what was up. She relied on her list of transactions on the paypal website to keep track of everything.

Eventually Paypal told her how they were going to handle everything. THe people that had chargebacks, WERE going to get thier money. THey just had to be patient and wait for paypal and the credit card companies to iron things out, and she had quite a stack of paper work that she had to fill out as well. Paypal assured her the vendors were going to get paid. If she sent them thier items back, eventually they were going to get paid by paypal, and the items that she bought were payed for by her (during all these chargebacks, the money was never refunded to her. It was in a frozen state by the CC company and paypal) If she were to return them then she would not be given a refund.

AS I said earlier she needed fitteds because it’s what fit her kids and were better suited to her use. So she started selling what wouldn’t work for her so she could buy fitteds.

I would also like to let you all know, all this went down after her husband was gone. She was forced to handle the wraith of 10 angry women, try to iron things out with the cc company and paypal all while home alone with 2 under the age of 1.5 years old. SHe is a young mom to top it all off.

And for the record, I think at this time PAYPAL has reversed all the chargebacks and everyone has gotten thier money.

And then she started deleting posts… so it was all quoted.

jausten 06-23-2008 08:49 PM

Re: OMG how on Earth can someone think this is fair!!!!!
Quote:

Originally Posted by mindyt289 (Post 3955818)
and ftr sometimes crap like this happens. I used to work loss prevention for HOME DEPOT, and it happened more than you will ever know, and for hundreds of thousands of dollars. Its a cost of doing business. If they aren’t prepared for soemthing like that to happen, maybe they should seriously reconsider having a home business.

You do realize that a WAHM is ONE WOMAN working usually late at night or while her kids nap. She does everything on her own.

And *most* WAHMs make pennies.

To compare a WAHM business to Home Depot is absolutely absurd.

Let’s see – it’s 11:49pm, and I’m taking a break from working for the past 3 hours.

Drive by Home Depot and see if anybody is working there.

MatildasMum 06-23-2008 09:04 PM

Re: OMG how on Earth can someone think this is fair!!!!!
Quote:

Originally Posted by mindyt289 (Post 3955945)
Bottom line…
You should be in business if you don’t want to deal with customers.

I don’t know if I’d want to deal with potential scammers, either. :dunno:

~Peach~ 06-23-2008 09:11 PM

Re: OMG how on Earth can someone think this is fair!!!!!
Quote:

Originally Posted by mindyt289 (Post 3955974)
Ya know not everybody is as saavy as you are. I just found out yesterday I could go back and see what I purchased off Hyena cart.

THis is the third AND LAST time I will say this:

PAYPAL HAD THE MONEY IN A FROZEN ESCROW ACCOUNT IT WAS NOT CREDITED BACK TO HER ACCOUNT

would you offer to pay for something twice??


Has the WAHM received her money for the diaper that was purchased and then sold??? Or did she even let paypal know that transaction wasnt fraudulent? Bottomline is she somehow managed to sell the diaper online so Im thinking she went thru paypal. So why didnt the WAHM receive her funds after the diaper was sold?

topazdodge 06-23-2008 09:15 PM

Re: OMG how on Earth can someone think this is fair!!!!!
Quote:

Originally Posted by mindyt289 (Post 3956011)
:banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:

I give up

crazy lunatic women win another one!!!!!

If you are so miserable

GET A REAL JOB!!!!


OK, I agree with the troll Dx, but I just can’t resist…

Woman, you are way out of line. Who TH do you think we mostly purchase stuff from? WAHMs! OK, I could just go off on this, but at this point, YOU’RE not worth it. :yuck: And I bet you just made some serious DNBST lists.:D

The looneys have really been coming out lately. Anyone who defends a scammer, and then doesn’t even have all the info needed to make that defense, is definitely making my list. 😉

Comments
  1. Mamatutu says:

    WTF? If she was selling these diapers how was she getting payment if her pp was frozen??????

  2. maree9304 says:

    That Mindy chick did absolutely no good by posting in that thread. I wish DS didn’t have that edit button, sometimes.

  3. Ashley says:

    My head hurts. Why is there so much dumb on DS. Whhhyyyy!!!

  4. Sunny says:

    Ok so I saw this thread the day it was started. Then it came back with a vengeance. Who was the DS mama and who was the WAHM?

  5. crackin' up says:

    sunny — that was my question, too!! i saw the when there was only like 3 replies and i didn’t think it would get here!!!

  6. haha says:

    Well shit. I sold to MindyT. I sure hope she doesn’t have the same views on stuff as her “friend”.

  7. I am interested in loss prevention matters, particularly RTV questionable practices at Home Depot. Please contact me.

    Mark D. Schwartz,Esq.

  8. siriusmama says:

    Woot! I feel famous!
    Here is what she left under customer service-
    Customer service: i didnt know my account had been hacked until Tuesday!! I will pay you wour money!
    i have better things to do than scam some WAHM for a cloth diaper!!!! And i NEVER received any emails except the one for the flag. my email address is: hazeleyes536@hotmail.com
    -and the WAHM deserved a neg why? (and no, I didn’t edit that at all, that is really how she typed it) Oops, is her e-mail addy in that 😉

  9. Sunny says:

    Hey Mark! If there were a head scratching smiley I’d be using it now.

  10. haha says:

    So does Mark sit around and google Home Depot all day? Here’s what Wikipedia says about him….
    Currently, Schwartz is involved in litigation against Home Depot, defending Michael Davis, a whistleblower whom the company terminated. According to a May 18, 2007 story in the New York Post, Home Depot employees testified that employees were encouraged to to routinely overcharge vendors for damaged or defective merchandise. It was revealed that Home Depot even established a quota of overcharges that employees had to meet

  11. Ashley says:

    Very interesting. But he’s in the wrong field. OBVIOUSLY he should be defending breastfeeding WAHMs who are wrongly imprisoned after moving a car that’s been involved in an accident. Oh wait. Angie already has a lawyer. Never mind. :p

  12. Grogwench says:

    Call me slow, but who was the WAHM, and has person xx ever paid up?

  13. Molly says:

    Did anyone see this?

    http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?p=3980950#post3980950

    After the PP incident earlier this year, now this comes up. I wonder how this will end?

  14. haha says:

    about bird post. Seriously helping someone with BF’ing issues is NOT a reason to not send stuff out? It’s not like she’s can’t understand you put the pump parts up to your boob to pump while bird runs to the PO.

  15. Grogwench says:

    And he’s saying that he takes the fault…..because the pay at his work has been bad. So, is he saying things haven’t gone out because bird has been *ahem* busy, or because they don’t have the money to send it out. And, if they don’t have the funds to send them out, what did they do with the money people paid them?

    She’s too much trouble for me……

  16. just me says:

    The wahm was Cotton Candy on the Inspired Congo. The scammer is hazeleyes536

  17. I Like Truth says:

    People need to stop using paypal to sell things or else stop whining about getting screwed. There’s absolutely NO PROTECTION FOR THE SELLER when using paypal and until people wake up and smell reality, charge backs are going to continue, you can’t fight them through paypal because PAYPAL IS NOT A BANK, and need to go back to the old fashion money order or get a merchant account.
    I’m so tired of reading threads about how paypal screwed me only to keep using them….

  18. I do not know this mamas situation, but I wanted to shed some light on what happened when my paypal account was broken into.

    I generally NEVER click on one of those stupid paypal emails, but this time I did. It was probably 3am, and I had been making diapers for the past 6 hours. I was too tired to even be working. So, like a dumbbutt, I went ahead and clicked on it right away. It was a scam, and they got in my account and tried to buy a car. lol Being a wahm, and an avid shopper, I was a bit nervous.

    Paypal froze my account until I called them. This was less than 6 hours. I called them, and listened to their lecture about scamming emails, then had to go into the section and change my password. I changed my password, and my account was unfrozen when they had it in their system. This took about another 6 hours. My account was frozen for a total of 12 hours. During this time, I was terrified that my sellers had backcharges… and I would be sending mass emails out with huge apologies… but all they did was freeze the funds, then release them once my account was unfrozen. Maybe I just had a huge stroke of luck?

    At one time, I had a very nice customer whose account was frozen by paypal, and the funds to me were frozen. I contacted her, and she explained to me what happened. I sent the items, knowing that I could find her on DS if it was never resolved…. but figuring it most likely would be. She was very nice, and never gave me any reason not to trust her. (when a customer is nice about it, it makes all the difference in the world) In the end, paypal unfroze her account, but didn’t send me the money from the transaction.. they reversed the transaction. I let the customer know, and she went in and re-sent the funds right away. There was never any sort of issue between us… the entire transaction was great.

    While paypal can do weird things, like freeze your account, if you have a good attitude about it and talk to the wahms, they are understanding. You have to keep in mind that the money we make is our food….. this isn’t just or fun spending money. We rely heavily on our businesses. We are completely understanding of a paypal issue…. and will work with a customer to resolve it. All we ask is that a person work it out and be understanding about our situation. I was never upset with the situation with my customer, or at her…. because I knew that she had no control over paypal freezing the money, and she was very nice in dealing with it. That’s all we ask.

    Leaving bad feedback seems pretty unfair to me…. when the wahm sent the diapers and didn’t get paid for them. If this buyer would have nicely worked it out with the wahms, I’m sure it would have been different.

  19. jale says:

    in my defense here- it was my gay mother in law who was trying to BF twins in the NICU who came 2m early… yes she could figure out the pump thanks.. 😛 its called SUPPORT.

Leave a Reply

