–   –   Ebay Ettiquette? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=455970)

chloecat

06-14-2008 07:26 AM


Ebay Ettiquette?

okay did i mention how much i hate ebay:yuck: Nothing ever goes smoothly. anyways, i have a ton of infant formula that my mil picked up at the local dings and dents store super cheap. Hanna is allergic to most of it and i can’t return it, so and i tried to sell some of it on ebay. when that didn’t work too well i posted it here ffs—(it’s still available btw) anyways, i sold one box of 13oz concentrated cans of soy formula, ( 12 cans in the box) I sold it for $19.99 plus shipping in a flat rate box and shipped the day after he paid for it. anyways, he sends me an email today saying—-” i am very dissapointed, half of these cans are expired and i would like to arrange for a refund”

I don’t feel i need to give him a refund–and here’s why…..

–i didn’t list any return policy in my listing (there is an option to do that and i didn’t select it)

–I didn’t specify what the expiration dates were in the listing. i stated ” various expiration dates” and figured if anyone wanted to know they could post a question before they bid.

–he didn’t ask before he bid and won the item so why should i have to give him a refund now:headscratch:

am i being unfair or rude here mamas??? somebody tell me please:goodvibes:

chloecat

06-14-2008 07:48 AM


Re: Ebay Ettiquette?

okay then!! maybe i’m wrong. i just thought since it was super cheap and it wasn’t listed that maybe the buyer should have asked. it’s only expired by like 2 months so honestly what difference does it make-not being snarky–i’m just wondering how an unopened can would go bad???

KaleidoscopeEyes

06-14-2008 07:53 AM


Re: Ebay Ettiquette?

I would be pissed if I was the buyer and got something expired. I would expect a refund. Skirting around the issue with sneaky wording is deceptive. If they were expired you should have said so. I would never dream that I would have to actually ask if something was expired, I’m certain PP will side with the buyer on this one.

And the woe is me post:

chloecat

06-14-2008 08:07 AM


Re: Ebay Ettiquette?

geeze you mamas don’t have to be sooooo mean!!! i just asked a question and a simple answer yes or no would have been fine. telling me i’m a bad person is a little over the top don’t you think.

i sold it for less than $3 a can to recoup what my mil paid since she expected me to pay her back for it after she dropped it off. sorrry if i offended anyone and i will just say you can stop posting i have enough info—thanks!!

Beaners_Mom

06-14-2008 09:11 AM


Re: Ebay Ettiquette?

Quote:


Originally Posted by chloecat (Post 3861790)

okay did i mention how much i hate ebay:yuck: Nothing ever goes smoothly. anyways, i have a ton of infant formula that my mil picked up at the local dings and dents store super cheap. Hanna is allergic to most of it and i can’t return it, so and i tried to sell some of it on ebay. when that didn’t work too well i posted it here ffs—(it’s still available btw) anyways, i sold one box of 13oz concentrated cans of soy formula, ( 12 cans in the box) I sold it for $19.99 plus shipping in a flat rate box and shipped the day after he paid for it. anyways, he sends me an email today saying—-” i am very dissapointed, half of these cans are expired and i would like to arrange for a refund”

I don’t feel i need to give him a refund–and here’s why…..

–i didn’t list any return policy in my listing (there is an option to do that and i didn’t select it)

–I didn’t specify what the expiration dates were in the listing. i stated ” various expiration dates” and figured if anyone wanted to know they could post a question before they bid.

–he didn’t ask before he bid and won the item so why should i have to give him a refund now:headscratch:

am i being unfair or rude here mamas??? somebody tell me please:goodvibes:


You asked a question, i’m going to answer it. I’m sorry if you think people disagreeing with you is us being rude.

I would be heated if I bought expired formula. You just assume that someone isn’t going to sell you expired formula. It’s wrong.

Would you feed your kid expired milk? Stuff has an expiration date for a reason.

We have to list expiration dates for coupons….you said you put “various expiration dates” but failed to mention “hey half of this is expired already”

Even after all this…I can’t believe you would sell another parent expired formula. They were planning to feed it to their child. It’s like all the momma’s who were so worried about their kids using BPA bottles, but had no problem selling them to other momma’s. If you wouldn’t use it, why sell it to another mama who might not know better? I think it’s wrong. Also….cans aren’t good when they have dings and dents in them.

I would have told my MIL, thanks but no thanks.

I think you owe the buyer a refund.

kimb96

06-14-2008 09:28 AM


Re: Ebay Ettiquette?

Totally rude to sell expired formula. And you did it on purpose. You took the time to look at the expiration dates so that you could state ‘various expiration dates’ You knew some were expired. That’s just dirty to sell it on ebay and mislead someone into thinking they were getting formula that could be fed to their child.

chloecat

06-14-2008 11:32 PM


Re: Ebay Ettiquette?

okay so thank you to all of you for posting—-i gave him a full refund and told him to keep the formula

now, to everyone who apparently didn’t read my posts before making your own comments……

— the formula IS listed ffs here and is marked “some expired”

— i didn’t get this FREE, my mother in law brought it to me and then expected to be paid back for it, even though i can’t use it and i can’t take it back to the store.

–i already checked with the store and they have signs posted saying no returns, regardless of expired or condition of items!!

and i’m sorry for offending anyone! i didn’t realize the issues involved and honestly i feed my daughter expired powdered formula but apparently that is different. Take care and have a nice night.

Well then.  Did you really expect anything LESS than a flaming from a group of moms when you gripe about someone being pissed about the expired formula you sent them?

Comments
  1. Mamatutu says:

    You have got to be kidding me……………………………seriously, seriously. Yo some ppl have got to get some common sense yo!!!!!

  2. The Original Just Me says:

    That is plain stupid. I am glad she gave him a full refund though.

  3. DSDM2 says:

    She seems a little mad that no one agreed with her though, lol.

  4. Surfin says:

    Why is she still trying to ship someone expired formula?
    I must be missing her logic. Also we were told that dented cans of formula were no good(the box of formula we have even says it “Do Not Use If Expired Or Can Is Damaged In Any Way”
    Yeesh

  5. toxins says:

    I’m curious whether she would be liable if someone’s child contracted botulism from one of the dented cans she is selling. Hopefully that doesn’t happen… but selling/giving dented cans must carry some liability.

  6. Stacey says:

    Add another to the no b/s/t list. Sigh. At the rate I’m adding, I’m gonna have a hard time finding anything to buy on DS!

  7. Faye says:

    Holy Hell! What a dumbass. Who would ever think it was okay to sell anything expired without clearly stating that it’s expired?! She sounds like a scammer to me.

  8. Kaymadmom says:

    Well, I’m not sure why she hates ebay, but sellers like her is why I hate ebay. She didn’t mention that they were expired because she KNEW that it wouldn’t sell if she dislosed that information. What a whack.

  9. Nadjarea says:

    Whatev. I eat expired stuff and I’m still alive. It’s not like formula in a can goes bad in two months…

    You get what you pay for.

    caveat emptor

  10. Madre says:

    you get what you pay for, but you should know exactly what you’re getting

  11. Ashley says:

    Nadjeara, are you jonasmommy? Wasn’t that the same name Tanja uses on HC? hmmm…

    As for this post. I can’t believe she knowingly sold someone expired formula. Would you drink expired milk? I think not. Why would you try to make someone’s baby sick? That’s just wrong.

  12. just_my_opinion says:

    Not disclosing important information is the same as lying in my book. Dishonesty is dishonesty.

  13. Faye says:

    That is not getting what you pay for. That guy paid for formula with various expiration dates, not for expired formula. Some people will use it, sure, but you should DISCLOSE that information so that you can weed out those who won’t.

  14. Kaymadmom says:

    I feel the need to get this off my chest….milk does not EXPIRE, it has a “sell by” date on it. I have/would drink milk up to a week or so after the sell by date. Medicine (and formula, which falls under the same category) expires because the nutrients are only good for so long before they deteriorate or lose potency. Drinking sour milk will not make you sick, drinking expired formula could make a baby sick. There’s a big difference. Bottom line? Selling expired formula is tacky, and lying by omission is still lying.

  15. Mamatutu says:

    No Ashley her real name is Nadine I believe, and she runs the podcast barefootmoms

  16. DSDM2 says:

    Ashley, she is Nadine, but that is all I know.

  17. not tellin says:

    this is seriously SO sad to see, because the mama in question makes AWESOME nursing pads 😦 I will still b/s/t, even though i disagree with her, but i feel sad that shes going to lose business for this lapse in judgement.

  18. Ashley says:

    Ah ok. Thanks for clearing the up ladies. 😉

    And yes, ftr, milk DOES expire. When it goes bad, and you can no longer drink it, it is expired. Sometimes that happens even before the sell by date. Just FYI.

  19. Nadjarea says:

    I am who I am. 🙂

    actually ashley….it’s a guideline. People drink/eat/use things past their best buy dates lots of times……

    For the sake of arguing is the only reason I’m posting. I wouldn’t choose to feed my child expired formula…or any formula for that matter.

    but for God’s sake…you’re buying food online…what does that tell you?!

  20. sassy1 says:

    omg the stupid….. it hurts!!!!

Leave a Reply

