–   –   A returned package? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=456694)

frankelmama

06-15-2008 01:10 AM


A returned package?

Ok – so just wanted to get opinions on this.

As many of you know I run co-ops on several boards. I work very hard to make sure they run smoothly and timely. I’ve never had any issues with packages shipping out before. Recently I had a package returned with a sticker from the post office saying “insufficient address”. I printed the shipping label through paypal (as I do 99% of the time). It looks like the label was torn or cut so that the ship to address is missing. The rest of the label is totally fine. I’ve NEVER had a package returned. I do everything I can to package the orders properly and secure the package and label.

I feel really bad for the participant, but at the same time feel that I am in no way responsible to pay to ship the package back out again. I tried talking to my mailman (that was a total waste – which I figured – he was like “I just deliver it”). I also contacted the PO and they basically said “sorry about your luck the previous postage is used, to ship it out again you have to pay again”. I know it totally sucks that now by paying double shipping the products are almost not even worth it. I just can’t pay it myself either.

I’ve had communication back and forth about the situation with the ship to person, but they seems very hesitant to pay (as I would be upset too). It’s been quite some time now and hasn’t repaid the shipping. It hasn’t gotten ugly or anything, but I feel like they are waiting for me to say I’ll pay and I just can’t/won’t.

What do you think?

BTW, it was shipped priority with dc # so it does show it was shipped and returned to me.

Also, does it make a difference if it was a FSOT order, wahm order, or co-op order in how you would handle it?

I just keep thinking about this and feel so bad, but there really is no “happy ending” to this transaction that I see.

ETA: Also, should I give her a certain time to pay the “re-shipping” by. It’s driving me crazy thinking about it and the package just sitting here.

mum2corbie

06-15-2008 09:10 PM


Re: A returned package?

What it really comes down to is:

Do you want to be right? Or do you want to preserve your reputation and credibility?

That’s ultimately what it comes down to. Unless you covered the WHOLE label with tape leaving no paper uncovered then yes, you failed to properly affix the label. And really, even if you did do that, your still the seller and until it reaches your customers hands your still responsible. Coop or not, that’s the burdon you’ve taken on. This is 100% your responsibility, Hyena Cart, FSOT or coop, the seller must make sure the package gets there, period. Have you ever been inside a mail sorting facility? Have you seen the machines they smash the letters/packages through? The airport workers that handle the boxes/bags of mail during transit (ie: toss, smash and pitch said mail)? I have, worked there pre baby. Thus my great investment in clear packing tape as a seller. lol My friends and DH laugh at me for how much tape I use on a poor little poly mailer, but I tell ya what, it’s worth it when the package gets there and I get confirmation the contents are perfect. I sent a package to Singapore once. Customs showed it stuck in MIA (from Ok to Singapore why it was in MIA I am not sure) for over 8 weeks. Then one day it showed up back at my house in a clear “opps we messed up your mail” usps baggie. It was DRENCHED in orange soda and appeared to have been used as a punching bag. However, the contents were 100% intact thanks to the over kill use of tape :lostit: and the coop member and I agreed to split shipping back to her and then I argued with the PO about refunding the original shipping as it was clearly their fault. Which they did and I then refunded her her half.

I could go on an on with examples, but in the end this is your name we’re talking about. How much is it worth to you?

I know this sucks and it’s not encouraging to hear everyone saying the opposite of what you want to hear but advice isn”t worth much if it’s not honest. :goodvibes:

Now this was surprising.  I’m sure we’re all aware of Angie from Bear Bottom Britches… just didn’t think she would be all that great at giving advice.  But, as she said, she could go on and on with examples.

Comments
  1. maree9304 says:

    Ballsy.

    As far as the OP’s post, I would just pay to reship it. 7 dollars is not worth the trouble.

  2. Sheila says:

    I don’t see co ops hosts the same as WAHMS. If she were a WAHM I might suggest she pay to re-ship it. But co-op hosting is a thankless job really, she doesn’t make a penny. And having to put money in, in ADDITION to working for free for people is just not right. IMO.

  3. DSDM2 says:

    I think it is HILARIOUS that ANGIE is responding to this. Especially since she is known, WELL known, for not having packages arrive… 😀

  4. Mamatutu says:

    DSDM2 I think it is hilarious too.

  5. amegrl520 says:

    I’ve seen Angie posting often giving advice in Trans. and FB; it is amusing to see really.

  6. What a wanker says:

    She should have put the label on right. She says that she ALWAYS puts a large piece of packing tape over the return and the address, but obviously not, if only the address is missing. I don’t think she affixed the label right and I think she should at least pay half.

    why should the purchaser pay again for shipping when she obviously had nothing to do with how the label was affixed?

  7. Sheila says:

    Oh I’m slow. I don’t know the drama with BBB.

  8. Nadjarea says:

    I think half would be nice.

  9. Green~Mammy says:

    LOL frankly I am ROFL about DS CO-OPS being better because they have more accountability.

  10. haha says:

    OMG Angie just needs to go away. far. far. away. It’s always something with her. She slinks back to ds to sell stuff, and only then does she give people their money back or send them their stuff. Looser.

    OP just needs to pay the shipping and go on with her life. There are some people that NOTHING will make them happy! Those are the ones you do whatever for just to get them away from you!

  11. The Bored Bitch says:

    I cant be the only one who was shocked Angie knew there was a place called Singapore, much less spell Singapore correctly????

    Did she ever cough up how her court case went?

  12. Green~Mammy says:

    No she said she was handling it privately.

  13. haha says:

    what court case? Do tell those of us that don’t know!

  14. DSDM2 says:

    Let me see if I can sum it up for you:

    She was a twat to a cop and moved a vehicle from the scene of an accident.

    Then she complained b/c they took her to jail and since she is breastfeeding, it was detrimental to her health and she deserved special treatment.

  15. DSDM2 says:

    OH! i forgot the part where she posted all over the internet how she was suing and wanted support.

  16. haha says:

    OMG (rolls eyes here). I lothe her.

  17. Nicki says:

    Holy crap. You guys are like the FBI! Do you have a filing system or something! Damn! LOL!

  18. DSDM2 says:

    Oh we keep files 😀

  19. Anonymom says:

    She had a hearing today.

    http://www.odcr.com/detail.php?Case=019-CM%20%200800171&County=019-

    The record should be updated soon.

  20. I like Truth says:

    I feel bad for Angie. I hope she learned her lesson to not go posting crap about herself though.

  21. youallarescary says:

    Just snooping around on this site to see what it’s about…. Now that I know, I’m leaving …..FAST. You guys are just mean. Hope you little diaper wearers aren’t learning by example.

  22. youallarescary says:

    oops…the “r” didn’t print on the last sentence and I’m sure my comment will be picked apart and criticized so I’d like to offer the correction: Hope your little diaper wearers aren’t learning by example.

  23. The Bored Bitch says:

    #21- Good bye, then! Thanks for the random drive by snark.

    Given the other excellent snark contained in this blog, I found yours to be wanting and weak.

    My suggestion would be to use more intelligence and a little less self righteousness next time you comment.

    Its better that way.
    Makes us actually consider you an intellectual equal rather than a drive by snarker in need of a self administered ego boost.

Leave a Reply

