Mr Honduh Chicken ruins it all.

http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=446458

Today, 11:20 AM #1
Honduh Chicken vbmenu_register(“postmenu_3774943”, true);

Some paypal etiquette lessons.

The following is my opinion, which I know that I share with other buyers from talking to people, but it should also count for something because I’m a potential buyer of your crap!

First and foremost, NEVER EVER EVER transfer the fee’s onto the buyer. It’s class-less, and against Paypal TOS. You choose to use the service, and offer the convenience and safety to yourself and your buyer, then you price your item accordingly. The only other people that I know of attempt to do this are seedy ghetto gas station owners (it’s against Visa’s policies too)

Secondly, SEND A REQUEST FOR FUNDS.

You wouldn’t pay a utility without a bill first, you NEED TO KNOW how much to pay! It’s annoying when someone just gives you an email address to send money to! You have to guess the total (with shipping) and hope you got the email address right! PLUS, if the SELLER sends a request first, there’s a spot for shipping info, and item description so when the money arrives there’s no guesswork!

Thirdly, see rule #1. You don’t need a “processing fee”, you aren’t a utility, you don’t employ thousands of people to process payments, if YOU want to accept Paypal, then man/woman up, and let them take their fee out of what you’re getting paid. You get your money right away, YOU’re eligible for fraud protection, YOU get the benefit of being able to make your buyer feel a little easier about giving money to a stranger on the internet.. it’s a SERVICE to YOU (the seller) to accept paypal. DON’T make the buyer pay the fee.

Okay, I’m done ranting. Thanks for letting me get that off my chest.

__________________
Today, 11:29 AM #7
OneFabMama vbmenu_register(“postmenu_3775028”, true);
Cause Thats How I Roll

Re: Some paypal etiquette lessons.

Quote:
You wouldn’t pay a utility without a bill first, you NEED TO KNOW how much to pay! It’s annoying when someone just gives you an email address to send money to! You have to guess the total (with shipping) and hope you got the email address right! PLUS, if the SELLER sends a request first, there’s a spot for shipping info, and item description so when the money arrives there’s no guesswork!

Well, since I am NOT a utility company, or your cable company or whatever I don’t see the need to send a “bill”. Like another poster said my prices are always PPD meaning that is the total WITH shipping. No guess work involved. And, if for whatever reason you as a buyer are confused with the cost – I think its your responsibility to ask questions.

I won’t comment on the other part because I don’t charge any “processing fees” . I have a premier acct so fees get taken out either way. So, I never charge for CC fees.

Today, 11:48 AM #11
Honduh Chicken vbmenu_register(“postmenu_3775223”, true);

Re: Some paypal etiquette lessons.

Good points, I never mentioned sending an invoice, and I agree that you should know the price up front. But when you request money, you are:

1. Letting the buyer know exactly what you expect to complete the transaction. I just had a seller refuse a $10.00 payment and tell me she wanted $10.41 because of the fee. I had to go re-enter the payment. Just to be sure, I gave her a whole DOLLAR extra. :rolls eyes:

2. Increase your odds of receiving payment promptly! Some people agree to buy something, then take their time sending money, either because they are getting cold feet, or paypal confuses / intimidates them. If you make it SIMPLE for them (i.e.: Check your email, and click the link) You increase your odds of CLOSING the sale and getting paid ASAP!

Note: I was wrong about requiring a ship to address when you send a request for funds, HOWEVER, as the seller, if someone PM’s you and says “I’ll take it, here’s my email address” When you send the request, you can put the item desc right in the request!

Call me crazy, but people are buying your stuff! They’re the customer. A private transaction should be somewhat equal, you work with me, I work with you, but you still have the upper hand because you hold the goods, and you’ll get the money, the buyer still has the chance to get screwed.. Be nice to them. The BEST transactions I’ve had are ones that DIDN’T go smoothly, but the seller went out of their way to make it right, and in return I pay it forward when I’m selling something and someone needs a little assistance.

Today, 11:53 AM #12
courtney_adkins05 vbmenu_register(“postmenu_3775273”, true);

Re: Some paypal etiquette lessons.

just want to say when someone sells a diaper that has been used twice and then doesnt ask the buyer to pay shipping and then the seller end up selling a diaper for a 3rd of the cost it would be right for the buyer to pay the change of the fee…the seller shouldnt have to pay to sell the diaper. and of course if the buyer doesnt like it…the buyer doesnt have to buy it.

eta…im denying again …

http://www.ppcalc.com lets all bookmark it

1. Letting the buyer know exactly what you expect to complete the transaction. I just had a seller refuse a $10.00 payment and tell me she wanted $10.41 because of the fee. I had to go re-enter the payment. Just to be sure, I gave her a whole DOLLAR extra. :rolls eyes:

selling for $10 means the seller would like $10 for the item and since shipping will be $1-$2 i prefer to actually get the full asking price since the shipping is coming out of MY pocket. so had i accepted you would have gotten a $15 for like $8.

however transaction has now ended. lets move on.

Today, 1:53 AM #47
Honduh Chicken vbmenu_register(“postmenu_3776506”, true);

Re: Some paypal etiquette lessons.

WOW. LOL. The seller just denied my payment of $11.00 now.
Today, 1:55 AM #49
tlarson78 vbmenu_register(“postmenu_3776521”, true);

Re: Some paypal etiquette lessons.

guess u don’t really need that dipe. i wouldn’t work with that seller at all…..

Followed by quite a few people that would agree that most people would rather not work with that BUYER. I know he’s made my list.

Today, 2:01 PM #55
danimoo43 vbmenu_register(“postmenu_3776590”, true);

Re: Some paypal etiquette lessons.

Sounds like someone is bitter.

ding ding ding

Comments
  1. Me says:

    It was deleted.

  2. Yeah, they delete anything that gets too much attention…

  3. becka says:

    i think the seller should include their fee in the price…if it’ll be funded, then woohoo, you get a few more cents…if itll be cc you get as much as you wanted in the first place (figuring you have 2 different pp’s, i have one and get fees from every transaction)

    and i think they both can make my list, both being complicated and choosey
    :roll my eyes:

    ugh!

  4. subpariq says:

    How fucking stupid. The seller should say cover your fees and if she doesn’t then she should suck it up. If she did say that and the buyer didn’t which I suspect is the case because the buyer seems like a real moron, then the buyer can suck balls and shut the fuck up.

  5. agrace says:

    I was watching that……it was weird and pointless.

  6. Nosey Neighbour says:

    How much are these fees and why won’t people all for CC if fees are covered? All I ever see is funded PP only.

  7. not tellin says:

    i still dont understand why people jsut dont buy from someone who they disagree with their policies… i personally dont ask for any fees to be covered, as i have premier, so why not ASK if fees are included? and am i the only one that will pm with “okay, just to be clear, im sending 938485ppd to kissmyass@suckit.com, right?” ?! why is this so hard? if you want to avoid issues, be proactive.

  8. lysol says:

    The fees aren’t usually more than a dollar unless it’s a pricey item. Why not just tack on an extra dollar to the asking price and don’t disclose that you’re charging that extra dollar to cover fees. That way if someone decides to nark on you to Paypal, you won’t get your hand slapped for making the buyer cover fees. Whaaa.

  9. DSDM2 says:

    I think the fees are like 38 cents plus 2.5% or something.

  10. just me says:

    I don’t buy from anyone who includes fees in their listing. I always use funded paypal so its a moot point. However if I was using CC, I would only cover my fees if asked.

  11. The Bored Bitch says:

    I *heart* Jenna.

  12. Kelolsen says:

    I agree about the fees. Its against PP rules anyway. I fyou choose to have premier, like I have, then you suck it up. I refuse to pay fees on my fu nded payments and when I’ve been asked to, I just cancel the sale. When I price an item, I think to myself, “okay, I’d l;ike $8 in my pocket after shipping and fees so I’ll ask for $12 ppd”

    the invoice thing is a bit much, but I thought that it was a decent idea if someone is buying multiple items or if you are offering a deal if they buy more than one item. I might do that in the figure, but in all my almost 200 transactions I’ve never received or sent an invoice.

  13. Nicole says:

    I dont charge fees and I wont buy from someone that demands fees (for funded or not) because I pay with funded.. It IS against the PP TOS to charge fees.. raise your prices or suck it up and offer discounts for people using funded 😛 I find more people than not pay funded and appreciate not being raped on fees.

    Also, invoicing is catching on in the diapering community and really isnt that hard for a seller to do.. Im already used to it from when I was frequenting the makeup communities and selling – those girls demand invoices and refuse to pay otherwise. It IS easier if you’re invoiced… but I dont care either way.

    If somethings too hard, then move on!

  14. Honduh Chicken says:

    Since there seems to be some confusion at to the details of the transaction here they are:

    PM’d seller, telling her I’ll take the diaper and asked how much
    She responded with $10.00 shipping inc.
    I rejoiced, and paypal’d her $10.00
    She denied the payment and told me she wanted $10.41 due to “fees”
    I figured “whatever” and RE-entered the payment for $11.00 just so there weren’t any more surprises.
    I thought it was in poor taste so I made my “paypal etiquette” post on DS.
    She saw the post and got defensive, outted herself as the seller (which I never had any intentions on doing) and denied the $11.00 payment. (Took her ball and went home).

    If she would have said “I take paypal, but you pay the meezly $.41 fee” up front, I would have paid it, no problem! But she did not, when asked how much to paypal, she said $10.00.. and that’s what I sent. I did exactly what I was asked. *shrug*

  15. Honduh Chicken says:

    BTW: Thanks for all the support from all the people that agree with me! BUT, I’m not looking to establish camps here, or turn anyone against anyone else.. I just wanted people to see how stuff like this can happen and how it can be avoided by just absorb the fees, ask for a dollar more in the asking price, or EVEN just post it up front! Denying a $10.00 payment for a $10.41 payment is just silly.

  16. So, Honduh, did the listing ask for funded paypal? And when you sent payment, did you send funded or credit card? And looks like payment was denied 2 hours AFTER you started the thread, per your own posts.

  17. just_my_opinion says:

    I just state a price & say “please add your fees for non funded”. Cut & dry, as far as i’m concerned. Most people have funded PP, so it’s easier to add the fees for non-funded, than to give a discount for funded. The fees add up, especially when you are adding that to the postage you are already paying. For example, I sold a t-shirt for $4 ppd. The shipping is already $1.50 of that, do I need to pay the almost 50 cents PP fees on top of that? As for the invoicing… if they want an invoice i’m more than happy to send one, but nobody has ever asked.

  18. Honduh Chicken says:

    Dramamama – The seller never asked for funded paypal. Just $10.00 via paypal. Which is exactly what she got. 🙂

  19. Tuppylover says:

    She should have just taken the $11 and apologized for being a cheap ass!

Leave a Reply

