is there a scammer among the crowd? (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=393629)

christianethansmom 04-12-2008 07:28 PM

is there a scammer among the crowd?
I’ve noticed lately that a certain DS mama has been a bit….. odd. Normally I wouldn’t even notice but a while back, I purchased something from her and after a long wait, words, pp claim, etc the item still never came. It’s been almost 4 months now. She says that other items she has sent have also been lost but I’m thinking what the chances are of all this happening at the same time. Recently I’ve noticed that she’s been have some ‘troubles’ getting on. My question is, who/what can I do to verify that this mama isn’t scamming me/us? I can’t call her out but I wonder if anyone actually knows her IRL.
Hmmmmm….. who could it be?? I’ve seen a few people using the Answering Machine.  And there’s a sticky by cowmommy in another place.  Makes you wonder… kinda.
Comments
  1. I_Rock says:

    They’re both talking about CanAmCircus.

  2. Calenandellasmomma says:

    I just want to clarify that it isn’t me since I am one of the people who used the answering machine.

    I just sold my first diapers in nearly a year this last week. Then we had major storms come through our area the night they were sold.

    There was major damage to homes, trees down, power lines down etc.

    Our power was in and out so I left a message there for the two mamas who had purchased something from me.

    Their diapers went out first thing Friday morning with DC# as I promised in my post.

    Thanks!

  3. Me says:

    Wow it is so nice that we can out them out here. I can’t believe there is people like that in the world.

  4. I_Rock says:

    Oh and I’ve talked to several people that are all pretty sure that the new member mamaofthezoo is none other then CanAmCircus herself, but the IP’s aren’t matching so nothing can be done until she screws up. Ugh.

  5. Sarah says:

    I’ve convinced that CanAmCircus and mamaofthe zoo are the same person. Same writing style, both taking sleeping pills to stay off DS, both w/DH’s that try to make them stay off DS in the middle of the night, etc. I pm’d an admin about her and was told what pp said, that the IPs don’t match but several mamas have inquired about her being the same person and that admin is keeping a close eye on her.

    Hope all those mamas who just bought goodmamas from her (mamaofthezoo) actually receive them…but I wouldn’t hold my breath.

  6. mamapixie says:

    CanAmCircus is the first person I thought of too, she just screamed “scammer” to me from a few of the first posts I read of hers. Scammer and a trainwreck.

  7. theothercassie says:

    It could definitely be her using a proxy of some sort. There are all kinds of websites that let you surf the web through proxy, thus hiding your actual IP address. AOL used to be like that too, I’m not sure if it still is.

  8. CanAmCircus was the only name that came to mind for me. Funny I’m not the only one.

  9. The Bored Bitch says:

    Wonder how many more people have been scammed while they sit and speculate.

    Silly, The Bored Bitch, DS isnt about protecting the buyer. Naw, its about protecting the scammer. God forbid we out them….

  10. Real Diaper Talk says:

    My first thought were CanAmCircus too, but it was even before this thread, lol.

    Red flag #1 when she posted about not FSOTing anymore because she was having to refund so many people due to lost packages.

    Red flag #2 was when cowmommy posted that she was having computer issues.

  11. Ashley says:

    That’s who I thought it was, first thing. She always seemed weird to me. I wouldn’t trust her with my pet rock.

  12. Tara says:

    I’ve always wanted a pet rock. 😛

  13. sbolen says:

    If she is having computer issues and can’t log onto DS, then how did she get in touch with CowMommy? If she was able to get in touch with CowMommy, why not just change your siggy yourself?

  14. Jen says:

    I had a weird transaction with canamcircus too a while back. Worked out ok, but was weird.

  15. Jen says:

    sbolen that is an excellent question

  16. The only dumb question is the one you don't ask. says:

    Didn’t she have a post in transaction about someone stealing her HC login and putting like 70 dolalrs of diaper in a cart andthen she left negative for the WAHM for “scamming”

  17. giggle says:

    Wow …. sounds like DS is being over-run by the crazies!! *runs to check for the full moon*

  18. Jen says:

    I remember that thread about HC too.

  19. mamaofthezoo says:

    I believe I will regret this after reading over the tone of this blog, but I am not one to have things discussed behind my back. I know this blog has nothing to do with diaperswappers, but it is great to see how new members are talked about. I will comment on things I do know. I never said that I or my husband take sleeping pills so we can get off of diaperswappers at night. I have no problems shutting down my computer and nor does he. I can’t even keep up with threads published by anyone or myself because I am not online that often. I use my computer, I do not log on through a proxy. I did not sell any GM’s through diaperswappers. I had them listed but sold them on a local group. I have 1 soon to be 2 transactions on diaperswappers. The first is a package of diapers for someone who got ripped off in a trade. This person was not even charged shipping. The second will be the just free lotto I am holding.

  20. mamaofthezoo says:

    I have to log off, but I need to add. I was emailed by a member who pointed out that these speculations were in play. They also warned me that there would be members who would offer to sell my diapers for the sole purpose of getting my mailing address for comparison. I believe this has already happened. I wanted members to know I am aware of this. I do not appreciate it and will not buy anything from diaperswappers. This is appalling. I am sure you are just looking out for each other, but as a new member, this has been a very bad experience. If you need further clarification make me aware of it. I am an open person and don’t mind being confronted.

  21. mamaofthezoo:
    Thanks for coming and saying something. This blog post was simply a question, not directed at you at all, even though some comments seem to point to you. However, since you can’t “out” people, you really have no options on diaperswappers in situations like this. You can’t ask questions and clear things up that are rampant in the community. Now, you have answered questions, and I’m sure it puts some at ease. I don’t think anyone was taking this as proof with no links, and nothing solid. In general, transactions with new people are risky, in time, people move past that.

Leave a Reply

