OMG WHAT???!! 😦 😦 😦 vent 😦 (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=391885)

natalie143 04-11-2008 04:43 AM

OMG WHAT???!! 😦 😦 😦 vent 😦
so i am a new CD’er currently living in south africa…
i made my first purchase on cloth diapers 2 weeks ago and Finally got my items… BUT i got charged 80% of the amount on CUSTOM duties…. so i bought something for 125 dollars.. and i paid 100 dollars at customs… that has NEVER happened to me before..

but you wanna know the sad part? i should never have been charged on it… if the store seller had written ‘baby cloth diapers’… instead of bum genius, thirsties, etc… i would have gotten charged nothing.
reason being, here in south africa there are no duties on baby goods.
It got charged as textiles(clothing…) because the customs officers couldn’t understand what bum genius is…
( i cant send it back to customs for them to open it up and see cuz theres a high chance here in south africa that it would get stolen, so i just have to deal with it.)

when you send internationally and declare the items, what would you write for a cloth diaper?

the reason im asking is because when i used to buy wraps and baby carriers… on the declaration form the sellers would write Baby carrier.. not Didymos wrap(because… hmmm who would understand that?)…

Sorry i just had to vent… i could have used that money to buy more diapers…
if i am in the wrong to post this, sorry! i just got hit really bad

at the same time, i need to know what most people write so i know whether i can continue to purchase cloth diapers from the US..(the cloth diapers that are sold here are very poor quality).

Mommyof2Princesses 04-11-2008 06:09 AM

Re: OMG WHAT???!! 😦 😦 😦 vent 😦
Quote:

Originally Posted by natalie143 (Post 3287022)
yeah but i just thought it would be common sense to write what the generalisation of the items… because customs would not understand what a 3 pack of bum genius is.. ya know? so then they had to charge me the highest duties…
i didnt think i HAD to ask them to put the most obvious answer. The declaration form is so that you can give customs an indication of what the item is… how is writing the brand name gonna give them any knowledge as to what is inside 😦 😦 😦

It isn’t common sense to everyone. I’m sorry it happened to you but I know that every Canadian mom I’ve sold to has told me what to write on the customs form. Not everyone is even aware that you might have to pay extra for writing down brand names etc… I never knew people had to pay duties until I sold to a Canadian mom. I have a friend from South Africa and I didn’t know you guys had to pay duties. It might be worth your time in the future to make sure you don’t get charged so much. That stinks.
five-littlemonkeys 04-11-2008 09:33 AM

Re: OMG WHAT???!! 😦 😦 😦 vent 😦
I always write WHAT the items are not the brand names. Cloth diapers, Cloth diaper covers, wool baby clothes.

My reasoning…

1) It’s a different country they don’t have the same brands (why buy out of country if you do) so how do they know what it is and may not even know it’s a brand name. Take Zanny Zebra for instance. Is it a silly stuffed Zebra, a electronic Zebra, or maybe the new code name for some fancy new dope??
2) Postal works aren’t the smartest tools in the shed. You need to be very specific for them to understand. I know I’ve had issues trying to buy a mediume sized BOX from my PO let alone try to send something with d/c or signature verification!!
3) Chances are when it’s something to do with mothering or womanhood a Male agent will get the box. They are so not gona open it to look it they know it’s gona be baby stuff!!
4) It’s a different country. They may not even speak/read English well. Simple and straight forward is your best bet they can translate it properly.
5) Most other country call diapers Nappies. So there’s already a name different adding brand almost ensures they have to open it. It’s not like they have a computer right there so they can google every odd thing that’s written on the slips.

natalie143 04-11-2008 09:52 AM

Re: OMG WHAT???!! 😦 😦 😦 vent 😦
just outta curiosity… if you were the seller and had you made this type of mistake..(obviously unintentionally).. what would you do? would you just change what you write in the future?
kimb96 04-12-2008 09:16 AM

Re: OMG WHAT???!! 😦 😦 😦 vent 😦
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sweet_Fantasy_Fox (Post 3296149)
I’m sorry, thats very high, i think since what she chose to write is what caused this she should offer some reimburstment. i write cloth diaper, used cloth diapers/covers, whatever it is.
she needs to offer more than a little i’m sorry you can save when buying from me again:banghead:

I’m sorry but I disagree. Duty and custom fees are the responsibility of the buyer. The wahm didn’t lie on the custom form, she didn’t inflate the value. I’m sorry that op got stuck with high custom fees but I think it’s wrong to expect the retailer to reimburse her for them.
micael 04-12-2008 09:52 AM

Re: OMG WHAT???!! 😦 😦 😦 vent 😦
Quote:

Originally Posted by natalie143 (Post 3287022)
yeah but i just thought it would be common sense to write what the generalisation of the items… because customs would not understand what a 3 pack of bum genius is.. ya know? so then they had to charge me the highest duties…
i didnt think i HAD to ask them to put the most obvious answer. The declaration form is so that you can give customs an indication of what the item is… how is writing the brand name gonna give them any knowledge as to what is inside 😦 😦 😦

I haven’t read through the pages of replies so forgive if this has been mentioned already but…

I think it is a poor assumption on your behalf to assume a seller should “put the most obvious answer”. Perhaps who you bought from has never sold internationally. If you had bought from me, I would have *never known* that writing something such as “baby diapers” would save you money at customs. I would have only known had you mentioned. Of course, now thanks to this thread I can make a mental note for international sales.

I know $100 sucks to have to pay out, trust me I’d be upset too. But at the same time it seems as if you’ve put all the fault on the seller who really may not have known there was anything else that could have been done to prevent that charge kwim?

Sorry I just had to throw in from a seller’s point of view.

So, who’s responsible?? If I didn’t put c/o on a package, and the PO returned it to sender, I’d fork it over for more shipping. The WAHM technically did nothing wrong, even though the buyer got a sucky customs deal, but still, to think a she has to make up for this doesn’t seem right. I say suck it up, call it a lesson learned. An expensive one, yes, but that’s how it goes sometimes. People need to take more responsibility these days.
Comments
  1. Stephanie says:

    I agree-as a seller, I had no idea what they charged for. I thought it was a value thing-they charged over a certain amount. I didn’t think the description even mattered. It’s the buyer’s responsibility to let the seller know about the customs issue. And the seller owes her nothing.

  2. What a wanker says:

    If the buyer has an issue with how a customs package may be marked, it is her responsibility to tell the seller. buyers can’t really expect sellers to read their mind, can they?

    No, this is not the sellers fault. it’s 100% on the buyer. she is the only one who would even have a clue what should be marked on the package. as a WAHM myself, I would hope if there is a certain way it must be marked that my buyer would tell me, and if she didn’t, she better not hold me responsible for her lack of communication and information.

  3. Sarah says:

    Ugh, I hate customs! We sent a package filled with gifts to some of DH’s family in Germany. We didn’t know that you had to write some long German word that means “gift” on the package so we just declared what was in there and it’s value. Customs opened the package, looked through everything, then charged the recipients based on what they determined the items to be worth. LAME!

    Back to the OP…I would chalk it up to a lesson learned…albeit a very expensive one. I’m sure that in the future she will be very specific in her instructions to the seller!

  4. cassie says:

    i understand why she’s upset, especially if the extra money isn’t there to accommodate her mistake, but that’s just what this is… HER MISTAKE. the seller is not responsible for customs issues, ever. once it leaves her possession… that’s it. ss to her though, that does blow.

  5. Real Diaper Talk says:

    Sad, but why should the seller take a hit??? I don’t get Sweet Fantasy Fox’s answer, at all. It is a hard lesson learned, but the seller didn’t do anything wrong.

  6. Madre says:

    Not the seller’s fault. This isn’t just common knowledge to people.

  7. Kelolsen says:

    People on DS aren’t used to selling to other countries besides Canada usually. It was the seller’s responsbility to think “hmmmI live in So.Africa and I’m getting a package from the US. I need to find out what to have her write on the customs form”. Seems obvious to me!

  8. giggle says:

    I agree with the PP. Although if I do send something to another country I ask, not always something that everyone is going to do, but as the buyer, just drop the seller a note that says “can you please ensure the duty sticker says “Cloth Baby Diapers” to ensure that it gets through customs okay.” If you don’t say anything you can’t really complain….. lesson learned I’m sure.

  9. DS Drama Mama 2 says:

    Unfortunately, I think the buyer needed to tell the seller. :insert shrug:

    It sucks that she took such a loss on the items, and I feel for her. BUT, she needed to specify; not to assume someone knew.

  10. Laura says:

    I’m glad I saw this “vent”. It will be good to know that these types of issues can come up when we ship internationally. Thanks!
    http://www.valleyclothdiapers.ca

Leave a Reply

