I just sold…. (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=392445)

tmrobinson 04-11-2008 02:09 PM

I just sold….
a bunch of formula checks to buy diapers. Is this bad? They were all checks for the second step forumla that we don’t use so instead of throwing them away I sold them for pp so I can buy more diapers. :blush:
naivete 04-11-2008 03:10 PM

Re: I just sold….
It depends. If you actually NEEDED the diapers, as in you got like 15 kids all sharing 3 diapers and you have to do laundry every 2 seconds, NEED the diapers, then I think it’s okay cause you’re both in a situation where you actually are in need of something and can help each other out.

BUT, if you’re out there buyin up crazy luxury diapers with it, then I think that’s a lil too exploitative.. exploitive.. whatever.

Cause they were free to you, they should be free to someone else too. But, what’s done is done.

kidpsych2be 04-11-2008 03:34 PM

Re: I just sold….
Selling formula checks is illegal.

Shame on you.

:yuck:

Manna00 04-11-2008 03:41 PM

Re: I just sold….
The OP didn’t specify where the checks were sold, but I’d like to direct attention to the DS FAQ’s on the topic:
Can I sell coupons or Formula checks on DS?
No, most coupons and formula checks state on them that they hold no cash value. They are given out for free…spread the love. These are only allowed to be given away FFS
And so the story goes. I still find it humorous that even if something is against the rules, if someone is really in need of diapers, that negates all rules. But, I also think it’s funny that no one has mentioned how you get around it being illegal. Rather than charge for the check, you charge a fee for your time collecting the checks. It’s a service. 😉 Not trying to give anyone any ideas… I think you should just sign up for the list if you need the checks, and ask your family and friends around you to do the same.
Comments
  1. Sarah says:

    To me it’s not about whether or not it’s illegal or against the rules, I just think it’s low to sell something you got for free when there are plenty of families that need them to whom you could donate the checks.

  2. sbolen says:

    I think there’s more important things going on in the world to worry about a mama that sold formula checks. I wouldn’t do it, but I think its rather rude for people to be so judgemental about it. But then again, if I did sell formula checks…I wouldn’t be posting about it!

  3. Sarah says:

    I think that people are answering with their honest (some might say judgmental) opinions because she asked. The second sentence of her post is, “Is this bad?” and she ends her post with a *blushing* smilie.

  4. Real Diaper Talk says:

    I just KNEW this was going to make the blog, lol.

    It seems people are up and arms because other’s have to buy formula. No bf, ff debate here, but one should know that their are certain cost that come with having children (equipment, diapers, whether cloth, sposie, or ec pants, formula, breast pumps, bottles, and the list can go on). I knew I intended to bf, but that if it didn’t work out as intended, buying formula was a possibility. Formula checks are not a “right” just because someone has to or choses to use formula.

    I am with sbolen, there are more important things to be concerned about.

    Once you own something, do with it as you please, imo. But, don’t go bragging about it or worse, asking other people if it’s okay. Decide for yourself and make your decision.

    And, yes DSmama, time is a valuable thing 😉

  5. Yeah, there are lots more things to be concerned about. Formula checks aren’t a right, and chances are that these mamas that are so hard up for formula checks and in need are probably on WIC also, or should be, and the formula that won’t be covered by WIC could be covered more by checks, but they send you about $12/month in checks, if not more. Sign up early, for them all, and you should have enough in checks to get the formula you have to pay for pretty cheaply.

  6. DS Drama Mama 2 says:

    I would think that it would be equal to a Mod charging a fee for converting RME to PayPal, right? A time thing 😉 I mean if that is ok, then your time that you invest in this should be too.

  7. Nicki says:

    Similac and Enfamil checks have been on my ISO for awhile and while most mama’s have been SO very kind and generous with their extra checks, some have tried to have me buy them. And truth is, I have bought them before. I never knew formula could be so expensive and with the help of the DS ladies, I have spent very little on formula. It’s been awesome! That being said, I don’t find it wrong to sell coupons. To buy a coupon book for Michigan resteraunts, it costs $5. Nothing is free these days!

  8. Nicki says:

    I think I’ll post this on the thread. I really don’t want her to feel bad, because we all have to do what is necessary to buy things that we need, and to me this is within reason.

  9. BeckyP says:

    Wow, sure there are a lot of expenses that come along with having a baby but when you are pregnant and plan to breast feed you don’t expect to have to pay $300 a month for formula. I signed up with Similac and told them we use Alimentum at $27 a can and they have only ever sent me TWO checks! Yet another mama can sign up and say she plans to BF and she gets sent $20 in checks every couple months. The problem is they know we have to buy the formula and we are hooked so they send the checks to people who really don’t need them in hopes that they can get them to buy the formula. I also signed my Sister, my mom and my BFF up and they have not received any at all. I would also like to add that we do NOT get WIC and never have. We are not considered low income but when my husband is the only one working for a family of four and we have a house payment and car payment it all adds up and money is tight. It is our choice to have me stay home with the kids and live on a budget but when mamas send me formula checks it really has helped us out.

  10. What a wanker says:

    If the formula company sends you checks that you didn’t sign up for, BY LAW you can do whatever you want to with them as they were an unrequested item and therefore a gift. You have no responsiblity to the formula company to do with them what they (or anyone else) would like you to do with them.

    The morality gets kind of iffy when you request the checks. I’m not sure where I stand on this. I guess if you really need the money, sell them. If you don’t, FFS them to someone who does. Only you really know your own financial circumstances, so I’m not going to judge.

  11. jonasmommy says:

    Selling formula checks is just wrong.
    They where given to you for free. Give them away for free. Anything else is wrong.
    Karma is all I can say…

Leave a Reply

