So, DS has come up with a great new way to keep people with no self control from buying on FSOT… now if only they could figure out a way to keep them from whining about how it doesn’t help enough.

Question about the new wagon annoucement (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=381933)

Jenifer 04-01-2008 04:42 PM

Question about the new wagon annoucement
Since i cant post in the announcement, does this mean that our “wagon” thread in diaper chatter isnt allowed? if so that stinks.. we arent really commited to the wagon 100% and i have self control enough and im big enough to not need fsot blocked out..

i hope our daily fun thread can stay:goodvibes:

Jillybean 04-02-2008 07:58 AM

Re: Question about the new wagon annoucement
Quote:

Originally Posted by p1p3r (Post 3204177)
Okay – just joined the wagon.

I noted immediately that the FSOT still comes up in New Posts, and if I click on it (to test of course =P) it just says I don’t have permission.

Anyway to remove FSOT from New Posts query while in the wagon or am I now askin’ too much? :mrgreen:

THANK YOU by the way. Very much appreciated.


That would make more sense, if I chose to join, I would rather the FSOT posts just not show up in new posts than fully being blocked out. But even if you have to be blocked it should definitely leave FSOT posts off of new posts for wagon members. That is where most of us are tempted anyway, so if you still see the listings and something sounds really good you might just have to go hop off the wagon just to read the listing. I hope that made sense, lol.
nexialys 04-02-2008 09:38 AM

Re: Question about the new wagon annoucement
This would make more sense to drop FSOT from the New posts, but it can’t be done in a user-base setting, it have to be global or not, sorry.. .this is a structural problem of the software and would be dangerous to go that path…

maybe you can view that little problem as a reminder of your status.. “you are not permitted to go FSOT”… 😉

Oooooh, a new Admin?? Did I miss an announcement?
p1p3r 04-04-2008 07:37 AM

Re: Question about the new wagon annoucement
Revisiting this…

When I’m “on the wagon”, I can see the wagon forum. I also subscribed to Sensitive subjects and can see those now too. When I opt out of the forum, they disappear.

Why can’t this be done for FSOT?

Deanner03 04-04-2008 12:31 PM

Re: Question about the new wagon annoucement
Quote:

Originally Posted by p1p3r (Post 3224517)
Revisiting this…

When I’m “on the wagon”, I can see the wagon forum. I also subscribed to Sensitive subjects and can see those now too. When I opt out of the forum, they disappear.

Why can’t this be done for FSOT?


:yeahthat: It is not really productive to have a wagon to help those of us who can’t help ourselves, but we can still SEE WHAT’S FOR SALE (just not details of it!). It’s really worse than before. It’s a tease. Can’t we just make FSOT Opt in?
Sorry, but people with no self control get no pity from me. If opting in to the wagon doesn’t work, maybe you should do something else… like close your paypal account. Or get a new bank account that’s NOT connected to paypal. It’s not DS’s fault that just seeing something FSOT will make you lose all self control and spend money on stuff you don’t need.
Comments
  1. theboardbitch says:

    There is a great little mod to VB, that allows members to opt what forums show up in New Posts… The Most Fab Women’s Group Eveh has it, so I have seen it at work. One would *think* that the guru’s at DS could figure this out…

  2. Stacey2 says:

    dude. If it weren’t for this blog I’d miss all this good stuff. This concept is so bizarre on so many levels. I’m speechless. How about these mommas turn the computer off and go take a walk.

  3. mamapixie says:

    ROFLMAO, seriously? They’ve actually done this? I think those women just need to learn some self control. Or learn how to shut off the computer. Pathetic, utterly pathetic.

  4. Ashley says:

    That whole site is fucking ridiculous now. I refuse to go there anymore now that I’m pretty sure I got that damn virus that site has. Fucking Lee. I’m glad you guys are here now so I don’t ever have to go back there. I swear, each time I log in there now, my IQ falls a few more points. I can’t believe those women seriously do not have enough self control to not buy a damn diaper. Get a life!

  5. Madre says:

    People always find something to complain about. If your self-control is that bad, maybe you should consider a.) therapy or b.) staying off the internet!

  6. DS Drama Mama 2 says:

    I would hate to see what a lot of these women as spending on their “habits”. My husband would freak if I spent $100 a month on diapers, seriously. It is an illness, these are probably the same women that can’t show self control at the mall and shop weekly for crap they never use/wear. This is the “distraction” from that, KWIM?

    I think the internet is FAR more dangerous for shopping…. lol. If you can’t stay on the wagon and not spend from one site, what is stopping you from going to HC etc?

    SELF CONTROL, get some. UGH.

    OK I’m not sure that rant made much sense. No sleep again. Very sick kids, they all seem to be taking turns with this stomach thing.

  7. Real Diaper Talk says:

    Ummm, seriously, SERIOUSLY……..people have that little self-control AND then want to complain about it AND get pity, WHATEVER, get help instead

  8. becka says:

    i ca understand the opting out of threads so you cant see em….and ive many times seen the title and looked jsut to see, but…ummm….it’s not that hard to stay off or not buy if you really need to

  9. sara says:

    wow like others have said get some self control. You are grown woman you should know your limits.

  10. cassie says:

    yeah, i think it’s a little small minded to force a member to OPT IN to a forum that the whole site is BASED on… ya think?

  11. onlygirl says:

    cassie, small minded is what DS is all about.

Leave a Reply

