She has update this post since I saved it, but she left her original complaint.

Don’t know if this is for me–Really LONG! (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=368319)

JessG 03-18-2008 01:12 PM

Don’t know if this is for me–Really LONG!
I was super excited to try CDs and ordered the following:2 brand new Bum Genius
2 brand new Thirsties AIO
A prefold sample from Cotton Babies (6 Indian, 2 Super Whisper Wraps, Snappi)
A couple of prefolds and 2 Proraps from a diaperswapper mom
7 different very used AIOs and Pocket from a diaperswapper mommyI started with the used ones first. The pockets didn’t have liners, so I used a Gerber prefold (my burp rags:mrgreen: ). Both times he leaked. I realize it may be my liner, so I’m not calling it quits because of that. I tried a used AIO and it leaked too! I just changed on the of the used prefolds/proraps. No leaking, but it had only been 2 hours and I don’t like how wet his skin is from the prefolds. He’s taking a nap now with a pocket stuffed with one of the better prefolds. I haven’t used the Bum Genius yet and haven’t gotten the Thirsties yet. On a scale from 1 to 10 one being I hate CDs and 10 being I love CDs, I’m a 1 1/2 at this point. Here are some questions:1. How long can a CD be worn?
2. Do CDs start to leak when they get old?So far the only thing that I am finding positive about CDs is that they are reusable. i don’t think they’re even going to be that much cheaper for me. I only changed him 5 times a day with sposies which was only costing me about 25 bucks a month. Plus they CDs are SOOO bulky! People say they don’t want to put a sposie on their baby, well I don’t want to put a CD on mine. It looks so uncomfortable! Help me out here. Should I give the BGs and Thirsties a chance? And what about my prefold sample? I don’t even know if I should wash them or not because I don’t know if I want to try them anymore!
OK, I understand that cloth is not for everyone. They are bulkier. They are “work” because you have to wash them. BUT THEY ARE NOT WORSE B/C YOU HAVE TO USE MORE THAN 5 A DAY!!!!!Who the hell only changes a child 5 times a day?!?!?! That is one diaper about every 5hours!!!!! Disposables or not, my children get changed every 2 hours or when ever they are wet/poopy. Do people really allow their children to sit in a poop/piss filled diaper for hours at a time? Is it just me or would that be abuse at a day-care/nursing home? Maybe I am way out of line here. Maybe it is ok to let kids sit in filth? Man, I can’t even begin to imagine that diaper rash!

Being frugal is one thing, but putting a child’s health in jeopardy to save money on diapers is NOT ok.

Oh, and I wanted to add that I find it VERY amusing that her “big sister” (adopted DS sister) had to step in b/c people made comments about changing more often.

Comments
  1. Sarah says:

    I’ve never counted, but I would estimate that I use somewhere between 10-12 throughout the day. I will admit that I use a sposie at night and I do not wake up to change him throughout the night. So he wears the same diaper for about 10 hours at night. Maybe that’s gross, but I’m sure that I can’t be the only mama who refuses to wake herself and her baby up every 2 hours or so throughout the night for diaper changes.

  2. DS Drama Mama 2 says:

    I think night time is one thing, but while a child is awake?

  3. Knittin'Kninja says:

    Yep. I think a lot of people do that with sposies. Totally and completely disgusting. I’ve heard people complaining about how daycares change too often because they automatically change every 2 hours.

  4. onlygirl says:

    thats a bunch of crap, i used sposies until recently and most right minded people change the dipe twice as many times. that is disgusting and i feel sorry for that kid if it is true.

  5. Molly says:

    I can totally believe that and it is disgusting. I used to watch little ones in my home and sometimes the parents would only send 2 or 3 diapers for the whole day. I had to keep a whole supply of sposies on hand so I could keep their little bottoms clean and dry.

  6. Diapermama says:

    I don’t know how old her baby is but…
    My youngest son just turned 2. He is in bed from 8 or 9 pm to 7 or 8 am. So, he gets changed when he wakes up and then I check him about every 2 hours during the day. Often times when I check him, he is bone dry. He holds his pee in and then when he goes, he goes a lot. So, if I check him at 2 hours and he is dry and clean, I fasten the diaper back up and check him again in 1/2-1 hour. So, I use between 5 and 8 cloth diapers in a day. He has been doing this since he was about 18 months old. Now, when he is sick and having frequent BMs or something like that, it changes everything, but the norm for him is 5 or 6 diapers a day.

  7. T-mama says:

    Too bad becoming a parent doesn’t come with a manual. People are stupid and lazy – and this child probably has diaper rash just from sitting around in a soiled diaper all day.

    People like this need a lesson in parenting!

  8. Just Me says:

    Diapermama Says: March 25, 2008 at 4:14 pm
    I don’t know how old her baby is but…
    My youngest son just turned 2. He is in bed from 8 or 9 pm to 7 or 8 am. So, he gets changed when he wakes up and then I check him about every 2 hours during the day. Often times when I check him, he is bone dry. He holds his pee in and then when he goes, he goes a lot. So, if I check him at 2 hours and he is dry and clean, I fasten the diaper back up and check him again in 1/2-1 hour. So, I use between 5 and 8 cloth diapers in a day. He has been doing this since he was about 18 months old. Now, when he is sick and having frequent BMs or something like that, it changes everything, but the norm for him is 5 or 6 diapers a day.

    ********************************
    Same here! My son is also 2 years old.

  9. what on earth says:

    ya my dd only gets about 4-5 diaper changes a day (unless sick) some kids hold it in and don’t pee all the time. its a little silly to assume that because they get 5 diaper changes a day that they’re sitting in pee all day. Its also silly to assume that they’re lazy or bad parents to do so. But there’s nothing like getting noses up in the air and play the “i’m the better mother” role to make one feel better about themselves.

  10. i'mabadmommy says:

    My dd is 6.5 months and isn’t a frequent or heavy wetter, but I change at least every 2 hours during the day. Since she’s in her “nighttime diaper” for 10-12 hours, that means we generally only go through 6-8 diapers a day. Though 5 changes a day did sound kind of bad when I first read it, it was more because she complained about changing every 2 hours than the actual number of diapers. Made it sound like she was going quite a bit longer between changes.

  11. DS Drama Mama 2 says:

    OK, the DS mama who wrote the thread said her LO was wetting through diapers right? after “only” two hours. That would say to me that she was changing her child far less than she should have 🙂

  12. I'm Just Saying..... says:

    My 2 yo gets changed 5-8 times a day depending on the day. He is in a sposie at night so we don’t count that. He is never soaked either. I change him when I feel he is wet. Or if he has a BM.

  13. Kelolsen says:

    I can comfortably say that almost every disposable user I know doesn’t change until either the child poops or the diaper is completely saturated and bulging. I can be on playdates w/ friends and change my child 2-3 times and they haven’t changed at all. Now that my child is 27 months, I do change him less b/c he pees less- he’ll pee more quanity less often, but I change him when he’s wet. I think the “change when wet” philosophy really is strange to disposable users, who think “changing when wet” is a waste of their “money”.

    My question is this- when these parents are elderly and incontinent and in a nursing home I am expecting them to be absolutely indignant if they are not changed the very second that they urinate in thier adult diaper and they’d be outraged if the nursing home staff said, “you’ll have to just wait. we need ot save money”.

  14. T-mama says:

    “I can comfortably say that almost every disposable user I know doesn’t change until either the child poops or the diaper is completely saturated and bulging.”

    I know this was NOT the norm for me when I had my first. But you have to understand that a lot of kid will hold their pee and when they let loose, the damn breaks. My son would be dry and then BAM it was buldging.

    I never once kept my son in a diaper to save money, though. Like I said before, there are plenty of idiots out there and am sure some of them do shit like that, though.

  15. Kelolsen says:

    Not the norm for me either! I used sposies for the first four months and changed at least every two hours as well. i still do when I use disposables for travel, etc.

  16. Green~Mammy says:

    I wish the day care would change him more often some days he has only three diaper changes on his little chart. He is at daycare three days a week since I go to school. I have talked with the teacher and it has gotten MUCH better.

  17. Lori says:

    OK this is just a dumb post. I think it is rediculous to assume b/c a diaper isn’t changed every 2 hours that they are sitting in filth. I also think it is rediculous to assume that the parents are lazy if they don’t change their child every 2 hours. Now when the child eats every 2 hours of course they pee a lot (hense I would change every 2 hrs). If the child eats every 4 hours it is safe to assume (obviously checking every 2-3 hrs) That a child will pee less. I change my child every 3-4 hours. I am NOT lazy, nor does my child sit in filth! I check him OFTEN to make sure he is NOT soaking wet. Obviously there are days that he pee’s more between diapers and is changed. But am I going to change a diaper that isn’t wet or barley… Ummm no. My child has NEVER had a diaper rash either! I am glad the day care does the change every 2 hours. I used to work in one and that is a standard practice. It helps keep everyone on a schedule. No need to remember who was changed last etc. I would also have no problem with this if my child was in daycare.

  18. DS Drama Mama 2 says:

    Lori, again I will make the point that the poster was saying her child wet through the cloth after 2 hours, which means he/she wet through their disposable in the same time frame, right? Therefore the child was in a disposable diaper on average about 3 hours LONGER than he/she should have been.

    When PLing or with an older child I have no problem with a child going longer, change when they are wet is my motto. But obviously this wasn’t happening from her description.

    Just my 2cents.

  19. what on earth says:

    was it that the kid wet through or were the diapers leaking? it may be that she had some crappy diapers.

  20. miss h says:

    I was watching a 5 month old and her mama would bring her over in a sposie that looked like it had been on her for 14 hours. I told her one day that I needed more diapers and she was shocked (I only watched her 5 hours a day 3 days a week) because Huggies hold a bunch and she only needs 4 diapers a day. I was horrified!!

  21. DSDM2… thanks for pointing out the obvious. If a little one is “wet” after 2 hours in a cloth diaper, they are most likely not holding it in longer because it’s a sposie. They are STILL “wet” after 2 hours in a sposie. So, chances are this kiddo is pissing twice in a sposie, in that 5 hour window.

  22. squirt says:

    if she has a child that sleeps 12 hour a night, then really its 5 diaper changes in 12 hours. if i change my child every 2 hours thats still only 6 diapers because he sleeps all night. so i dont think she makes them sit in a dirty diaper for 5 hours during the day

  23. sbolen says:

    I think you guys are missing the point that DSDM2 made. The baby is soaking through a cloth diaper in 2 hours…..so its not the whole “my baby holds his pee” issue that you are talking about.

  24. Diapermama says:

    I know the original post was not about a baby that holds his pee. My reaction and others was that it seems that some mamas were painting it with a very broad brush in saying that 5 diapers a day borders on neglect. KWIM?

    In the original situation it does sound like the baby needs to be changed more often, but my point in my first post was that not all babies of all ages will need to be changed 12 times a day.

  25. DS Drama Mama 2 says:

    Hehehe, I had given up trying to make the point, thanks sbolen 🙂 I just figured I would help point out what everyone was missing.

  26. ~Peach~ says:

    Maybe he has a bladder like the hoover dam?

  27. DS Drama Mama 2 says:

    Doesn’t really matter whether or not his bladder is that strong.

    He is wetting through a diaper every 2 hours…. so regardless of whether he is in a disposable or cloth, he needs changed at least that often.

    The fact that she let him stay in a disposable 5 or more hours tells us that she was allowing him to pee in his diaper at least 2 times before changing him… and not just pee a little, but enough to soak through cloth diapers.

  28. Just Me says:

    DSDM2 I totally get what you are saying. My response was more for those who imply that they are appalled someone would change their child as few times as that.

Leave a Reply

