Not Another CIO fight…

Posted: March 3, 2008 by THE Drama Mama in Just Drama
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Yes, it is… this time sparked by an enlightening American Baby article.

ferberize in 5 days (http://www.diaperswappers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=351682)

langyork

02-29-2008 12:49 PM


ferberize in 5 days

There is a horrible article in american baby, march 2008, that goes over one mom’s account of her abuse of her baby. Obviously, I don’t agree with screaming it out.

Let’s email american baby and bombard them with disapproval.

I know that the mainstream parenting magazines are paid for by huggies and formula.

Also, parents magazine, march 2008, has an article about a green baby shower. There is not one mention of cloth diapers. That would be the single best thing, besides maybe breastfeeding, that is green for the world when having a baby!

I can’t find where to email them to tell them I don’t approve of this method.

I was so surprised the number of people that jumped out of the woodwork and defended the CIO method.  I know everyone is different, all parents do what they feel is best, but I still have a hard time accepting it.

But, I think we can all agree, CIO, or “wail it out” as someone called it, is not the first thing we think of when our kids need to get some rest.  And it’s probably not the first thing we think of for a reason.  One thing I kept seeing is “this didn’t work,” “i tried this,” “this would make him/her riled up.”  So, you must ask why, if CIO is so OK and not to be looked down upon, did you try everything under the sun first?

Just to clarify, I don’t think you’re a bad mom if you CIO.  I honestly don’t think it’s worth my time to judge YOU as a mom. However, I will state my dislike for CIO, and I’m glad others jumped in to say it too.  There ARE other things that work, that are a lot more humane than what went on in that article.

Comments
  1. zosiasmama says:

    I don’t know if you read the whole thread, but those of us that defended doing it did it as a last resort. There was not one person saying, “wow my kid doesn’t sleep perfectly…i’ll just let him scream.” It is a hard decision, but for many kids it does work, many not, but for those that it does it is a godsend.
    i also think that anyone that has not had to do it has no place telling others that it is wrong.

  2. I don’t have to beat my kid to know it’s wrong. I did point out it was a last resort because it does prove a point. 😉

  3. my2sons says:

    “i also think that anyone that has not had to do it has no place telling others that it is wrong.”

    I think this is the key! I struggled with my first for 2 years before using gentle motified CIO (only doing 3 mins at a time and staying in his room). It was truly a last resort and it came down to a matter of safety. I was horribly sleep deprived and it was just not safe to be taking care of a little one.

    Comparing CIO to beating a child is going too far. My children are loved, fed, have all of their needs and wants met, and have barely left my side in the 5 and 2 1/2 years they’ve been on this earth. I hardly think that I’m an abusive mother.

  4. onlygirl says:

    i only defended a parents right to choose.

  5. Lydiajw says:

    I like that you mentioned that its a last resort for most parents…that kind of implies that most parents know that its a nasty experience, both for them and their kids. Yep..not interested.

  6. kiwi says:

    The part that pissed me off was likening it to abuse. I have a good friend that was sexually and physically assaulted (along with his sister) by his parents for years. THAT is abuse. Letting your child cry for a few minutes does not qualify. I personally don’t CIO, but I would never look down on anyone who did, and I most certainly wouldn’t say they were abusing their children.

  7. “Comparing CIO to beating a child is going too far. ”

    my2sons: I did not compare the two. My point was that there are things we can say are wrong without having done it. A previous poster said “i also think that anyone that has not had to do it has no place telling others that it is wrong.” I don’t agree with that.

Leave a Reply

