What happened to etiquette on the internet?

I’m not talking about any one particular event. But I’ve noticed something across messageboards.Because we are hiding behind our computer screen and not sitting there in front of that person, it seems like many people feel like its “OK” to jump on the bandwagon and start bashing people without finding out both sides to the story.I am not talking about scammers or the people that do the same thing over and over again.There is nothing wrong with saying I disagree with what they did or support the person whose feelings that were hurt but why do we feel a need for a lynch mob and be judge and jury when we do not know whether or not that this was a one time mistake or not?Do you ever get frustrated when you see these threads?

Would you do this in real life?

Does anyone ever step back for a moment from their own personal feelings and think? Think that there is another person at the other end that is “A mother, a sister, a daughter or a grandmother or a father, a son,brother, or a grandfather . That maybe that other person is hurting emotionally, financially or physically. Who instead of a bashing just needs help. Someone to reach out and say,

“What can I do to help you? You are hurting in someway. What do you need?”

I wonder this many times whenever I happen to be on a board and see some very long threads with numerous people bashing someone without knowing both sides of the story.

At one point in my life I might have done the same, but as I grow and mature and learn through raising my own children, it makes me sad to see adults doing what they are trying so hard to teach their children not to do.

 

I just wanted to say that this is a GREAT post. Truly words of wisdom! To many times, (not only on DS but other forums, IM and other places), we do find it too easy to be rude, jump on people, or even add to the herd mentality of things. I know that I have found it best to take a step back before posting or typing.

Props mama! Great post!

Comments
  1. Nadine says:

    I wholeheartedly agree with this statement. I’m so tired of people acting without any thought for others.

  2. Sam from DT / none@yahoo.com says:

    I suppose the owner of this blog who is giving Kudos is not living what they are preaching. You do know there is a forum owner that you are belittling and that the mods are also someones mom,sister etc etc.

    Hypocrite much?

  3. DS Drama Mama says:

    Who has been belittled? What mods are being talked badly about? Uninformed much?

Leave a Reply

